KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

University of Phoenix

Is this your company?

University of Phoenix

Add a Review

University of Phoenix Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,004 of over 2,179 reviews

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
University of Phoenix President Peter Cohen
Peter Cohen
247 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay , good benefits, paid time off(in 111 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, awesome culture and I love my coworkers(in 87 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management is not very good(in 69 reviews)

  • "No Job Security with lower enrollment(in 40 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    1y

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,873

    959 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of University of Phoenix and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      You can learn a lot and this is the coolest company I've worked for.

      Apr 1, 2021 - Software Engineer II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They use the latest technologies, let you explore and learn, and provides training.

      Cons

      I don't have anything to say.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Phoenix Response

      Internal Communications Specialist

      Thank you so much for your time with the University and your review! At University of Phoenix, we always strive for success. We understand that, oftentimes, our company's success stems from our employees' individual successes - which is why we are happy to provide our employees opportunities to develop, learn and explore. If you have anything else you would like to discuss please email us at engagement@phoenix.edu.

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Spring TX Campus

      Jan 19, 2022 - Campus Operations Coordinator in Spring, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team to work with

      Cons

      Laid off due to campus closing in Spring, TX

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Compex and overwehlmimg but we'll rewarding in prgressing students through their program

      Jan 17, 2022 - Finance Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rewarding position as it helps student finacially through there programs

      Cons

      Very complicated and overwelhming especially at first. Also dealing with people money, so can be a touchy subject.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      enrollment

      Jan 13, 2022 - Enrollment 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      high salary, nice coworkers, fast paced

      Cons

      no growth opportunities once you are in this role

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Making this a better world

      Jan 4, 2022 - National Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love our focus, top to bottom, on helping students achieve their goals and change their communities for the better. Top leadership seems well-aligned around our goals, mission, vision, and values - and they live them. President Cohen is the most purpose-driven CEO I've worked under. My colleagues all work well together. And our students are daily inspirations. Our commitment to diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice is real and daily.

      Cons

      It's frustrating at times that we are seen by outsiders as something less than noble because we are a for-profit institution.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Phoenix Response

      Internal Communications Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled to learn you have built a relationship with our leadership, and resonated with our mission and focus as a University. We would love to continue the conversation! Please email us at engagement@phoenix.edu.

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Awesome company to work for

      Jan 4, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Empathetic leadership; great work/life balance

      Cons

      Many instances of restructuring or downsizing that leads to immediate layoffs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Phoenix Response

      Internal Communications Specialist

      Thank you for your response. We are pleased to hear you connected with our leadership - we sure love them! If you would like to discuss your response further, including your concerns in your "cons" section, please email engagement@phoenix.edu.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Unrealistic expectations

      Jan 19, 2022 - Enrollment Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing coworkers, hours were great Monday-Friday but OT on weekends or working late is always pushed on to you

      Cons

      Upper management doesn’t care about you or the students they care about you meeting your monthly goal and they say there is over time available but constantly harass you with it if you have not met your goal.they say it’s not a sales job but it sure feels like all they care about is enrolling students.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      University of Phoenix

      Jan 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work environment, PTO, colleagues, location

      Cons

      Too harsh of sales tactics

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A

      Jan 3, 2022 - Enrollment Advisor in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, good training

      Cons

      Sales focused, if goals were missed you would feel the pressure

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Phoenix Response

      Internal Communications Specialist

      Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! At University of Phoenix, we know our employees are of our most important assets and work hard to provide an appreciative and supportive environment. Please reach out to engagement@phoenix.edu to discuss further!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work!

      Dec 30, 2021 - Senior Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, remote work opportunities, dedication to students and education

      Cons

      None come to mind right now

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Phoenix Response

      Internal Communications Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback and tenure with the University! We are thrilled to learn you have enjoyed our workplace culture and dedication to higher education. If you would to continue the conversation, please reach out to engagement@phoenix.edu.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,004 Reviews

    University of Phoenix Reviews FAQs

    68% of University of Phoenix employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated University of Phoenix 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with University of Phoenix Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at University of Phoenix? Share Your Experiences

    or