University of Salford Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
43%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
University of Salford Vice Chancellor Helen Marshall (no image)
Helen Marshall
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good facilities, flexible hours, plenty of events to be involved in(in 5 reviews)

  • "good pay, big place with lots going on, good students and staff(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unnecessarily high pressure environment with a blame culture(in 4 reviews)

  • "Senior management are more focused on pushing their own agendas than understanding the staff(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Salford full-time

    Pros

    Salford has a new and ambitious vision for the future. Renewed energy and direction and a real buzz about the place. This is a University going places and is one to watch over the coming years. It is great to be part of the team driving this new vision

    Cons

    Still some old ways of working and some colleagues do not believe the new vision is realistic or achievable

    Continue reading
    University of Salford2016-04-28
  2. "Research Assistant"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Salford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is better than unemployment

    Cons

    Too much BS politics and bad blod between teams , centers, research groups. No understanding of research, no career dev, no real interest in building fellows future

    University of Salford2018-10-03
  3. "Uni"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at University of Salford full-time

    Pros

    Very good and helpful uni

    Cons

    Too many lectures cramped up

    University of Salford2020-03-12
  4. "I have a very good experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aide 

    I have been working at University of Salford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice place to work. I recommend it

    Cons

    not anything bad about the University.

    University of Salford2020-01-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "If you're looking to be passed about like a walkers sharer bag. You'll not be disappointed."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Salford, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Salford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    UoS is great if you want a good salary increase, which is promised twice per year. You are also able to move between different areas withing the business with ease, once you're a permanent employee that is.

    Cons

    There is very little structure here. Also, very little regard for employees wellbeing. Depending on your direct line management, you may not even have flexible working - working in another building on campus is seen as taboo and working from home is seen to be asking for the impossible. Although VCET talk about the moving train and not making any reduncdancies, all they seem to be doing here is forcing people out of their positions or forcing them into positions they're not comfotable with. When departments are going through change, it would be great for the SLT to at least give the illusion they care about what happens to the staff - here they don't even pretend. Most people are looking out for themselves at this level. Its not a great working environment. The fact that there is a huge under representation of BAME staff adds massively to that. When there are no representative role models to look up to, BAME are never given the chance to achieve more or even told they can. Are there any BAME staff above grade 6? I think not. UoS loves keeping their staff on fixed term employment to prevent people from enforcing the rights they would be entitled to as permanent employees. Colleagues are usually very negative and seem to always be trying to get the better of one another. So, no - there is no such thing as collaboration. This also leaves an incredibly poor work ethic - and doesn't encourage new employees or interns that they should be giving the best to their role. Although I mentioned the salary is good, many long term employees that have been in the university drag their feet yet, still recieve these pay rises. Their grade spinal point is also incredibly unrepresentative of their salary - meaning they'll probably get paid WAY MORE than they should be doing just because they've been there 10 years. In comparison to the colleagues doing a role with a higher level of responsibility yet, at a lower grade. Pay increases are clearly not linked to how hard you work but again.... this is 'just the process and culture of HE' as HR like to remind us.

    Continue reading
    University of Salford2020-01-22
  6. "Great colleagues poor management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Salford full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good facilities, flexible hours, plenty of events to be involved in.

    Cons

    Management is trying to apply this cringe worthy Dominic Cummings approach where they try to make current staff be more edgy and creative. The problem is that the hiring system is still rigid and unfriendly to any creative or forward thinking person so this is not going to work. A lot of money are just wasted on unnecessary trainings and workshops. Too much red tape. The company perks are just useless and probably cost way more than, say, private health care for each member of staff would cost.

    University of Salford2020-01-19
  7. "Salford"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic in Salford, North West England, England

    I worked at University of Salford part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, social, positive environment, inclusive

    Cons

    Unorganized, more transparent protocols required

    University of Salford2020-01-14
  8. "No real prospects"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lecturer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Salford full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment and good colleagues to work with

    Cons

    No real career prospects as highly disorganised Lack of support for personal development No clear lines of communication

    University of Salford2020-01-06
  9. "Don't work here if you have mental health problems"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Salford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Media City campus felt very innovative

    Cons

    Now I've had some distance and time since leaving, I've been able to process and comprehend how truly horrific my experience was, bordering on being bullied. After periods off sick with mental illness - some of which was work related - there was little support from either HR or my management, just robotic following of procedures. I was also subject to downright lying and lack of empathy or integrity from management - this was in the student services team (which incorporates the full range of front facing services, careers, library, disability support, counselling etc.) so I can't speak for the faculties. The reviewer who referred to the Dominic Cummings style of management couldn't have put it better. Appointments of people from outside the sector who were utterly clueless about HE were commonplace, to the detriment of the service as decent, compassionate and experienced people left. My advice to prospective employees: please look beyond the trite rhyming couplets on the job adverts proclaiming diversity - real life experience falls far short of this. If you're in the market for student services roles, do yourself a favour and look elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    University of Salford2020-01-25
  10. "Very good university"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Student in Salford, North West England, England

    I worked at University of Salford full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really good, supportive and helpful tutors

    Cons

    No cons which I could see

    University of Salford2019-12-10
Found 94 reviews