University of Rochester Medical Center Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of Rochester Medical Center CEO Mark B. Taubman
Mark B. Taubman
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "supportive management, reasonable schedule, good benefits(in 25 reviews)

  • "Many advancement opportunities, great benefits, effective nursing leadership(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, too much work to go around for too few people(in 7 reviews)

  • "Lack of job growth opportunities in my individual department and have to pay for parking where the walk can be lengthy(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to learn"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Project Assistant 

    I worked at University of Rochester Medical Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Accessible researchers, I worked in breast cancer

    Cons

    Easy to get lost because the place is so huge lol

    University of Rochester Medical Center2020-05-20
  2. "Excellent care for the sickest, most acute - mediocre care for the rest"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Nurse Practitioner 

    I worked at University of Rochester Medical Center part-time

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, employer retirement contribution, good camaraderie and community presence

    Cons

    Nepotism within hospital; resistant to change; outside views not considered valuable; patient safety concerns in emergency department

    University of Rochester Medical Center2020-06-04
  3. "Treat you like family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Pharmacist in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Rochester Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They treat you like family

    Cons

    Alternating day and night and weekends

    University of Rochester Medical Center2020-05-04
  4. "It's nice place to work at"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Rochester, NY

    I have been working at University of Rochester Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    A nice place to work at

    Cons

    the parking lot is very pad

    University of Rochester Medical Center2020-04-30
  5. "Excellent organization - supportive management, terrific colleagues"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Rochester Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People, commitment to mission, benefits, job security

    Cons

    Salary and promotion opportunities fewer than industry, and capped by organizational pay grade system

    University of Rochester Medical Center2020-04-24
  6. "A Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Staff Pharmacist in Rochester, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Rochester Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great upper level management Good pay

    Cons

    Hard to take time off Good contribution to retirement fund, but insurance benefits lacking

    University of Rochester Medical Center2020-04-20
  7. "Overall a decent company."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Rochester Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ok. some political barriers, but a decent place to work.

    Cons

    political barriers, parking sucks! but decent.

    Continue reading
    University of Rochester Medical Center2020-04-17
  8. "Nice place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diagnostic Medical Sonographer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Rochester Medical Center part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    decent hours, ability to work more hours if wanted, most anything I've asked for related to my job has been fulfilled. Managers are reasonable and family oriented, The attending and residents are all pleasant to work with. The equipment is the best around.

    Cons

    Occasionally have to stay late, sometimes I don't have anyone around to help with very difficult patients. No bonuses, departmental parties, lunches,

    Continue reading
    University of Rochester Medical Center2020-03-02
  9. "Registered Nurse"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Loan Officer in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Rochester Medical Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good educational opportunities, company pays for it.

    Cons

    on call pay is lacking

    University of Rochester Medical Center2020-01-22
  10. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Pharmacist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Rochester Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    supportive management, reasonable schedule, good benefits

    Cons

    short staffed at times, not much room for growth in the department

    University of Rochester Medical Center2020-01-22
Found 335 reviews