University of Victoria Reviews | Glassdoor

University of Victoria Reviews

Updated Feb 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
93%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
University of Victoria President Jamie Cassels
Jamie Cassels
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, confusing benefits, isolated from industry(in 9 reviews)

  • "No cons yet; they should pay TA’s more(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "VUWSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at University of Victoria

    Pros

    Awesome team enviroment and good pay

    Cons

    Can't really think of any, great place.

    University of Victoria2018-06-26
  2. "Plenty of options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Work Study 

    I worked at University of Victoria part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There's a wide variety of jobs you can choose from. With differing hours available.

    Cons

    Even if financial aid approves you for x number of hours, there's no guarantee you will be able to work that many in one job.

    University of Victoria2019-07-27
  3. "Well Enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Victoria part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Victoria is a great place to live, and the campus reflects that.

    Cons

    None come to mind, really.

    University of Victoria2019-01-16
  4. "Library Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Victoria part-time

    Pros

    Good job. Easy to do.

    Cons

    Limited scope for upward mobility.

    University of Victoria2017-12-09
  5. "Academic Teaching Assistant Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends

    I worked at University of Victoria

    Pros

    Good benefits, this kind of role is built on the idea of meeting the needs of grad students (as opposed to simply getting the work done as cheaply as possible). Very supportive of TAs.

    Cons

    This is a student position. Not exactly something you apply for unless you're already in the system.

    University of Victoria2016-10-11
  6. "Great pay for PTand nice colleaues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Help Desk Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Victoria

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere, friendly colleagues and good pay for students

    Cons

    Rigid schedule at times Impatient customers

    Continue reading
    University of Victoria2015-08-27
  7. "Got a look behind the curtain and chose to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University of Victoria full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good undergraduate students, beer at the university center

    Cons

    Indecisive leadership, poor understanding of scientific infrastructure and the long term commitments required for success

    Continue reading
    University of Victoria2013-08-04
  8. "Flexible employment for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Victoria part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, great staff, and easy service style.

    Cons

    Low sales totals equal low income from tips.

    University of Victoria2020-02-23
  9. "Great job to have while in school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Help Desk Analyst 
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Victoria part-time

    Pros

    Supportive management Opportunity to meet other students Opportunity to work part time after a co-op

    Cons

    Generally I had a good experience, any issues I experienced were handled well through management.

    University of Victoria2020-02-02
  10. "Co-op Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Developer 

    I worked at University of Victoria full-time

    Pros

    Great learning environment Friendly staff Positive and inclusive working spaces

    Cons

    Communication can suffer at times Bloated administration

    University of Victoria2020-02-01
Found 228 reviews