University of Phoenix Academic Counselor Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Academic Counselor

University of Phoenix Academic Counselor Reviews

Updated Feb 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
45%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
University of Phoenix President Peter Cohen
Peter Cohen
8 Ratings
  1. "Coaching, coaching, coaching!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the time, everyone is welcoming, they show a growth mindset where they see adversities as opportunities, and help you move forward with a teaching experience. We are trained as coaches and out main goal is to empower our students to learn to coach themselves once they have graduated. Benefits are great and managers are very understanding of you situation, if you ever encounter one.

    Cons

    Workload is heavy, you never seem to be caught up with it and you need to learn to manage your time effectively, and to understand that workload will be heavy but we work as a team so everyone will assist you if you need help. Getting organized comes with time and managers are very helpful and want you to be successful so they create coaching plans with you to learn how they can best support you. .

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-07-25

    University of Phoenix Response

    October 7, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. If there is anything we can do to enhance your employee experience, please drop a note to engagement@phoenix.edu!

    Continue reading
  2. "Decent Job, no room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, good training, predictable work schedule

    Cons

    Work load, layoffs, no advancement opportunity

    University of Phoenix2020-02-26

    University of Phoenix Response

    February 29, 2020Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are interested in learning more about the items you mentioned in the "cons" section. If you are willing to provide more details please reach out to us at mycareer@phoenix.edu.

    Continue reading
  3. "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good vacation once you have been there 7+ years, fun activities for employee appreciation

    Cons

    easy to hit salary cap and no movement, no option for remote work which should be easy to achieve

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2020-01-03

    University of Phoenix Response

    January 7, 2020Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as an employee, and for the advice you provided. We are interested in hearing more from you regarding what you mention in the "Cons" section. If you would like to discuss further, please email engagement@phoenix.edu.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A great job. Not a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Above-market wages. Above-average benefits. 401K. PTO and national holidays.

    Cons

    Lack of real autonomy. Micromanagement. Little room to move laterally or vertically.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-06-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Unrefined, outdated leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefit package including vacation and sick time.

    Cons

    Outdated management. Unprofessionalism and a cut-throat approach to ensure job security. Toxic.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-06-17
  6. "Good company if you can perform"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you can Coach then you're in the right place

    Cons

    The students are sometimes more concerned about their money & disbursements then their college education

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-03-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Life changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Academic Counselor in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tuition assistance. Able to encourage others about the value if education and hear about their successes.

    Cons

    Overload of case work to be completed in such a short period of time.

    University of Phoenix2018-09-21
  8. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amount of PTO, Schedule Flexibility, Coworkers, Work environment

    Cons

    Layoffs, downsizing, some expectations can be unrealistic

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2018-08-22
  9. "Academic Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Always changing, never boring. Great people to work with., team centered.

    Cons

    No opportunity for advancement, or clear path to limited internal openings in other areas.

    University of Phoenix2018-09-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No Promotion Opportunities/No Longer A Student Focused Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Academic Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people and students you work with. Weekends off.

    Cons

    One wrong Manager can undermine the great efforts HR puts forth to hire great talents for the Academic Counselor position. Perhaps some of these Managers interviewed well, but when in the position it is recognized that the Manager has no interpersonal communication skills or tact. After 5 years of great experiences with 5 different Managers, one organizational change had me paired up with a Manager that clearly didn't like people of a different background than theirs. There's a lot of reinventing the wheel at this organization. Often times the change was reversed and we went back to square one with the way we service students. If it isn't broke, don't fix it. How about continue investing in the classrooms and student experience instead. I would steer clear and maybe look at Maricopa Colleges, Grand Canyon University or ASU. Pay increases at UOP are based on the for-profit school market share salaries, so the increase isn't much. I am still in touch with all my former team members and other employees and after a year or more of not working there, it's still the same and layoffs are still happening. Not a stable career.

    University of Phoenix2018-07-12
Found 70 reviews