University of Phoenix "enrollment" Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Phoenix Reviews

Updated Feb 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
42%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
University of Phoenix President Peter Cohen
Peter Cohen
149 Ratings
  1. "Academic Affairs Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Affairs Coordinator in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is very innovative and mixes face to face classroom experience with virtual classroom. The students have the opportunity to have hands on experiences.

    Cons

    Unfortunately the campus I was working for will soon close it doors. The company has centralized many of its operations based on student enrollment thus causing many campus to be closed down.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2016-01-27
  2. "University is looking for a buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Adjunct Instructor in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Phoenix

    Pros

    It's a great teaching experience. If you can get in, do it. Great pay for the limited time it takes.

    Cons

    Fewer classes to teach. The university has taken a nose dive after losing the US military contracts due to deceptive advertising and marketing scandal. Competition from other online schools has decimated enrollment. Fewer students means fewer classes. They laid off huge swathes of their instructors, others are lucky to get 1 class a year now. If you want to make a little vacation money this is an option. If you want to supplement your income on a consistent basis this isn't the environment for you.

    University of Phoenix2016-02-08
  3. "Online Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of Phoenix part-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, standardized, ability to modify syllabus, good resources available, workshops, library

    Cons

    cancelled classes, lower student enrollment, no job security, no full time work available,

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2016-01-26
  4. "University of Phoenix Enrollment Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Enrollment Advisor in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pros of working for University of Phoenix include the benefits and team members and my last manager was great.

    Cons

    The cons of working at University Of Phoenix include the layoffs that happened in July of 2015 while I was working as an Enrollment Advisor.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2016-01-07
  5. "Military Enrollment Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Military Enrollment Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My Enrollment Manager was the best manager I ever had. He had stated that "feedback was a gift" as it will make you better at your position. He was encouraging and pulled no punches if I was not up to snuff. It was a great experience overall and did very well during my time.

    Cons

    Upper management needs to be replaced, PERIOD. They have no idea about what needs to happen in order to be successful.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2016-01-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Adjunct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Adjuct Faculty in Belfield, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix

    Pros

    They are finally paying faculty for training and meetings that they are required to attend.

    Cons

    They allow students to dictate which work they will submit and side with the students against the faculty in every instance. Their constantly moving benchmarks and lack of leadership lead to increasingly dissatisfied adjuncts. Their platform used to be state of the art, it no longer is.This is also evident in their declining enrollment. The school offers a lack of training for faculty. I was an faculty member for 6 years before I was ever contacted by someone from the school.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2016-01-26
  7. "not a bad entry into sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Enrollment Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix

    Pros

    great training, fantastic management team, nice time off benefits

    Cons

    Very frequent layoffs- enrollment department employees treated as expendable

    University of Phoenix2015-12-08
  8. "Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time

    Pros

    Good salary, good training and support

    Cons

    declining enrollment in proprietary education has made this a much harder sell.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2016-01-11
  9. "Enrollment Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Enrollment Advisor in Phoenix, AZ

    I worked at University of Phoenix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The benefits are great! As your tenure increases, the vacation and sick time are great!

    Cons

    0 accountability for managers. They lack incentive programs for Enrollment advisers to go above and beyond the scope of their job. lacks opportunity for growth.

    Continue reading
    University of Phoenix2015-12-16
  10. "Current Standings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Enrollment Advisor in Tempe, AZ

    I have been working at University of Phoenix for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place for networking, increasing skills and loads of content for learning. Their degree programs are on target and the block style classes include the fast paced, convenient learning environment that is included in tuition. Education benefits are great!

    Cons

    Every layoff has its advantages, however, instead of correcting the problematic employees (many of them being managers and directors), upper management prays on the enrollment, finance and academic advisers. Slim to no change for career opportunities and they will not be contributing to 401K's.

    University of Phoenix2015-12-04
Found 165 reviews