University of Phoenix Adjunct Faculty Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Phoenix Adjunct Faculty Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
64%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
University of Phoenix President Peter Cohen
Peter Cohen
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Strong Positive Experience with University of Phoenix"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    UOPX has strong academic programs, current curriculum, and excellent faculty currently practicing in their field.

    Cons

    School enrollment fluctuates and one does not always have enough students to sustain a course.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-05-08
  2. "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty 

    I worked at University of Phoenix part-time

    Pros

    Easy place to work, now under going new management and program improvement

    Cons

    Downsizing. They don't lay you off, they wait for you to go dormant if you are part time.

    University of Phoenix2019-10-15

    University of Phoenix Response

    November 1, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    Thank you for sharing your experience. If you would like to continue the conversation, please email engagement@phoenix.edu.

    Continue reading
  3. "Uncaring and dismissive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay and mobility are the only pros

    Cons

    They don't care about employees and their history at the company

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-10-11

    University of Phoenix Response

    October 14, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    We regret to hear about your experience; please reach out to engagement@phoenix.edu if you would like to discuss further.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Adjunct Faculty 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pioneer for working adult learning programs Several professional development opportunities

    Cons

    Compensation not equitable with role and responsibilities for experienced faculty.

    University of Phoenix2019-07-29

    University of Phoenix Response

    October 7, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your feedback. If you would like to discuss faculty compensation in more detail, please reach out to engagement@phoenix.edu.

    Continue reading
  5. "$19 per hour!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strictly cons today... please see below:

    Cons

    Changed their salary structure for California and I received notice that my new hourly rate is $19 per hour! Cannot wait to spend all that extra pay! I have a Doctorate and a Master's Degree and have taught for Phoenix for 6 years and they decided to change my hourly wage to $19...I think the management of the organization should take one of my classes to learn about compensation and employee morale.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-08-12

    University of Phoenix Response

    August 21, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. This is a big change for our associate faculty, lead faculty and faculty assessment liaisons in California, and we are committed to working through it with you. While we believe that we have paid CA Associate Faculty in a compliant manner, a lawsuit has been filed that challenges our compliance. Similar lawsuits have been filed against other schools in California. This litigation challenges various pay practices that have been established in the academic community for decades. Although the California legislature has recognized that greater clarity is needed as to how associate faculty can be paid, the issue is not yet resolved. Proactively, to assure compliance with our legal obligations, CA Associate Faculty have changed to hourly compensation. Market analysis informed our compensation plan and the new structure maintains parity with the former plan.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Be a Grading Robot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pros are that you are able to teach from a remote location. The students are respectful and enthusiastic about learning.

    Cons

    The cons are that the courses are developed and there is little flexibility in the curriculum. You often feel like a grading robot.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-06-12
  7. "Company has shifted direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Adjunct Faculty 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at University of Phoenix for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible work hours, fully asynchronous classroom (students and faculty are NOT required to make direct contact online), 24/7 tech support, university platform is robust, classroom structure is FAR better than most online universities

    Cons

    private sector institution (the bottom line is what matters!), reduced number of classes offered per year AND larger class sizes, time and energy wasted on documenting plagiarism,

    University of Phoenix2019-02-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great initial concept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Adjunct Faculty in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible teaching schedule! Motivated adult learners

    Cons

    Teaching contracts favored lower paid faculty with less senorita.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-02-05
  9. "Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Training Excellent pay User-friendly online campus

    Cons

    Focus on administrative requirements over classroom instruction

    University of Phoenix2018-11-05
  10. "Adjunct Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full filling work and an opportunity to work with dedicated educators and leaders.

    Cons

    Progress is the organization is hampered by funding limits due to declining enrollment and a result of an improving US economy.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2018-05-26
Found 86 reviews