University of Phoenix Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Phoenix Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
59%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
University of Phoenix President Peter Cohen
Peter Cohen
5 Ratings
  1. "Awesome Place for Training and Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Enrollment Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Phoenix

    Pros

    Training, team environment and good pay with excellent benefits

    Cons

    Lay offs and industry hardship

    University of Phoenix2016-12-13
  2. "Poor Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Enrollment Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits and co-workers

    Cons

    The upper management on the corporate level ran this University into the ground.

    University of Phoenix2020-02-12

    University of Phoenix Response

    February 13, 2020Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your experience. If you would like to discuss what you mentioned in your "Cons" section in more detail, please reach out at my.career@phoenix.edu.

    Continue reading
  3. "Good if you are willing to move"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campus Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and lots of opportunity if you are willing to move

    Cons

    Executive team seems out of touch with local campuses

    University of Phoenix2020-01-01

    University of Phoenix Response

    January 2, 2020Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts! We value feedback and would like to hear more from you in relation to what you mentioned in the “Cons” section. If you would like to discuss further, please email engagement@phoenix.edu.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great employee Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    University of Phoenix employees create a great working environment despite all the red tape. The overall company invests a ton of training for their employees to become better coaches and leaders.

    Cons

    There is a ton of obstacles to overcome due to the fact that their students receive financial aid which has a direct impact on the work environment.

    University of Phoenix2019-12-03

    University of Phoenix Response

    December 20, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We strive to maintain a positive work environment where everyone sees the tangible way in which they positively impact the experience of our students. If you have additional thoughts around how we can continue to improve the experience, particularly around financial aid, please send us a note at engagement@phoenix.edu.

    Continue reading
  5. "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campus Operations Manager 

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time

    Pros

    All employees cared about their job and helping students

    Cons

    Company is much more focused on the online modality versus the campus modality.

    University of Phoenix2019-10-08

    University of Phoenix Response

    October 14, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate it!

    Continue reading
  6. "Financial Services Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, Benefits and pay isn’t bad

    Cons

    May not want to change as much as they say they do.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-08-05

    University of Phoenix Response

    October 7, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Not a good career move!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FP&A Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Was a short commute, flexible schedule, ability to work from home.

    Cons

    Lack of direction, leadership not engaged, lack of communication, very high turnover, questionable reputation outside business community.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-02-05
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Enrollment Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility with schedule, great time off, okay benefits, autonomy with you operate in your daily work. Because of attrition and lay offs, for the most part you are left with skilled staff and good people to manage.

    Cons

    Senior leadership (VP and up) are completely out of touch. There is no recognition for hard work or being a top performing team, you are consistently told it is not enough. No/little support from directors as their job seems more operational than management. Consistently focused on who needs to go, little recognition, if any for top performing reps. Many promises and little follow through. There’s no incentives. High, high pressure to perform but not even a solid recognition program to value people.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-01-15
  9. "CEO is a Joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only pros are many co-workers have great and hopeful intentions.

    Cons

    The problems begin at the top and current CEO has a history of doing more harm than good. He has been asked to leave every position he has ever had for underperformance, underachievement, and numerous poor management decisions among other reasons. Hopefully, he doesn't last long here.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2019-01-07
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Everyone seems to be growing except us!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, opportunity to jump onto new projects, good work-life balance.

    Cons

    The University is constantly cutting staff and budget. The layoffs and constant org changes have really soured morale and created a survival of the fittest environment. Its very frustrating to see every other company in the Phoenix area growning while we are barely making ends meet.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2018-11-07
Viewing 1 - 10 of 111 Reviews