KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

University of Southern California

Is this your company?

University of Southern California

Add a Review

University of Southern California Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jan 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 164 of over 3,528 reviews

4.3
81%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
University of Southern California President Carol L. Folt
Carol L. Folt
327 Ratings
Pros
  • "good staff policy, transparent work environment(in 164 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and culture for employees(in 127 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Bad neighborhood especially near the Colliseum(in 72 reviews)

  • "Pay is not enough to live in downtown LA year round(in 32 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about University of Southern California

    Join the conversation on

    Consulting

    8m

    works at 

    Accenture

    Is University of Southern California a target school for any companies?

    71

    39 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of University of Southern California and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      review

      Jan 12, 2021 - Work Study in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good staff policy, transparent work environment

      Cons

      there can be long hours and a busy environment,

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Ambassador

      Jan 5, 2021 - Admissions in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team and work environment was organized and professional.

      Cons

      Not enough shifts as an hourly worker

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work for an older generation

      Jan 15, 2021 - Laboratory Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work Environment Stable income Friendly Staff Possibility for free tuition for your children if they attend USC after working a specific number of hours Possibility to complete a masters degree at no expense once you work for a specific number of hours

      Cons

      Change is painfully slow You do not gain full employer contribution unless you work for 5 total years

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Southern California Response

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and insights. We work really hard to create a friendly and supportive environment for employees. We are happy to hear you're having a good experience. We are committed to providing pay and benefits that are competitive in the local marketplace for all of our positions. Thank you for sharing your perspective on what it’s like to work at USC. Fight On!

    4. 5.0
      Former Temporary Employee

      grader

      Dec 20, 2020 - Grader in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible work environment work life balance

      Cons

      workload not predictable in advance

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Southern California Response

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We work really hard to create a friendly and supportive environment for employees. We are happy to hear you're having a good experience. USC sets high standards to promote a healthy work/life balance and considers this a core value. Should you find the need for any assistance in the future regarding maintaining your work/life balance, please don't hesitate to contact the Center for Work and Family Life as their goal is to help support you throughout your work experience at USC. You can also find available wellness resources online at www.mindful.usc.edu. Fight On!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place

      Dec 20, 2020 - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative and stimulating working environment

      Cons

      Parking is rather expensive at the University and the surrounding neighborhood is not safe

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Southern California Response

      Your feedback is valued. Thank you for taking time to leave a review, and for being a part of our team. Fight On!

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Go Trojans!

      Jan 1, 2021 - Accounting Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission statement. Work environment. Teamwork. Staff support. Salary/benefits packages.

      Cons

      In my position and/or experience, there was very slow to no upward movement within my department.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Southern California Response

      Thank you for your feedback which we will take into consideration. USC strives to create opportunities for career growth and development. Please reach out to your supervisor to find opportunities that allow you to broaden your skills and knowledge.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      it's a postdoc....

      Dec 25, 2020 - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      low work stress, sufficient funding, fancy working environment

      Cons

      low salary in expensive city

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Southern California Response

      Your feedback is valued. Thank you for taking time to leave a review, and for being a part of our team. We are committed to providing pay that is competitive in the local marketplace for all of our positions. If you have any specific questions around our pay practices, you can reach out to your Human Resources Partner.

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Experience

      Dec 6, 2020 - Research Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working environment, easy commute

      Cons

      can't really think of any at the moment

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Southern California Response

      Your feedback is valued. Thank you for taking time to leave a review, and for being a part of our team. Fight On!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Positive Work Environment

      Dec 4, 2020 - PhD Graduate Student in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, Great Mentors, positive work environment

      Cons

      payment schedule, lack of HR at lower level positions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      company review

      Dec 2, 2020 - Staff RN 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -good working environment -supportive team - platform to build up relationships within the medical field

      Cons

      - benefits not as good because it is private

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      University of Southern California Response

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and insights. We work really hard to create a friendly and supportive environment for employees and strive to create opportunities for career growth and development. We are happy to hear you're having a good experience. Thank you for sharing your perspective on what it’s like to work at USC. Fight On!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 164 Reviews

    Popular Careers with University of Southern California Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at University of Southern California? Share Your Experiences

    or