University of Tampa Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Tampa Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
University of Tampa CEO Ronald L. Vaughn
Ronald L. Vaughn
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Tampa full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits (+tuition), compressed work schedule in summers (3 day weekends) and generous PTO.

    Cons

    Low salaries for responsibilities, university has grown rapidly but has not increased support staff although their tasks and duties have grown exponentially.

    Advice to Management

    Better training for staff for new ERP instead of a love it or there's the door attitude. Being able to see the inadequacies of a system does not mean staff will not learn it but being forced to smile when a system is less efficient is unconscionable. The wiki is incomplete and would benefit with more professional videos. The university has an Ed Tech department which could improve the entire process, if they were included...

    Show More
    University of Tampa2018-10-08
  2. "IT Lab Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Tampa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interact with students troubleshooting hardware or software issues. Great experience to start as a student. Great feedback from Co-workers about your job performance.

    Cons

    Minimum wage and students can be mad at you for not fixing his or her problem with their computer at times. Still a good experience to put in your resume.

    Advice to Management

    It would be nice to get paid a little bit more than the minimum wage but I know is not gonna happen. Keep it up!

    University of Tampa2018-09-22
  3. "High salary, easy work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Tampa full-time

    Pros

    The salary is above national average and considering the low cost of living area, it's the biggest perk working for UT. Great environment and students. Easiest and cushiest job I've ever had.

    Cons

    Quality of some faculty is questionable. Not sure how some people made their way in/up since it does not seem merit based.

    Advice to Management

    With the salary you offer, expect more and be more selective in your hiring and promotions. The students deserve as much.

    University of Tampa2018-08-23
  4. "Amazing place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Tampa

    Pros

    I worked at the department of Sport Management and I can say with confidence that the people there were some of the nicest and most understanding people that I ever met and worked with in my life.

    Cons

    Can't really think of any

    University of Tampa2018-08-14
  5. "Administrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Tampa part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, pleasant facilities overall

    Cons

    Less optimal pay, more adept to feedback

    University of Tampa2018-08-20
  6. "Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Tampa full-time

    Pros

    Great school and work environment is the best

    Cons

    nothing really to say here

    University of Tampa2018-07-08
  7. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at University of Tampa

      Pros

      Good on campus job for younger

      Cons

      Late hours after class nights

      University of Tampa2018-05-31
    • "Graduate assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at University of Tampa part-time

        Pros

        A good place to work, get time to do coursework during office time. Friendly people

        Cons

        aggressive targets for full-time employees.

        University of Tampa2018-05-30
      • "Student Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at University of Tampa part-time

        Pros

        Easy, comfortable, and nice to get to know all professors.

        Cons

        Not really any cons in this job.

        University of Tampa2018-05-02
      • "Student Employee"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at University of Tampa part-time

          Pros

          The university has a great atmosphere

          Cons

          Minimum wage for most student employment opportunities

          University of Tampa2018-04-10
        Found 114 reviews