KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

University of Southern California

Engaged Employer

University of Southern California

Add a Review

University of Southern California Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Nov 6, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 4,138 of over 4K reviews
4.4
83% Recommend to a Friend
University of Southern California President Carol L. Folt
85% Approve of CEO

Found 326 of over 4K reviews

4.4
83%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
University of Southern California President Carol L. Folt
Carol L. Folt
451 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,927

972 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of University of Southern California and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great environment

    Oct 31, 2021 - Graduate Research Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - great school - great peers

    Cons

    - low pay but standard for RA

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    University of Southern California Response

    Your feedback is valued. We are committed to providing pay that is competitive in the local marketplace for all of our positions. Thank you for taking time to leave a review, and for being a part of our team.

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great benefits but low pay

    Nov 6, 2021 - Senior Instructional Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and working hours

    Cons

    Low pay. Unfair hiring practice.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    University of Southern California Response

    Your feedback is valued. We are committed to providing pay that is competitive in the local marketplace for all of our positions. Thank you for taking time to leave a review, and for being a part of our team.

  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Easy work

    Oct 15, 2021 - Camera Attendant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good learning opportunity with kind Supervisor

    Cons

    Low pay with little increase over time

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    University of Southern California Response

    Your feedback is valued. Thank you for taking time to leave a review, and for being a part of our team. We are committed to providing pay that is competitive in the local marketplace for all of our positions. If you have any specific questions around our pay practices, you can reach out to your Human Resources Partner.

  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    low pay

    Oct 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    free food nice campus tuition reimbursement for self and dependants

    Cons

    low pay overworked micromanager throughout the organization and various departments

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    University of Southern California Response

    Your feedback is valued. Thank you for taking time to leave a review, and for being a part of our team. We are committed to providing pay that is competitive in the local marketplace for all of our positions. If you have any specific questions around our pay practices, you can reach out to your Human Resources Partner.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Flexible Hours

    Oct 11, 2021 - Student Worker in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work with school schedule, flexible job duties

    Cons

    Low pay for LA area as a grad student

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    University of Southern California Response

    Your feedback is valued. Thank you for taking time to leave a review, and for being a part of our team. We are committed to providing pay that is competitive in the local marketplace for all of our positions. If you have any specific questions around our pay practices, you can reach out to your Human Resources Partner.

  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good Company, Bad City Commute

    Oct 6, 2021 - Senior Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    retirement accounts, beautiful campus, great people, close to downtown activities

    Cons

    commute, cost of living, and low pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    University of Southern California Response

    Your feedback is valued. We are committed to providing pay that is competitive in the local marketplace for all of our positions. Thank you for taking time to leave a review, and for being a part of our team.

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Low pay decent benefits

    Sep 20, 2021 - Program Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent benefits in terms of your 401K and tuition assistance.

    Cons

    extremely low pay, you will rarely receive a raise and when you do its only a few cents. its difficult to advance and in certain departments there is no upward mobility or growth. It is not easy to switch positions internally, USC does not promote within like they should. Hiring freeze can be extremely bad for certain departments.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    University of Southern California Response

    Thank you for your feedback which we will take into consideration. USC strives to create opportunities for career growth and development. Please reach out to your supervisor to find opportunities that allow you to broaden your skills and knowledge. If you also have any specific questions around our pay practices, you can reach out to your Human Resources Partner.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    As good as academia gets

    Jun 16, 2021 - Grad Student in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment, tons of resources, great camaraderie in my department. Everyone performing very well.

    Cons

    All the downsides of academia: low pay, no promotions, no retirement benefits

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Meaningful experience, but low pay

    Jun 18, 2021 - Supplemental Instructor Leader in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really great engaging with students + acting as a mentor

    Cons

    Low pay for the amount of knowledge given

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Not There Long

    Jun 16, 2021 - Administrator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility to decide work schedule

    Cons

    Low pay compared to effort required for job

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 326 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with University of Southern California Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at University of Southern California? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

University of Southern California

813 days ago

COVID-19
Due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, we expect delays in some of our hiring process and will leverage our digital capabilities to continue recruiting top talent. For the latest information on USC’s response to COVID-19, please visit https://sites.usc.edu/coronavirus/ However, Keck Medicine of USC is actively hiring for all hospital locations. They are searching for qualified candidates to fill all roles involving patient care. Nurses – including night shift nurses, respiratory therapists, clinical support staff, patient care technicians, environmental service workers, and more are needed to support critical services. To apply: https://usccareers.usc.edu/category/keck-medicine-of-usc-jobs/1728-1209-11109/11857/1
See all

University of Southern California Photos

+ Add Photo
University of Southern California photo of: Campus
University of Southern California photo of: University of Southern California
University of Southern California photo of: Network Operations Center, USC ITS
University of Southern California photo of: beautiful campus
University of Southern California photo of: USC ISI
University of Southern California photo of: USC
University of Southern California photo of: ISI
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 4,140 University of Southern California reviews submitted anonymously by University of Southern California employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if University of Southern California is right for you.