University of Phoenix Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
University of Phoenix President Peter Cohen
Peter Cohen
167 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "School enrollment fluctuates and one does not always have enough students to sustain a course(in 149 reviews)

  • "The upper management on the corporate level ran this University into the ground(in 65 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Thanks for Everything!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campus Director in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people at UOP are a different breed, in such a GOOD way. They work hard and treat people very well! They care about employees - it's so apparent! The benefits, time off and family oriented culture make it great!

    Cons

    Not many, but I left because I don't like to lose and I felt like a warm body just there until the ground campus closes. I would still be at UOP if that wasn't the reality. I know it's a smart move to go online and I'm shocked a few tiny campuses still exist. In the end, locations in Phoenix and California is okay (although it still breaks my heart.)

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "BI Developer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Developer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people. Everyone is hands down very polite, helpful and with the right attitude. The culture is one of the best ones you'd expect when you join an organization. Work life balance is great, and there is enough time to recharge. They are very flexible if you also want to set out of office priorities straight. Everyone is very committed to providing the best resources and help to our students!

    Cons

    Pay could be competitive based on market statistics.

    University of Phoenix Response

    January 20, 2021Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your work with our University! Our employees are essential to our students' and University's success. If you have ideas as to how we could improve upon concerns listed in your "Cons" section, please reach out to engagement@phoenix.edu.


  3. "Solid Job"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Phoenix, AZ

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed Environment and good leadership

    Cons

    Low pay and mediocre benefits

    University of Phoenix Response

    January 20, 2021Internal Communications Specialist

    We appreciate your response and work with our University! We are pleased to hear you listed our leadership and work environment as "Pros," as these are essential to our University's culture and mission. If you would like to discuss further, and review issues mentioned in your "Cons" section, please email us at engagement@phoenix.edu.

  4. "Its a job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and decent professional development

    Cons

    Company routinely goes through lay-offs. No job security

    University of Phoenix Response

    January 20, 2021Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our professional development opportunities. In regard to items listed in your "Cons" section, please do not hesitate to reach out to engagement@phoenix.edu so we may discuss specifics in more detail.

  5. "Adjunct"

    4.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Adjunct in Saint Louis, MO

    I worked at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great on campus support, classroom has appropriate tools for facilitation

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to teach both on campus and online.

    Continue reading

    University of Phoenix Response

    December 28, 2020Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. If you are interested in learning more about available facilitations for face-to-face classes, please email engagement@phoenix.edu so that we can discuss further.

  6. "Refunds/Disbursement"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Conyers, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time

    Pros

    I loved working in the Refunds/Disbursement department of Financial Aid in Phoenix, AZ. Great people, great working atmosphere.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any cons at this time.

    University of Phoenix Response

    January 20, 2021Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad to hear you had a positive experience with our University. If you have any ideas on how we can continue our success, please do not hesitate to reach out to engagement@phoenix.edu

  7. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. I am very happy

    Cons

    I honestly don’t have anything bad to say about this company.

    Continue reading

    University of Phoenix Response

    December 28, 2020Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your feedback. If you have thoughts on how we can continue to focus our efforts, please reach out to engagement@phoenix.edu.

  8. "Great Experience and People"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Director in Phoenix, AZ

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time

    Pros

    Learned a lot and family atmosphere

    Cons

    mass layoffs in the end.

    University of Phoenix Response

    December 28, 2020Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your thoughts! We are sorry to hear about the experience you mentioned in your "Cons" section. We invite you to email us at engagement@phoenix.edu to discuss specific details.

  9. "Experience was ok"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Data Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time

    Pros

    Technology stack is evolving. Good talent around and it benefits your professional development.

    Cons

    Not too flexible with telecommuting.

    University of Phoenix Response

    December 28, 2020Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your response. Please reach out to engagement@phoenix.edu to further discuss what you mentioned in "Cons" section. University of Phoenix is committed to maintaining the highest quality standards regarding employee satisfaction.

  10. "Forward looking leadership, good engineering principles."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Forward looking leadership, both in tech and business. Latitude and support when approaching engineering problems to use technologies that the team deems appropriate. Movement towards cloud technologies (AWS currently) and DevSecFinOp principles. Motivated and engaged team members and leadership make me more passionate to do my job. In other jobs I've felt like I was pushing against a current to get things done right.

    Cons

    The company moved to SAFE 2-3 years ago and is trying to innovate and improve on their planning and development processes continuously. This has made for a lot of change which so far has been a good thing for the company and employees, but can be stressful.

    Continue reading

    University of Phoenix Response

    December 28, 2020Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts! We appreciate the insight you included in your "Advice to Management" section. If you have ideas as to how we can better support our employees during times of change, please reach out to us at engagement@phoenix.edu. We appreciate the work you do to support our students.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,849 English Reviews