University of West Florida Graduate Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

University of West Florida Graduate Assistant Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
University of West Florida President Martha D. Saunders
Martha D. Saunders
3 Ratings
  1. "They have a great MHA program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Assistant in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of West Florida full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The online classes are challenging

    Cons

    There are no cons at this time

    University of West Florida2019-11-12
  2. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Assistant 

    I worked at University of West Florida part-time

    Pros

    small school but they really try to know you

    Cons

    not that i can think of

    University of West Florida2019-11-11
  3. "Lots of development opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Graduate Assistant in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of West Florida for more than a year

    Pros

    A variety of assignments as a research assistant, from literature review, teaching classes, developing learning activities, and assisting with consulting projects.

    Cons

    Can be a lot with the graduate workload.

    University of West Florida2019-11-04
  4. "It's what you'd expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of West Florida part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tuition Waiver and scholarships/grants, for sure. This was in the mathematics department, and the work is pretty much what you'd expect: grading and running labs/workshops for the lower level math classes. The faculty I've worked with have all been very supportive and grateful for my help. If there were a complaint from the students, the faculty are quick to support the graduate assistants. The only reason it doesn't get five stars is that I can't imagine someone truly enjoying grading. Also, if you are interested, you can even request to teach your own class.

    Show More

    Cons

    Recently lost the GA office, so you have to find your own private space to grade, but as long as you're not pressed for time, it's a big enough campus that you can walk somewhere and find someplace away from people.

    University of West Florida2019-07-24
  5. "GA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant 

    I have been working at University of West Florida part-time

    Pros

    It challenged me to find out how to get the experience I needed.

    Cons

    It had no structure at times.

    University of West Florida2019-07-23
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Pensacola, FL

    I worked at University of West Florida part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very interesting assignments and professional environment.

    Cons

    None, great pace to work. I totally recommend it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep good job!

    University of West Florida2019-06-04
  7. "Best Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of West Florida part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very supportive Faculty and diversified work culture

    Cons

    Didn't find anything. A little resistant to change.

    Advice to Management

    Doing very well. Keep it up!!

    University of West Florida2019-05-02
  8. "Good Coworkers but GAs are Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Graduate Assistant in Pensacola, FL

    I worked at University of West Florida for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid graduate school tuition. Friendly environment for the most part. Coworkers cared about each other.

    Cons

    GAs were supposed to work 20 hours/week max. All GAs in the athletic department were working 30-40+ hours not including required travel.

    University of West Florida2019-02-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant 

    I have been working at University of West Florida part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Learning opportunities/ mentorship

    Cons

    Low pay / limitation on hours you can report working Demanding workload

    University of West Florida2019-01-22
  10. "Good to GA's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of West Florida part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, fair pay, tuition assistance, great people

    Cons

    Limited hours, not much autonomy

    University of West Florida2018-01-03
Found 19 reviews