Updater Reviews | Glassdoor

Updater Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Updater CEO David Greenberg
David Greenberg
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unlimited PTO does come in handy for a flexible work schedule so that you can offset working hard one day to taking some time off for personal reasons(in 7 reviews)

  • "I feel like my work is always challenging and engaging and it feels really great to be a part of such an amazing team(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "With a high-growth and fast-paced startup, there are going to be growing pains to navigate(in 4 reviews)

  • "Hard work and sometimes long hours are a part of the job here but Updater makes it easy and rewarding(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "People, Product, Promise to the Mover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Updater full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Surrounded by amazingly smart, motivated, and collaborative people -Market leader in a huge industry -Product makes millions of moves faster, cheaper, and easier, effectively making millions of people's lives better -Clear, proven strategy and vision that has been consistent for years, and will be for years to come

    Cons

    -Can't execute on every good idea, as time and resources always have their limitations. A good problem to have... -No Splenda in the kitchen ;)

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to the mover first mentality and more successful years will continue!

    Updater2019-04-15
  2. "Fast-Paced, Market-Leading Company that CARES About its Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Updater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Autonomy. Every employee is trusted and empowered to make a difference. It's so encouraging to work at an organization who values everyone's thoughts and opinions, regardless of job title. I feel extremely fulfilled by my work on a daily basis. - Phenomenal People team that goes above and beyond to make the experience at work unlike any company I've ever been at. I truly feel that the company _cares_ for its... employees and is not just paying lip service to the word. In the world of tech, it's common to see companies to get carried away with frivolous spending. Updater is thoughtful about where they invest their time, energy, and resources to make the employee experience unparalleled without being overly extravagant. - Transparency from senior leadership. Leadership reports out to the company on all relevant happenings on a weekly basis. I ALWAYS know where the company is at, where we're going, and why decisions were made.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Things move very quickly. We're trying to become THE platform that everyone uses to accomplish all tasks associated with their move. There's a lot of work to be done and a ton of energy and excitement around the office to continually execute at a high level. This type of environment isn't for everyone. Not really a negative for me, but I could see how it could be for some folks. Personally, I seek out these types... of environments.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency! It's so valuable for the entire company to be on the same page. When we all move in lock-step, our output and productivity is maximized. Don't let that fade as we continue to grow and scale!

    Updater2019-01-24
  3. "Certainly enjoying the view"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Updater full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely goal driven atmosphere, while being entirely people/culture focused. I am still in complete awe that I get to work with such a dynamic company, and an equally talented group of people. I’m still getting my bearings, but settling into my role has been nothing short of incredible because of the thought and care given to new hires by the company, and especially the People Team that handles the... recruiting and onboarding process. Updater has a very unique and carefully crafted interview process that is unlike any other I have experienced in my career. The openness, and feedback was genuine and straightforward. Every round of every interview I had was a two-way conversation of shared experiences in a casual setting putting me in a position to highlight myself, and how I could contribute to the Updater vision. There was always a follow-up call asking how I felt the interview went, and if I have any feedback to improve their approach. What I appreciated most was the open line of communication between the People Team and I. Being apart of Updater has been absolutely incredible, the culture is very close knit and welcoming. I learn something new at least once everyday, and genuinely look forward to getting into the office every morning. Updater is something special, and I’m so thankful to be working with this team toward the future.

    Show More

    Cons

    I wish I wasn't so tempted with snacks, j/k thank you :)

    Advice to Management

    You're all doing a tremendous job, and thank you for taking such good care of us!

    Updater2018-11-02
  4. "Great culture, smart people and a thoughtful employee experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Updater full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you've been lucky enough to work in a high performing culture previously, you'll quickly recognise it when you get to know Updater. Initially, I was attracted to the fun, smart and engaged team as well as the thoughtfulness that goes into the overall employee experience and it's safe to say it's lived up to expectations. They go to great detail to create an incredible work experience where others fall short.... + Updater is incredibly mission-driven and is built by people who understand the company's goals and how every hire/employee directly contributes towards them. This, in turn, ensures that people know what they are working on and why it matters. + Employees have tremendous transparency into company and product performance. Leadership communicate regularly with complete transparency. As a company, we align regularly on goals and performance, be it weekly at our company all-hands meetings or at multiple annual all company off-sites. All employees are able to contribute product ideas or cross-departmental ideas and are encouraged to do so. + The employee experience team makes Updater a very positive and fun place to work. The company has regular social activities and thoughtful personal gestures that make it a great environment to call work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing obvious to highlight here, and certainly nothing that can't be or hasn't been quickly remedied. The company is pioneering a new space so it can pivot quickly depending on strategy or business opportunities. You need to be comfortable in a fast paced and changing environment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency and investment in people! It's appreciated.

