University of South Alabama Reviews | Glassdoor

University of South Alabama Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 121 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
University of South Alabama CEO Tony G. Waldrop
Tony G. Waldrop
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay for professional work product(in 9 reviews)

  • "Viewing adjunct status as a stepping stone to full time employment would be a mistake(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful place awful pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of South Alabama part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, no weekends, relaxed environment

    Cons

    No room for growth, low pay

    University of South Alabama2019-03-12
  2. "Great first experience as a radiographer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Radiologic Technologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of South Alabama part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Teamwork, everyone was friendly, fast pace, always learning something new

    Cons

    Did not work there for long

    University of South Alabama2019-06-15
  3. "Additional Lab Instructor - undergraduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Teaching Assistant in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of South Alabama part-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedulig (depends on dept.) Great work experience Opportunity to prepare for graduate school

    Cons

    Teachers may have varied expectations

    Advice to Management

    Offer more opportunities for students to assist teaching in laboratories, especially those seeking higher degrees.

    University of South Alabama2019-06-09
  4. "Great Place But Adjunct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Lecturer in Mobile, AL
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at University of South Alabama part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My coworkers and Department head are fantastic. I could not ask for better. Adjunct faculty qualify for the food pantry on campus.

    Cons

    Viewing adjunct status as a stepping stone to full time employment would be a mistake. Also, benefits available to part time staff usually do not apply to adjunct faculty.

    Advice to Management

    The adjunct system in higher ed is demoralizing and unethical. Stop.

    University of South Alabama2019-06-21
  5. "Assistant Director position at the University of South Alabama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of South Alabama full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Health and Life insurance provided, as well as, separate time off for sickness and vacation

    Cons

    Promotions are often given based on years of service and not job qualifications. Often places unqualified individuals into management roles in which they are under-qualified.

    Advice to Management

    Other forms of management should be explored beyond micromanagement.

    University of South Alabama2019-06-17
  6. "South Alabama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of South Alabama part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Everything is great no cons

    University of South Alabama2019-05-17
  7. "Good place to work with good retirement and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Admissions 

    I worked at University of South Alabama full-time

    Pros

    Being a part of the state retirement system

    Cons

    There are no cons I can think of

    University of South Alabama2019-04-17
  8. "I love this school and my colleagues. However, there is room for improvement..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of South Alabama full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Wonderful colleagues * Great President * Positive changes * Friendly workplace * Decent benefits * Beautiful campus

    Cons

    * Below average pay * Limited promotion opportunities

    Advice to Management

    * Work harder to recognize and retain quality staff and faculty * Address the wide variance in quality between instructors and courses * Promote an incentivized culture of excellence * Do all the above with a sense of urgency, rather than a normal pedantic southern pace

    University of South Alabama2019-03-31
  9. "Just okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at University of South Alabama full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are great.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to move to a different position outside of your department.

    University of South Alabama2019-01-28
  10. "Language Resource Center-Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of South Alabama part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, experience, and work environment.

    Cons

    Not a full-time employee, no benefits.

    University of South Alabama2019-01-06
Found 121 reviews