KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

University of Rochester Medical Center

Is this your company?

University of Rochester Medical Center

Add a Review

University of Rochester Medical Center Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 473 of over 492 reviews

3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
University of Rochester Medical Center CEO Mark B. Taubman
Mark B. Taubman
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, flexibility in hours(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great staff, great benefits, fulfilling work(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay, very little paid time off, treats their employees like numbers(in 14 reviews)

  • "Lack of job growth opportunities in my individual department and have to pay for parking where the walk can be lengthy(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of University of Rochester Medical Center and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to start a career

      Aug 28, 2021 - Finance Manager in Fairport, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      excellent benefits, tuition benefits, great leadership

      Cons

      lower than average salary, lots of red tape

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Many benefits to working here, but don't expect anything extra when the going gets tough

      Aug 12, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many opportunities for growth - internal transfers, educational opportunities and tuition benefits, world class innovation. Large teaching hospital that gets the sickest patients, great for learning.

      Cons

      When push comes to shove staff are simply not compensated adequately for what is asked of them. Constantly asked to do more with less. COVID was very eye opening, no hazard pay offered to designated COVID units even though other regional health systems did (ie. Buffalo and Syracuse). A 'market adjustment' was made to salaries during COVID to placate nursing (after taking away yearly raises, so really, we just broke even with where we would have been with an annual increase, slick move CFO) and it still does not compete with neighboring regional networks. Poor management is allowed to stay in place despite repeated complaints to HR and executive staff. There are some truly toxic work environments here, not everywhere, but if you're reading this you know who you are... Politics politics politics. I used to think the health benefits were good, until they created 3 different deductible tiers which forces you to use UR providers or break up your in-network deductible = never ending out of pocket expenses. Listening to attending physicians complain about their poor compensation, which is still 6-10x higher than what UR nurses make. Final thoughts: if an institution can afford to pay exorbitant rates for travelers they can afford to compensate their nursing staff fairly during a pandemic, many of whom left for said travel contracts elsewhere when UR refused hazard pay, took away annual increases, AND reduced retirement contributions.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Endless opportunities

      Sep 14, 2021 - Registered Nurse, Emergency Room in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are endless opportunities to learn and grow throughout the system.

      Cons

      It can be impersonal. Very difficult to remember names and positions due to the amount of employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good for your first nursing job

      Sep 13, 2021 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I think this hospital is good for your first medical job, but not really long term

      Cons

      Management, staffing is horrible, ratios are horrible!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place

      Sep 12, 2021 - Registered Nurse, BSN 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Professional environment, good pay, friendly staff

      Cons

      Lack of support from upper med surg management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work!

      Sep 4, 2021 - Building Mechanic A in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits. Awesome flexibility with vacation and PTO package. Excellent retirement planning and program. Most of the staff actually cares about what they're contributing and takes their job seriously.

      Cons

      Management hires friends and family

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good benefits, great culture

      Sep 1, 2021 - Information Analyst in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are great especially healthcare including dental.

      Cons

      Base salary is lower than comparable jobs at other top companies in the area, Benefits do make up for it, but if you're looking for a big check to leverage you may want to look elsewhere.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Aug 27, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits great work/home balance. They care about you as a person

      Cons

      Pay can sometimes be lower, but they have been reevaluating

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place

      Aug 5, 2021 - Apprentice Optician in Webster, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, understanding boss, flexible, vacations, pto, 401k. I lover what I do an who I work for the discounts we get every where and all other options at our finger tips is fantastic, best move I ever made for myself

      Cons

      I have no complaints about my job or organization that I work for. They are great first job i have had that I enjoy going to

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great benefits, great environment. Bad parking. Physical work environment varies from nice and new to old and gross.

      Jul 1, 2021 - Technical Associate II in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of things going on here, of course. Getting to know interesting professors and going to an occasional talk was really cool. It's nice to have a bank, coffee shops, food, and a gym right on site.

      Cons

      Parking is always an issue. You may pay quite a bit to park at a satellite lot and ride the bus into work. Also, for many positions, the pay is below what you could get in industry.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 473 Reviews

    Popular Careers with University of Rochester Medical Center Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at University of Rochester Medical Center? Share Your Experiences

    or