University of Tennessee Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Tennessee Medical Center Reviews

Updated November 16, 2017
77 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Joseph R. Landsman Jr.
28 Ratings

77 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • You also don't get paid extra for working holidays and you will pretty much work every holiday (in 3 reviews)

  • While the hospital has many new types of patient care related technologies, they fail to provide simple devices that promote employee protection, i (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "The best in the east"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Tennessee Medical Center full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Proffesionalism of most co-workers. Best docs and nurses. Main hospital in the tri-state area

    Cons

    Location, parking is a pain. Busy, cafeteria menu never changes and is overpriced.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be Penny wise and dollar foolish.

    University of Tennessee Medical Center Response

    Oct 19, 2017 – Recruiter

    Thank you for your response. We are proud to be the #1 Trauma Center in East Tennessee. We understand your frustration with the current parking layout. Unfortunately, parking is one of the growing... More


  2. "Rating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at University of Tennessee Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    The atmosphere is great. Everyone is working toward a greater good of curing and caring for patients.

    Cons

    The pay needs to be improved upon

  3. "Not the most top paying job in the area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Tennessee Medical Center part-time

    Pros

    A large facility with updated floors and locations. Large departments with many coworkers and meeting with management was on the regular.

    Cons

    Didn't get paid that much from there. Always under construction.

    Advice to Management

    Pay closer attention on your departments and what goes on.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Level 1 trauma center in Knoxville Tennessee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Knoxville, TN
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of Tennessee Medical Center full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    University of Tennessee Medical Center is a large state of the art Level One trauma center. The physicians and nursing staff are very knowledgeable accounting for great patient outcomes.

    Cons

    Premium parking available only to very tenured employees. Everybody else has to park at some walking distance. New employees park almost a mile away from the hospital. Employees walk in the rain, snow etc. The pay received is less than surrounding area hospitals. While the hospital has many new types of patient care related technologies, they fail to provide simple devices that promote employee protection, i.e. patient lifting equipment.

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate pay grades to stay more competitive, revisit parking options, perhaps assisting employees with transportation to the hospital in inclement weather. Establish a committee that evaluates the availability and necessity of items that enhance employee safety.

    University of Tennessee Medical Center Response

    Oct 19, 2017 – Recruiter

    We appreciate your feedback and recommendation. Employee and patient safety is our top concern.


  5. "CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA
    Former Employee - CNA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Tennessee Medical Center full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone seemed to get along well

    Cons

    Working holidays, full time status required one 4 day week every other week.

    Advice to Management

    Work on better attitudes

    University of Tennessee Medical Center Response

    Oct 19, 2017 – Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. We offer multiple shifts and schedules to accommodate individual preferences when possible.


  6. "Great Benefits and Excellent Management Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Tennessee Medical Center full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent benefit package. Provides a work life balance for me and my family. Encourages continuing education and career development

    Cons

    Construction, but a necessity for a growing hospital

    Advice to Management

    Robust benefit package is appreciated!

    University of Tennessee Medical Center Response

    Aug 31, 2017 – Director, Recruitment and Employment

    Thank you for the five star rating. UTMC always strives to offer competitive benefits. Growth leads to the new heart hospital opening in 2018.


  7. "Awesome benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Tennessee Medical Center full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits are great, especially if you are on site.

    Cons

    It's a Hospital so it never closes, but that's too be expected in healthcare.

    University of Tennessee Medical Center Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Recruiter

    UTMC values its team members and we provide the best benefits we can. We always advise our team members to take advantage of our benefits and if they have question to always reach out to the Benefits... More

  8. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Tennessee Medical Center (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Excellent Reputation, good benefits, progressive medicine, growth, wonderful place to go for trauma care; employment opportunities with advancement; investing for future

    Cons

    Pay needs reviewed; updates to equipment; parking needs reviewed for both employees and patients due to growth; internal systems need updated to stay competitive; more help and staffing to care for the increased patients and growth

    University of Tennessee Medical Center Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Recruiter

    Thank you for the positive message. Being a teaching facility, we are glad you have experienced progressive medicine, trauma care, our excellent reputation, and future investment in health care.


  9. "Lack of upper mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Tennessee Medical Center full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    good benefits for a reputable organization

    Cons

    Lack of upper mobility for internals

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate and reward outstanding performance and loyalty for the facility. Give opportunities for upper mobility to internal applicants.

    University of Tennessee Medical Center Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Recruiter

    We appreciate your hard work and eight years of service. UTMC always wants their team members to excel and this includes internal promotions. We advise our team members to apply for positions they... More


  10. "Nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Laborer
    Former Employee - General Laborer
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at University of Tennessee Medical Center part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Great benefits. Nice facility

    Cons

    Out of touch management, they do not listen

    Advice to Management

    Listen more

    University of Tennessee Medical Center Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Recruiter

    We try to provide the best facility and benefits to our team members. We are glad you had a positive experience at UTMC.


Showing 77 of 78 reviews
Reset Filters