University of Tennessee - Knoxville Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Tennessee - Knoxville Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
University of Tennessee - Knoxville CEO Jimmy G. Cheek (no image)
Jimmy G. Cheek
25 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some may prefer a large city like LA or NY, which Knoxville is not(in 4 reviews)

  • "long hours due to class work and research(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to get experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Journalist in Knoxville, TN

    I have been working at University of Tennessee - Knoxville part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome people, great teachers, perfect place.

    Cons

    Nothing, can't think of one thing!

    Advice to Management

    Nothing, keep doing what you're doing

    University of Tennessee - Knoxville2019-09-09
  2. "Research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Knoxville, TN

    I have been working at University of Tennessee - Knoxville full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    UTK is a very safe place.

    Cons

    Nothing came to my mind.

    University of Tennessee - Knoxville2019-08-23
  3. "Vibrant interdisciplinary environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Post Doctoral Research Fellow 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Tennessee - Knoxville full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diverse departments working together on big questions

    Cons

    Many layers of bureaucracy

    University of Tennessee - Knoxville2019-08-24
  4. "Really a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Teaching Associate in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Tennessee - Knoxville full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a university, and there's the mandatory amount of bureaucracy, but it was pretty navigable. The pay was competitive and even generous for the job expectations (teaching two classes a semester and looking after a department instrument) and the cost of living in Knoxville. Knoxville has a mild climate, and it's a large college town and also a cultural center. If you don't care for Appalachian culture, bluegrass..., etc. I get that, but there's delightful scenery, decent restaurants, and definitely a good beer and liquor scene.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working the geology department, things were pretty good. I honestly can't think of anything that happened to me personally that I would complain about.

    University of Tennessee - Knoxville2019-07-12
  5. "Increased Teaching Resources vs. Poor Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Associate in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Tennessee - Knoxville part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    University has invested a lot in teaching support programs, which can be very beneficial to graduate students new to teaching or with new preps.

    Cons

    Poverty. Wages. My semesterly fees were more than my monthly take home pay.

    Advice to Management

    I know assistantships vary by department, but the lowest tier assistantships are abysmal.

    University of Tennessee - Knoxville2019-07-12
  6. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Tennessee - Knoxville full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits including: time off, insurance, and retirement. Focus on team environment.

    Cons

    Pay gap between position titles, hard to advance.

    University of Tennessee - Knoxville2019-06-18
  7. "Decent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Specialist in Knoxville, TN

    I have been working at University of Tennessee - Knoxville full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Reduced tuition for families. Work environment is pretty supportive and not stressful.

    Cons

    Employees are drastically underpaid. Benefits aren't great.

    University of Tennessee - Knoxville2019-06-08
  8. "Go work at a restaurant instead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residential Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Tennessee - Knoxville full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Looks good on resume Met some fantastic people (other RAs and residents) Money but not getting paid for the amount of work you really do

    Cons

    Housing is run like a joke Bosses are hit or miss, unfortunately mine was a racist and incredibly rude You have to adjust to whatever they throw at you no matter what You can probably make the same amount in tips if not more in less time Nobody in housing wants to step on anyone's feet or call them out even if they're wrong On top of classes, it's not worth the stress and they rely on returning RAs to teach the... majority of the job to new ones without any additional pay or anything Focus on school and don't get caught up in UT's "Housing" department

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Too much to type

    University of Tennessee - Knoxville2019-05-03
  9. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Knoxville, TN

    I have been working at University of Tennessee - Knoxville part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good stipend, relatively lower cost of living

    Cons

    Houses specifically are not cheap

    University of Tennessee - Knoxville2019-04-07
  10. "Easiest Job Ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Tennessee - Knoxville part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Few given responsibilities, so I had the opportunity to develop my own initiatives. Friendly coworkers, generally positive work environment. Incredibly flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Little direction or training as far as job expectations.

    University of Tennessee - Knoxville2019-03-18
Found 88 reviews