University of Phoenix Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
41%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
University of Phoenix President Peter Cohen
Peter Cohen
136 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "School enrollment fluctuates and one does not always have enough students to sustain a course(in 148 reviews)

  • "The upper management on the corporate level ran this University into the ground(in 63 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Our mission is amazing and you can tell our employees truly love to help our students. The University is very invested in the employee experience and listens then takes action on employee feedback.

    Cons

    I can tell that not every department has a great employee experience yet but I does appear that every department is trying to improve.

    Continue reading
  2. "Good University - but..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Training opportunities, communication, tech support, some latitude for teaching creativity.

    Cons

    Quiet when you do well - very quick to judge if rules (especially attendance/participation requirements are not met).

    Continue reading
  3. "All about profit."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Vacation if you get to use it.

    Cons

    Could care less about employees or students. As long as they get their money thats all they care about. Increasing workload each month and toxic threatening work environment.

    Continue reading

    University of Phoenix Response

    June 25, 2020Employer Brand Specialist

    We are concerned to hear about the items listed in your "Cons" section. Please reach out to us at mycareer@phoenix.edu if you would be willing to provide additional details.

  4. "Awful school structure and poor communication from headquarters"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They let go of all the good people left.

    Cons

    They are unappreciative of their faculty and students. They are only driven by gaining profit.

    Continue reading

    University of Phoenix Response

    June 25, 2020Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for leaving a review. We are committed to maintaining a positive experience for both our students and staff. If you would be willing to discuss further details to help us improve please reach out at: mycareer@phoenix.edu.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Scrum Master in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Intense activity moving the culture to SAFe and fostering a true team environment. Very family-first oriented. The CEO gets things done and is transparent in his communications.

    Cons

    Communication of small changes sometimes lacking causing frustration. Processes are still being developed so if you like an environment that is completely settled, then this might not be the place for you.

    University of Phoenix Response

    April 17, 2020Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! If you would like to expand upon the items you mentioned in the "cons" section please reach out to us at mycareer@phoenix.edu.

  6. COVID-19

    "Great place to work at, awesome enviroment."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Coordinator in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of resources to train for your position. Flexible work hours and schedule. Fair Compensation. Accessible communication with upper management and free tuition if you attend University of Phoenix! My co-workers are really friendly and approachable always ready to teach me without feeling like I'm a burden. I love the work culture and support from upper management. I was given the option to work from home during the Covid-19 pandemic and they are giving me my entire work hours!

    Cons

    HR department is all the way in Phoenix, sometimes there's delay in communication with local manager and HR.

    Continue reading

    University of Phoenix Response

    April 17, 2020Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and share advice! We will share your thoughts with leadership. If you have any other suggestions or thoughts please feel free to reach out to us at mycareer@phoenix.edu.

  7. "Operations analyst"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst II in Tempe, AZ
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bachelor's is fully paid by the company. You just have to pay for resources. Masters can also be fully paid if you space out ur classes as there are caps.

    Cons

    Health benefits aren't very good. Vacation is very limited caping @5weeks after 7years of service. No paid maternity leave and no future plans of changing despite the federal changes.

    University of Phoenix Response

    April 21, 2020Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts! We appreciate the work you do to support our students. If you would like to share any further thoughts around the items mentioned in the "cons" section, please reach out to us at mycareer@phoenix.edu.

  8. "Nice place to work. Recommended"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time

    Pros

    Great company with good benefits

    Cons

    Internal conflicts sometimes hamper growth

    University of Phoenix Response

    April 8, 2020Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! If you have any thoughts on how we can enhance your employee experience, please let us know @mycareer@phoenix.edu.

  9. "Stay away"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers, benefits, free courses, work from home

    Cons

    Management, pay, turnover, high pressure in sales

    University of Phoenix Response

    May 7, 2020Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss the items mentioned in your "Cons" section in more detail, please reach out at mycareer@phoenix.edu.

  10. "Find a job somewhere else"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Finance Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Tuition assistance for one of their programs. My coworkers were amazing.

    Cons

    Manager is horrible and you are basically chained to your desk.

    Continue reading

    University of Phoenix Response

    April 29, 2020Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. If you would be willing to discuss the items mentioned in your "Cons" section in more detail, please reach out to us at mycareer@phoenix.edu.

Found 1796 reviews