University of Texas at El Paso Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Texas at El Paso Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 268 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
University of Texas at El Paso CEO Diana S. Natalicio
Diana S. Natalicio
149 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very flexible schedule, nice work environment, people are nice, get to know a lot of people within the department(in 14 reviews)

  • "Reasonable with school schedule(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very low pay compared to other part time jobs(in 9 reviews)

  • "You're not allowed to exceed 19 hours a week if you're in a student position that's part time(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Pretty good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in El Paso, TX

    I worked at University of Texas at El Paso part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good scope for research under amazing faculty from the Comp Sci dept.

    Cons

    Can increase the infrastructure by buying more computing resources.

    University of Texas at El Paso2019-04-16
  2. "Nice, engaging Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Peer Leader in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Texas at El Paso part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of people to help and the Freedom to do your work is big

    Cons

    Professors can be difficult to work with.

    University of Texas at El Paso2019-04-03
  3. "Great University Community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scheduling Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Texas at El Paso full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very professional, great culture, and many professional development opportunities where continued learning is encouraged.

    Cons

    Though El Paso has a low cost of living, wish salaries were higher, but great benefits.

    University of Texas at El Paso2019-03-26
  4. "Getting your toes wet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Assistant 

    I worked at University of Texas at El Paso part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Able to interact with professors outside of class Enhance communication skills Good school/work balance

    Cons

    Poor training Customer service job Difficult customers Both students and professors have no respect for you

    Advice to Management

    Push to train employees, there needs to be a training and development plan. Better compensation for the students. Work on organization and structure.

    University of Texas at El Paso2019-03-22
  5. "Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Texas at El Paso full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great professional career preparation environment.

    Cons

    It is too expensive to pay out of pocket. Very competitive and hard to get a scholarship.

    University of Texas at El Paso2019-02-19
  6. "Flexible Job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Texas at El Paso part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You have flexible schedule with your classes and is a rewarding status between the students.

    Cons

    You need to finish all grading and assignment even you if you have other duties and responsabilities with your studies.

    Advice to Management

    I love the way my supervisor let me do the assignment in my own style.

    University of Texas at El Paso2019-02-28
  7. "UTEP Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at University of Texas at El Paso full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Great place to work at.

      Cons

      Salary could be higher to reach national level.

      University of Texas at El Paso2019-02-07
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at University of Texas at El Paso for more than a year

      Pros

      many opportunities for growth and improvement

      Cons

      low salaries and in some cases poor mentorship

      University of Texas at El Paso2019-01-30
    • "Adjunct earn below the poverty line"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty 

      I have been working at University of Texas at El Paso full-time

      Pros

      Prestige of being a professor

      Cons

      Non tenure track earn $2500 per class. Full time adjunct faculty earn 20,000. No contracts. Benefits for full time but no guarantee of status from semester to semester. No salary increase in a generation.

      Advice to Management

      Offer contracts and better pay.

      University of Texas at El Paso2019-03-01
    • "Peer Advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Peer Advisor in El Paso, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at University of Texas at El Paso part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Learn to work under pressure.

        Cons

        Takes to much time to concentrate in school.

        University of Texas at El Paso2019-01-23
      Found 268 reviews