    Updater2018-10-09
  5. "Updater is top-notch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Updater full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility: As long as you're getting your work done, you don't have to feel bad about taking PTO or working from home every once in a while Transparency: Everyone is kept in the loop, so there are no surprises Growth: The company is intently focused on encouraging both professional and personal growth, which is very refreshing Culture: The People team is dedicated to making sure we have a delightful work... environment with team lunches, happy hours, & awesome events!

    Show More

    Cons

    Long interview process: You will be asked to come in for multiple interviews, including a full day. It can feel intense, but it's done for a good reason and is so worth it!

    Updater2018-10-09
  6. "It's been an awesome 1st year, looking forward to more!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Updater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a personal rule, I like to wait a year before filling out a review as I feel it gives me some real insight into how my original impression of a company plays out. I couldn't be more happy with how things have gone here at Updater. + The core company has doubled, we've added a new floor, and two subsidiaries have been added since I joined, all the while continuing on the same mission & values that I was... sold on in my interview. + I've been in startups before that underwent massive change due to aggressive VC investors, so Updater's unique early-stage funding strategy via their IPO on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX) was extremely attractive. In a startup’s infancy, the absolute need for capital can lead to the acceptance of very unfavorable VC term sheets that can cause stock and Board dilution as well as ceding early decision processes to these VC board members. Updater gained the majority of their ~$100M funding (up to about the equivalent of a Series D) through fundraising rounds on the ASX, and it wasn’t until we were in a strong standing that we looked to move back to a US-based mega funding round and de-list from the ASX. We’ve set a lot of firsts for a US startup in terms of funding strategy, yet another example of the ingenuity of our Leadership. + The level of transparency from leadership is great. Our CEO generally runs an all-hands meeting every Monday and we get insights on how each team and the company overall is progressing towards their goals. We're even told how much money is left in the bank. Updater wants every employee to feel their impact on the company and seeing exactly how we impact the business goes a long way towards that. We're all owners here. + Awesome and diverse group of people. This was a huge factor in my decision to join updater and I genuinely enjoy working with the people here. My interviews felt more like an enthusiastic 2-sided discussion around how I could make an impact here rather than a grilling session trying to find my faults. We pride ourselves on and work hard to maintain that type of company culture as we scale.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is difficult for me as I’ve yet to come across anything that has been a specific bad or unfixable issue as of yet. If you’ve never worked in a startup before, some of the need for autonomy, or lack of yet to be defined processes, can be daunting. However, if that’s what you thrive in, and you also realize you have the ability to voice any concerns, this may not be a con. Day-to-day priorities can change, and... the level of how busy one is can fluctuate, so it may not be the best environment for someone who needs a steady and predictable workflow several months out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency!

    Updater2018-09-20
  7. "Amazing All Around!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Updater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team here does an amazing job of strategizing and empowering their employees. From your interests to your dietary preferences everything is structured to make sure that you succeed. We're a team that works insanely hard ( long hours included) but we also know when and how to have fun! Whether its telling someone to turn off when they're on vacation or telling the team to WFH after they've completed an insane... project, everyone is given the space to relax when they need it, At the same time, managers are constantly checking in and making sure that each of their team members are growing the way that they want to. The team here is really special. From top to bottom, everyone cares and is excited about this product and the well being of this team.

    Show More

    Cons

    Normal startup growing pains. Long hours and quick changes are to be expected.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your team. They adore you and all that you've done so far. As long as you keep them in mind, we'll all succeed.

    Updater2018-09-17
  8. "Best job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Updater full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can honestly say I look forward to coming to work every day. Working at Updater feels like the equivalent experience of a higher degree of education. I'm challenged more than I ever have been at work before, and as a result, I'm truly learning all the time. Employees here are treated as adults - the level of transparency from leadership is exceptional, and we have a lot of flexibility to achieve clearly outlined... goals in whichever way works best for each of us. There are also tons of other great perks like a beautiful and conveniently located office space, unlimited snacks, catered meals, happy hours, team activities, etc. I feel truly cared for here not just as an employee/resource but as a person.

