University of Phoenix "enrollment" Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Phoenix Reviews

Updated Feb 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
42%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
University of Phoenix President Peter Cohen
Peter Cohen
149 Ratings
  1. "Overly passive aggressive culture with no accountability. Upper management has no clue the operation is broken."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some telecommuting positions. If you go to the right church, you will fit right in.

    Cons

    You have to be an aggressive personality, ask a ton of questions to look smart and worked in Enrollment to be considered for any promotion here.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2018-03-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Learn to value your employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Advisor in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Helping students to achieve their educational goals. Good benefits. Friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    Too salesy. Management was too concerned about enrollments and not concerned enough about the needs of the student. Hounding people with too many phone calls.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2018-02-16
  3. "Financial Aid Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Aid Officer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    University of Phoenix has good benefits, abides by a high code of conduct and plays an important role in the education of many working adults.

    Cons

    This is a big corporation and recently was bought out. This moved the University from a public to private enterprise. Many changes have caused a reduction in enrollment which leads to the need for fewer employees.

    University of Phoenix2017-12-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Unpredictable Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dean in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and some of the best people I ever worked with. Interesting work. Love the fact they are really trying to improve students' lives.

    Cons

    DOWN SIZING and doing it poorly. People are being laid off not because they are not doing a good job or because what they are doing is not in line with the company objectives. Lay offs are necessary with falling enrollment but are frequently political in nature. You can be offered a promotion/incentive one day and laid off the next (literally). High numbers of upper middle managers and deans fleeing.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2017-11-02
  5. "Senior Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits including paid tuition, health care, 401k match, etc. Generous PTO with tenure. Very talented and creative coworkers. Room for career growth.

    Cons

    Seems to be in a constant state of downsizing due to declining enrollment numbers year after year. No guarantee at job stability or long term employment (anymore). Decisions seem to be made without any thought being given to them. Change for the sake of changing, not because it makes sense in a long term strategy.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2017-10-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pays decent to live in a cubicle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Representative in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent starting pay for having little to no experience in the field.

    Cons

    As an enrollment rep you are treated as telemarketer by most of the people you talk to even though they inquired.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2017-09-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Academic Adviser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Academic Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are great, you might even make friends outside of work. Most managers are friendly and help you improve in your role. Training is thorough and constant. Pay is higher than other colleges.

    Cons

    Stability. Declining enrollment so there is the threat of layoff constantly. Pay isn't performance based, so you get the same raise, if any, as everybody else. Some managers can be nitpicky about your calls. Hard to move up.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2017-09-11
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Wasted My Time Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Faculty in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people on the front lines are incredibly hard working.

    Cons

    Everything else: management, upper management, corporate culture, job positions. I spent 10 years of my life at UoPhx in positions ranging from enrollment (worst), academic affairs, payroll, and ending as a Full-time Faculty. I was unceremoniously swept up in mass layoffs because, apparently, specially trained faculty are not valued. Poor students.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2017-07-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Do Not Recommend Anyone to Work in an Advisor Role (Finance, Academics, Enrollment)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Finance Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hands down University of Phoenix has the best benefits in my opinion. I worked for the company for over 9 years and to have 5 weeks of vacation plus sick time on top of that cannot be beat. In addition, I love the selection of healthcare benefits provided. There is coverage for every budget and plans for all lifestyles. My position was essentially M-F so it was great to not have to work on weekends. Overtime was offered occasionally but in my experience it wasn't mandatory, although you may have a manager that "pushes" you to come in. The benefits is what kept me going most days.

    Cons

    Management is HORRIBLE. The managers hired were once regular advisors who had great numbers (high retention with student's, low AR balances etc) -- these "Managers" are not at all qualified to be in management positions. Just because you preform well in an advisor role, does not mean you will be a good manager. There is no more professional development - there used to be years and years ago but that is not the case anymore. You as an advisor (finance, academics, enrollment) are treated not as a person but a body to simply answer the phone, take abusive phone calls from student's, have managers/directors threaten your job. The President of the University changes constantly - which means new objectives. This happens over and over. The University can never seem to agree on on an initiative and have it stick. Lastly, it was very hard to deal with the caliber of student's that call in everyday. I am generalizing - not all student's were mean, aggressive, verbally abusive, and short tempered...but the majority that you will speak to are. I had calls where I had to excuse myself and cry because the words were so hurtful. That is hard to listen to for 9 years in my case. I am not a jilted employee - I preformed well, I volunteered to help other counselors with their work to catch up, I was a lead for my team...I stayed under the radar but you better believe my last day there was the best day of my life. Since then I have slept better, been a happier person, and not been as moody. I will be grateful for the benefits and the ability to earn my Master's degree for free - but there isn't much else I can say for this place.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2017-07-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Adjunct Online Facilitator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Problem Manager in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, helping students, good training

    Cons

    There weren't enough opportunities to teach. Enrollment dropped and there were fewer and fewer students.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2017-06-27
Found 165 reviews