Upside Business Travel Reviews | Glassdoor

Upside Business Travel Reviews

Updated Jan 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Upside Business Travel CEO  Jay Walker
Jay Walker
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced - working with cutting edge technology(in 10 reviews)

  • "I was surrounded by smart people working together to solve complex problems in creative ways(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you are looking for a 9 - 5 job, not the place for you(in 6 reviews)

  • "You need to be able to think and act quickly as it is fast-paced and agile(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "The best company culture of any company I have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Upside Business Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The CEO, Chief People Officer, and others on the exec team invest a lot of time and resources in the culture of the company. With great results. As a woman I have been given every opportunity (and the tools) to succeed as anyone else in the company. Good benefits including a very generous allowance for continuing education and training. A smart, fun, hardworking team that is passionate about putting out the best product in the industry. Folks throughout the company are empowered to do their job and make decisions. I find the CEO (Scott) to be super transparent and in general shares a ton of information with the company (there is way more transparency at Upside than any other company I have worked with in the past). If you are a hard worker who produces results, this is a place where you will be given opportunities to take on more responsibilities.

    Cons

    If you are looking for a 9 - 5 job, not the place for you. This is not a con, but we move at a very fast pace so you need to keep up.

    Continue reading
    Upside Business Travel2019-07-20

    Upside Business Travel Response

    July 28, 2019President

    Thanks for the kind words. The culture really is critical and is maintained and improved by every person on the team. We set the foundation and values early - more than three years ago. Thanks for contributing your hard work and energy. Based on some of the more recent reviews here, I'd love for some of your time to make sure we are doing everything we can to support our team mates. Slack me or stop by my desk when you have time.

    Continue reading
  2. "Sloppy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Developer 

    I worked at Upside Business Travel full-time

    Pros

    No pros to mention here.

    Cons

    Disingenous, sloppy, horrible inexperienced management.

    Upside Business Travel2020-01-28

    Upside Business Travel Response

    February 4, 2020President

    I'm always interested in getting feedback and it would be very useful to get some more specifics about your concerns so that we can improve. Please share some additional details on Glassdoor or email me directly at s@upside.com with feedback or to setup a call.

    Continue reading
  3. "Start Up Life At its Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Upside Business Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upside is the kind of company I've been hoping to find for a long time. A company who cares about the full person behind the employee but also encourages hard work, truly extreme ownership, and flexibility. That flexibility and ownership can be hard to adjust to at first, but once you settle into it--its something that you can't imagine not having again. The team (both in general and in leadership) are among the smartest, most caring and most collaborative I have ever worked with and I am truly grateful to be a part of it!

    Cons

    While the work is rewarding and its very exciting, there is no getting around it, there is a lot and that can sometimes feel overwhelming. This is probably true of most, if not all, start up's but there are stressful days so being prepared for those helps.

    Upside Business Travel2019-09-11

    Upside Business Travel Response

    September 18, 2019President

    I am thrilled you are engaged and leveraging your time at Upside. You have hit on one of our key concepts of ownership! I am glad you feel empowered with responsibility and authority to get things done. There is a lot going on and we can all feel overwhelmed at times - don't hesitate to lean on my and the other leaders here to support you.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Startup with lots of resources but some bad turns along the way."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Upside Business Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked here for more than two years. Great PTO and benefits. Lots of access to travel industry and acquiring more knowledge everyday; if you want to be a subject matter expert in it you have a front row here to all the travel systems. Working and coding with the latest programming languages and tools. If you count all the snacks and free food as a plus. Transparent company for the most part, just lofty goals.

    Cons

    Too big for a young startup with young managers. Also the CFO wrote the last review; kind of shows how they aren't transparent about everything. Flight center who recently invested in Upside has too much power for not being the majority stakeholder but Upside could not survive without them. My advice is if you are looking for something long term more than 3 years, this is not it. They are happy if people just stay a year and keep hiring. They also say diversity is important to them but have not seen any major improvements last two years.

    Continue reading
    Upside Business Travel2019-08-19

    Upside Business Travel Response

    August 29, 2019President

    Thank you for the detailed feedback. I'm glad you are a fan of the benefits we offer and the ability to work with current technologies. We are transparent about the business and highly protective of our teams privacy - and Glassdoor does the same with the identity of people posting. We're totally good with that and I hope you are too. Our deal with Flight Center is an amazing opportunity to build the company and leverage the partnership to mutual ends. We've been working well together and both parties have done a nice job committing to making it a win-win - which requires each of us to learn and adapt. The average tenured employee for our company is currently 18 months which is decent given we are not yet 4 years old. We expect people to learn and grow here, and sometimes take that knowledge elsewhere in order to continue to level up. All that said, we're delighted to have people re-up and take on new challenges and stay as long as they are excited to stay. We've got a number of colleagues with three gold Upside love marks on their laptops already. I would appreciate the opportunity to chat 1:1 if you want to talk more about any of these things. