University of Phoenix Faculty Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Phoenix Faculty Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
31%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
University of Phoenix President Peter Cohen
Peter Cohen
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Strong Positive Experience with University of Phoenix"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    UOPX has strong academic programs, current curriculum, and excellent faculty currently practicing in their field.

    Cons

    School enrollment fluctuates and one does not always have enough students to sustain a course.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-05-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Faculty Not Treated with Respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to be trained as faculty. Offers educational opportunities for those who want to begin teaching.

    Cons

    As a long time employee of University of Phoenix, I would tell those interested in teaching at University of Phoenix to be careful about working for the organization. It was an excellent place to work years ago. However, recently the organization has gone through some tough economic challenges, and it has been investigated by the government over the past five years for some academic issues. The organization came through the process okay, but the number of students has decreased based on the bad publicity. The pay rate has been stagnant for faculty throughout this time frame. Then, the organization decided to either cut back on faculty classes or dismiss various faculty members without warning or cause. If you want a steady income from an organization, I would consider working somewhere else as the faculty members will be used if needed but dismissed for no cause if that is best for University of Phoenix.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-11-25

    University of Phoenix Response

    December 20, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    We regret to hear about the items mentioned in the "Cons" section. Our faculty are critically important to the success of the University and our students, and we would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further. Please email us at engagement@phoenix.edu with more details.

    Continue reading
  3. "Faltering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Faculty in Phoenix, AZ
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Students are great, work is rewarding.

    Cons

    Taught there 13 years, part of the time as a mentor. All of a sudden, my services were no longer needed, most likely because I was at a higher scale. I enjoyed the work immensely and would have preferred if a salary could have been negotiated so I could remain.

    University of Phoenix2019-10-22

    University of Phoenix Response

    November 1, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your feedback. If you would like to discuss faculty compensation in more detail, please reach out to engagement@phoenix.edu.

    Continue reading
  4. "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty 

    I worked at University of Phoenix part-time

    Pros

    Easy place to work, now under going new management and program improvement

    Cons

    Downsizing. They don't lay you off, they wait for you to go dormant if you are part time.

    University of Phoenix2019-10-15

    University of Phoenix Response

    November 1, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    Thank you for sharing your experience. If you would like to continue the conversation, please email engagement@phoenix.edu.

    Continue reading
  5. "Uncaring and dismissive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay and mobility are the only pros

    Cons

    They don't care about employees and their history at the company

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-10-11

    University of Phoenix Response

    October 14, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    We regret to hear about your experience; please reach out to engagement@phoenix.edu if you would like to discuss further.

    Continue reading
  6. "I don't recommend UOP for students or future faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Online Associate Faculty 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There aren't any pros that deserve to be listed.

    Cons

    Poor quality, poor management from the course area chair level to the top. The students are not at fault, they are the victims of poor academic policies and decisions. Salary for adjunct faculty has not changed for many years.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-10-04

    University of Phoenix Response

    October 7, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    We regret to hear about your experience. Please reach out to engagement@phoenix.edu if you would like to discuss further.

    Continue reading
  7. "Moderate place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Staff Faculty 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Remote job teaching undergraduate classes to working professionals

    Cons

    It was a good idea to begin with - give students a full timer to help them succeed - the roll out of the plan was faulty - unreal expectations were given, the rules changed quickly without the ability to adjust, and upper management seemed very distant.

    University of Phoenix2019-08-16

    University of Phoenix Response

    October 7, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    We regret to hear about the experience you mention in your "Cons" section. Please reach out to if you would like to discuss further.

    Continue reading
  8. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Adjunct Faculty 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pioneer for working adult learning programs Several professional development opportunities

    Cons

    Compensation not equitable with role and responsibilities for experienced faculty.

    University of Phoenix2019-07-29

    University of Phoenix Response

    October 7, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your feedback. If you would like to discuss faculty compensation in more detail, please reach out to engagement@phoenix.edu.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Sad decline of University of Phoenix"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Online teaching - done anywhere and anytime.

    Cons

    Worst pay in CA for teaching online No pay raise in 15 years, and recent reduction in faculty pay to $18hr! No recognition for advanced degrees in pay Too many students in a classroom (over 40) Curriculum looks like a diploma mill

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-08-14

    University of Phoenix Response

    August 21, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. This is a big change for our associate faculty, lead faculty and faculty assessment liaisons in California, and we are committed to working through it with you. While we believe that we have paid CA Associate Faculty in a compliant manner, a lawsuit has been filed that challenges our compliance. Similar lawsuits have been filed against other schools in California. This litigation challenges various pay practices that have been established in the academic community for decades. Although the California legislature has recognized that greater clarity is needed as to how associate faculty can be paid, the issue is not yet resolved. Proactively, to assure compliance with our legal obligations, CA Associate Faculty have changed to hourly compensation. Market analysis informed our compensation plan and the new structure maintains parity with the former plan.

    Continue reading
  10. "$19 per hour!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strictly cons today... please see below:

    Cons

    Changed their salary structure for California and I received notice that my new hourly rate is $19 per hour! Cannot wait to spend all that extra pay! I have a Doctorate and a Master's Degree and have taught for Phoenix for 6 years and they decided to change my hourly wage to $19...I think the management of the organization should take one of my classes to learn about compensation and employee morale.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-08-12

    University of Phoenix Response

    August 21, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. This is a big change for our associate faculty, lead faculty and faculty assessment liaisons in California, and we are committed to working through it with you. While we believe that we have paid CA Associate Faculty in a compliant manner, a lawsuit has been filed that challenges our compliance. Similar lawsuits have been filed against other schools in California. This litigation challenges various pay practices that have been established in the academic community for decades. Although the California legislature has recognized that greater clarity is needed as to how associate faculty can be paid, the issue is not yet resolved. Proactively, to assure compliance with our legal obligations, CA Associate Faculty have changed to hourly compensation. Market analysis informed our compensation plan and the new structure maintains parity with the former plan.

    Continue reading
Found 163 reviews