University of Vermont Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Vermont Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 214 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of Vermont CEO Suresh Garimella
Suresh Garimella
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "The administration at UVM is very supportive of its student employees(in 21 reviews)

  • "Relaxed and interesting work environment(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "The compensation of 24k is OK but nothing to more that barely live on in Burlington(in 9 reviews)

  • "UVM has a tendency to over-utilize the Tech Team which can lead to some stressful situations(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great experience and friendly staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Vermont part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved every minute of it. Friendly staff and gained experience and was not rushed into uncharted waters

    Cons

    Sometimes too laidback, overall a great experience

    University of Vermont2019-08-18
  2. "Lovely community, but underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Specialist in Burlington, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Vermont part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people with whom I worked were brilliant and inspiring.

    Cons

    The University model seems to function on a basis of underpaying staff and adjuncts.

    University of Vermont2019-09-11
  3. "An experience that improved my education and helped hone my skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in Burlington, VT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Vermont part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed TAing at UVM because it helped me enrich my education while earning some money on the side.

    Cons

    TAing was like taking on another class.

    University of Vermont2019-08-08
  4. "Very political and low paying job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Vermont full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and good work life balance.

    Cons

    Low paying job for the area and the highers up do not recognize that the people at the bottom who are actually running the operations of the organization deserve more pay. $$$ is thrown away daily for nonsense and there is no oversite. There is zero room fro growth and you will become stagnant in our job. Its all appearances people. There is a lot of bad things that happen to students too and noone cares.

    University of Vermont2019-07-21
  5. "Good place for grad school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Graduate Student Teaching Assistant in Burlington, VT

    I worked at University of Vermont full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mentors for research. Graduate teaching assistant stipend was not much to live on, but you can easily make it work if you live in the right place and are somewhat frugal.

    Cons

    Graduate level coursework was not nearly as rigorous as I would hope.

    University of Vermont2019-07-15
  6. "Overall excellent experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at University of Vermont part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience for resume and helping me learn what I wanted to do in my career. Great to work with students

    Cons

    Low pay, but that's expected as a student

    University of Vermont2019-05-29
  7. "Great community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Vermont part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People care about the students

    Cons

    Not too bad, but can be political

    University of Vermont2019-05-29
  8. "23 years of service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office/Program Support 

    I have been working at University of Vermont full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good: Tuition remission, health and dental have been good for us.

    Cons

    Staff are under appreciated in colleges, Dean's are more concerned with their faculty.

    Continue reading
    University of Vermont2019-06-12
  9. "Clinical Research Center was a great place to work as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Burlington, VT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Vermont part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The research team for the ABCD Study were all friendly and easy to work with. Diverse group of participants. The clinical research center at the UVM Medical Center is very nice.

    Cons

    Limited amount of hours per week.

    University of Vermont2019-06-11
  10. "Go Cats Go!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Vermont full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pretty progressive. Generous leave and benefits. Beautiful campus.

    Cons

    If you're not in a union or a professor, expect little to no raises. Every 5 years there's a self inflicted budget crisis.

    University of Vermont2019-05-06
Found 214 reviews