    Show More

    Cons

    No 401k benefits yet, but I know this is in the works. Also, unlimited PTO is great, but sometimes it's difficult to completely unplug since teams are so lean. If you can manage your own workload and get the timing right, there is truly a lot of support for a healthy work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency and investment in hiring and retaining the best people possible!

    Updater2018-09-18
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Client Success Manger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Updater full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Employees are valued - Our tech continues to grow - I've yet to have a call with a client who wasn't at the very least happy, if not ecstatic about Updater. Our Product team is constantly working to make our technology bigger and better. - Teams are built out enough that a role as a Success Manager doesn't make you a one-man band - a lot of account management positions require you to do everything from billing... to marketing, sales to end-user support. While knowledge and assistance in these areas are required, there are other teams built out to carry out these functions, allowing Success Managers to take on more accounts and focus on client relationships. For me, this was a game changer. - Flexible work hours - working in NYC can mean long commutes on unreliable public transit for some. There is a true 'trust' culture that takes some of the stress out of commuting. - Taking PTO is encouraged - hard work shows and managers understand time to recharge is imperative to good work product. - Recruiting is top notch - the interview process is long, but the end goal is to find the right people with the right personality and talents for the job. It works - my team is amazing.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Depending on where you are at in your career, it can feel a bit 'youthful' - which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Took a little time to adjust to coming from a slightly more structured corporate environment. In many ways, it was a change for the best. It is up to the employee to understand the impact of their role and their career path from their manager - the casual atmosphere doesn't immediately lend itself... to how imperative each role is. In my experience, feeling valued and supported at work far surpasses seriousness just for the sake of seriousness. - It is a very 'open' office environment - awesome for collaboration but if you have work that requires more concentration Updater built out a bunch of new meeting rooms to help offset that.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are doing amazing things! Employees know what a privilege it is to work here - we really feel like we are a part of something special. Looking forward to seeing how Updater evolves specific career paths within roles - definitely a tough task with being a young company but necessary to obtain and keep mature talent. Employees want to stay and grow here - this company will continue to do great things!

    Updater2018-09-04
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Feels like you are back in High School working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Updater full-time

    Pros

    Free snacks, coffee, unlimited pto and nice office views

    Cons

    It feels like your back in high school working here with all the gossip that goes on and the little cliques that form. The reason this company has such high reviews on glassdoor is because they ask current employees once they get hired to go on and leave these 5-star reviews. I saw the same ratings and was fooled into working here. The pay is low, the recruiters try to fool you into working here with all the false... promises and "perks", you are expected to work more than the usual 8hr day without extra pay. There isn't opportunity for growth unless you worked there for 4+ years and you will learn absolutely nothing working here. Please don't be fooled into working for this company unless you just graduated college and need a starter job.

    Show More
    Updater2018-09-01

    Updater Response

    September 12, 2018VP People

    Thank you for the candid review. It's my personal goal to ensure every person at Updater has a positive and transformational journey here, so I’m very disappointed to hear that was not the case for you. Having a safe and inclusive environment at Updater is critical for us, and we do our absolute best to bring people into the company who align with that through our structured hiring processes. Our culture creates very close and communicative teams, and we expect our employees to treat each other with respect. If that isn’t happening, we address it immediately. While we do encourage employees to share their Updater experience on Glassdoor as we want employee’s experiences to be shared with the world, we would never ask anyone to share ingenuine feedback. In fact, we explicitly call out to employees the importance of being honest and specific in such reviews. Overall, we invest heavily in the experience of our employees both from an environment perspective and a professional development perspective. As with most growing startups, we expect everyone to make a large impact on the company, which can result in non-standardized work hours, but also an enormous opportunity to learn new things and take on more responsibility. Above all else, we strive to treat all of our employees with integrity, fairness, and transparency both during their experience interviewing as well as after they are hired. If this was not the case for you, I’d very much like to discuss. If you’re willing to share the specifics of your experience so we can make necessary adjustments for the benefit of all of our employees, I can be reached at lindsey@updater.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Lindsey VP People

    Show Less
Found 51 reviews