University of Phoenix Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Phoenix Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1719 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
University of Phoenix CEO Peter Cohen
Peter Cohen
106 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management not understanding how hard faculty work(in 60 reviews)

  • "previous management bad decisions which took company down with revenues & affected employees and constant layoffs, fear of job security(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    competitive pay and benefits programs

    Cons

    transition brings change, which requires adaptation

    University of Phoenix2019-01-29
  2. "I still drink the Koolaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    University of Phoenix offers great benefits, competitve pay, and I always felt like they cared about the employees well being. I would work for this company if the right opportunity presented itself.

    Cons

    The systems that employees work with could be better and could work better for the customers.

    University of Phoenix2019-06-20
  3. "A great job. Not a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Above-market wages. Above-average benefits. 401K. PTO and national holidays.

    Cons

    Lack of real autonomy. Micromanagement. Little room to move laterally or vertically.

    Advice to Management

    Please stop micromanaging work.

    University of Phoenix2019-06-13
  4. "Unrefined, outdated leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefit package including vacation and sick time.

    Cons

    Outdated management. Unprofessionalism and a cut-throat approach to ensure job security. Toxic.

    Advice to Management

    The company has been bought out while keeping the same leadership. Unfortunately new ideas or a fresh outlook has not been established due to a management team that remains unchanged and acting unprofessionally to show his or her worth.

    University of Phoenix2019-06-17
  5. "Be a Grading Robot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pros are that you are able to teach from a remote location. The students are respectful and enthusiastic about learning.

    Cons

    The cons are that the courses are developed and there is little flexibility in the curriculum. You often feel like a grading robot.

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent with scheduling. I had 8 classes at a time and no classes for 8 months at a time. No consistency and therefore, it was not a job a person can rely upon for a consistent income.

    University of Phoenix2019-06-12
  6. "Worth it in the right season of life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits for Continuing Education, Opportunities to Learn, Representing the UPX mission

    Cons

    Can be political depending upon the branch/location or location where you are employed.

    Advice to Management

    Raise up the management through your ranks that legitimately represents your brand, and actually cares about their teams. Make an interview questions around something like: tell me about a time when you raised up the careers of people on your team and why.

    University of Phoenix2019-05-28
  7. "Good online experience for adjunct faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at University of Phoenix part-time

      Pros

      Good training and development, small class sizes.

      Cons

      Sometimes hard to get help when needed

      University of Phoenix2019-06-05
    • "Turn around and run!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      5 weeks of vacation which you will need desperately. All the other benefits are minuscule!

      Cons

      Always overworked and underpaid but you get 5 weeks of vacation after 10 years so it's hard to break away.

      Advice to Management

      Stop hiring bad managers that take all your hard work and ideas that only benefit them. A good manager is only as good as the team that works for them! Treat the people that work for you as if they were family and you actually care.

      University of Phoenix2019-06-24
    • "Get Out"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Campus Operations Coordinator in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      It is a job in the sense that you go in and you receive a paycheck.

      Cons

      It is a sinking ship.

      University of Phoenix2019-05-28
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Human Resources in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Our mission is amazing and you can tell our employees truly love to help our students. The University is very invested in the employee experience and listens then takes action on employee feedback.

      Cons

      I can tell that not every department has a great employee experience yet but I does appear that every department is trying to improve.

      Advice to Management

      Keep focusing on your most valuable asset, us (employees) like you have been over the last few years - it's really making a difference!

      University of Phoenix2019-05-08
    Found 1719 reviews