KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Upgrade

Is this your company?

Upgrade

Add a Review

Upgrade San Francisco Reviews

Updated May 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 140 reviews

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Upgrade CEO Renaud Laplanche
Renaud Laplanche
26 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

1y

works at 

JPMorgan Chase

Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

871

87 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Awesome place to work

    May 21, 2021 - Product in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great teammates with deep knowledge & expertise - Focus on getting things done & solving problems - Tons of opportunity - Data-driven environment - Can-do attitudes all around

    Cons

    - Fast pace means you might be stretched thin from time to time

    1 person found this review helpful

    Upgrade Response

    Vice President

    We're glad you enjoy working at Upgrade - thanks for being a part of the team!

  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    great place with lots of potential

    Jun 15, 2020 - Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    lots of opportunities for growth

    Cons

    start up, standard growing pains

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Dream Job

    Feb 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Couldn’t be happier. I love working for Upgrade. They value their employees and treat them accordingly. Generous compensation. Great health insurance. Lots of perks. Beautiful products that are a pleasure to work on. True culture of transparency and open communication. Other companies talk about it, but Upgrade actually follows through.

    Cons

    No 401k match — it’s coming! But, salaries are so generous, this cancels itself out. There are no cons to working here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Work Environment, Awesome People

    May 15, 2017 - Customer Support Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company is great! Upgrade, Inc. is a stealth mode start-up, full of amazing people. The Executive Management team is brilliant; they really value their employees and the ideas that they bring to the table. They are also very approachable, down-to-earth individuals, which is what makes this company different. You aren't made to feel intimidated by job titles, levels of experience, etc. In terms of the customer support department, I am thoroughly excited to come to work everyday knowing that I have the ability to build and create processes that improve workflow efficiency for the team, and ultimately, the company. What is phenomenal about this department is that your managers will always listen to your ideas, and will work with you to get it implemented into the workflow. They will ALWAYS give you credit for the work that you do! I've never felt more empowered in a workplace. Our product is also amazing because we're actually helping people get out of debt. If you're upbeat and have a genuine interest in helping individuals improve their overall credit health by getting out of debt, customer support is the place to be. In terms of the perks, we have monthly company happy hours, a fully stocked kitchen with a coffee/espresso machine, a ping pong table, a Nintendo 64 game console, bean bag chairs, and more! They are currently remodeling offices in both Phoenix and San Francisco, and I know they will both be beautiful because they have great taste! I'm excited for my future with Upgrade. I know we're headed to the top!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons at this time.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    An innovative company.

    Apr 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A feature of Upgrade that drew me to here is the education they want to provide about personal finance. There’s not enough mandatory finance education out there, but it’s never too late to learn and this company is making it known that we’re here to help. During my interview, I could already tell there was so much innovation to come, and I’m proud to be an employee of Upgrade. I’ve been working at this company for 15 months now and it's been one of the best choices I’ve made to join this team of great people. The culture here is great and I’m very appreciative of the opportunities I’ve been given to develop my own passions and learn so much more than I could have imagined. Leadership has been very supportive in my career and in my personal life. Developing my career has been an amazing journey and it’s still continuing on. I’ve had a lot of support from so many leaders throughout my journey that each have helped me in such different ways. Additionally, it’s wonderful to be so empowered to do my job.

    Cons

    Nothing to write for this section.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Upgrade Response

    Director, People Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience as a team member at Upgrade. We appreciate your feedback!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Leadership and Opportunity for Career Growth

    Dec 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Joining Upgrade was such a great career move! The leadership team consists of some of the most passionate, dedicated, and genuine individuals I have ever worked with who truly want the best for their employees. New ideas are always welcomed and encouraged which fosters a creative and fun work environment. As a startup, the company is constantly growing which means ample room for career advancement. All of the executives are extremely approachable and bring an incredible amount of experience to the business. Finally, I have to mention our beautiful office and the endless amount of snacks available! I can honestly say I 'upgraded' my life when making the decision to join this company.

    Cons

    As a startup, processes/ideas/workflows are constantly changing. I'm only listing this as a con because I know some people may not prefer such an unpredictable work atmosphere. Personally, I enjoy the new challenge every day.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to build and grow

    Aug 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You know you have a great job when you enjoy coming to work. CEO and leadership team knows what they're doing and put people first - most important in building a successful company. For employees they are focused on building an environment that drives collaboration and creativity. They have been successful in creating finance products before and have a vision on how to make it even better. I love my direct team and have a lot of respect for their experience. Always up for a challenge, great energy, and care about what they work on and how it will impact the business. Everyone takes responsibility for their work but want to help each other too. All together, we get a lot done, all while having fun.

    Cons

    Can't think of any.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company to Work For

    Dec 11, 2017 - Customer Service Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Free snacks and drinks available - Brand new 2 story office in the heart of the Financial District, which is easily accessible with Muni - Open floor office to encourage collaboration between teams - Opportunies to move into different position(s) within the company - Wine Fridays (happens twice a month) - Great benefits with 401k plan in the works for 2018

    Cons

    - Constant updates to policies and procedures (expected for a new company in FinTech) - Sometimes there are no cups in the morning for coffee.... but there is a Starbucks a half a block from the office

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Couldn't be happier

    Apr 23, 2018 - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    High growth company with a lot of success even in its early days. All of the leaders are extremely experienced in the online lending space and because of that, there isn't any conflict or drama. Everyone knows what they are doing here and how to be successful. It is also a great place to learn and grow because the leadership is so strong. There are consistently opportunities to get to know people from different parts of the company with fun events and happy hours. In just one year, Upgrade has launched three products so the velocity and productivity of the team is unmatched!

    Cons

    No cons - truly the best place I've ever worked!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love going to work every day!

    Aug 18, 2017 - Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Awesome founders who know how to build a business and care about employee success. -Strong, experienced team across all levels and functions - makes it easy to move fast and still deliver a high quality product. - Great opportunity to learn from the best in the business. - Open, collaborative environment where everyone is working towards a common goal. Feels like a family! - Great location in the financial district near BART and Muni.

    Cons

    -Excited to move to a new office where we will have more space.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with Upgrade Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Upgrade? Share Your Experiences

or