University of West Florida "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

University of West Florida Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
University of West Florida CEO Martha D. Saunders
Martha D. Saunders
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fantastic sense of community and a supportive work environment(in 12 reviews)

  • "Very supportive staff, extremely flexible schedule, a sense of true contribution to those in need(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay is minimum wage, and only up to 20 hours/wk for 3 labs (no full-time TAs)(in 6 reviews)

  • "low pay compared with my piers someplace else(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Wonderful workplace if you understand what you are getting into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of West Florida full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic sense of community and a supportive work environment.

    Cons

    Upper Housing can make some interesting but questionable decisions.

    University of West Florida2019-09-04
  2. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of West Florida full-time

    Pros

    Professional development opportunities, wonderful work environment, beautiful campus

    Cons

    Parking is not the best

    University of West Florida2019-06-21
  3. "A great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of West Florida part-time

    Pros

    Their competitive pay and willingness to work with you on all fronts. Being able to set your own hours. Great work environment with friendly people. Great technology and ability to work with emerging software.

    Cons

    A lot of trust is placed into the employee, if you struggle with time management or staying on task, this may not be the place for you.

    University of West Florida2018-11-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at University of West Florida full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, excellent benefits

    Cons

    Politics play a larger part than it should

    University of West Florida2017-08-13
  5. "UWF - Pretty Good Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of West Florida full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • Good work environment. In my case, my supervisor is very supportive. • Opportunities to take on new tasks. • Speaking as a young professional, it has a good benefits package and other pros (tuition waivers, gym membership, etc.)

    Cons

    • Promotion opportunities are scarce as far as I can tell.

    University of West Florida2017-04-04
  6. "Great place to be a Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of West Florida part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment. Fair pay. Convenient for students.

    Cons

    None that I can think of...

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    University of West Florida2017-01-06
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of West Florida for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employees. Really care about the interns by making sure they feel comfortable and checking in on them frequently. Solid work environment!

    Cons

    I did not find many cons besides the fact that UWF did not allow the interns to get paid. Not a big problem though!

    Advice to Management

    Let the students have a paid internship. A lot of students are living with out a car or a lot of money so a little money would help tremendously.

    University of West Florida2016-11-16
  8. "Review of Dept. Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of West Florida

    Pros

    The department I work for is very understanding of my class schedule and helps schedule me to work around that. The work environment is also great.

    Cons

    Being paid minimum wage is the worst part about working here as a student. It would be better if you could work more hours, but they limit your hours.

    Advice to Management

    Consider extending work hours for students. I know it may seem counter productive, but many students still work full-time jobs, and want that opportunity here as well.

    University of West Florida2016-09-20
  9. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at University of West Florida part-time

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment. Personal office. Nice co-workers. It's a student worker position and it really helped build my career. It was also extremely easy to work the hours around my school schedule while also having plenty of down time on the job that allowed me to study.

    Cons

    After a while, the tasks become mundane and you reach a point where you aren't learning anything new on the job.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing. It was a great experience.

    University of West Florida2016-05-25
  10. "Building manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Building Manager in Palm Harbor, FL

    I worked at University of West Florida for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great learning experience -Great work environment -If you take it seriously the experience will really benefit you in the long run

    Cons

    It is part time therefore you can only get up to 30 hours a week, but as a full time student that is usually enough.

    University of West Florida2015-08-20
Found 12 reviews