Upper Iowa University Reviews | Glassdoor

Upper Iowa University Reviews

Updated 29 de Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
66%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Upper Iowa University CEO Dr. William R. Duffy II (no image)
Dr. William R. Duffy II
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love teaching the UIU students(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "I play nothing for insurance (single plan) and UIU puts money in my HSA(in 4 reviews)

  • "UIU is a very dysfunctional organization not only at the main campus, but at all the academic extensions(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to teach!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Professor in Lafayette, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Upper Iowa University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great support from leadership and Dean.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons with this university.

    Upper Iowa University2019-04-29
  2. "Friendly Work Environment, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Upper Iowa University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are nice and I have less work load.

    Cons

    The turnover is high. Pay is not very good.

    Upper Iowa University2019-07-29
  3. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Advisor 

    I have been working at Upper Iowa University full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are very good

    Cons

    The administration treats employees like they are replaceable.

    Upper Iowa University2019-07-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The people I work with are friendly supportive and helpful. It allows me to use my skills while also building new ones."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Financial Services Specialist in Fayette, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Upper Iowa University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the short commute, the people I work with, and the work culture (in general be kind to everyone aka golden rule). Tuition remission is available to employees, spouses, and dependents.

    Cons

    No flex time. We currently don't get raises but we're are provided just perks. I play nothing for insurance (single plan) and UIU puts money in my HSA.

    Advice to Management

    Flex time would be a great supplement for no raises.

    Upper Iowa University2019-04-08
  5. "Some good and some really bad managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in Fayette, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Upper Iowa University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, nice campus, good quality of work, good employee wellness initiatives.

    Cons

    Bad politics, controversial arguments, misaligned goals.

    Advice to Management

    Don't micromanage, work together with each other instead of against. It's not a competition, but a collaboration for mutual success.

    Upper Iowa University2019-04-02
  6. "Extremely underpaid for Information Technology workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Fayette, IA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Upper Iowa University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very low stress compared with public sector

    Cons

    About $35,000.00 less than going rate for Information Technology workers

    Advice to Management

    Give Raises to IT

    Upper Iowa University2019-03-29
  7. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Professor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Upper Iowa University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good students, good technology, nice campus

    Cons

    poor communication, poor leadership, hear different things

    Advice to Management

    get some better people

    Upper Iowa University2019-03-28
  8. "program coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Upper Iowa University full-time

    Pros

    it is a job though

    Cons

    small town and boring place

    Upper Iowa University2018-11-25
  9. "Love the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Fayette, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Upper Iowa University for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are super friendly and just will make you feel at home. Cost of living is very low so your low salary goes a long ways in a single household

    Cons

    Very small town with not a lot of places to eat Low salary

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting your friends with no experience and making rash decisions that aren’t completely thought through

    Upper Iowa University2018-11-16
  10. "Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Upper Iowa University full-time

    Pros

    Family orientated atmosphere. Most employees are friendly and great to be apart of the community. Laid back and flexible for the most part

    Cons

    Politics with the administration and it can get kind of ugly sometimes.

    Upper Iowa University2018-10-24
Found 49 reviews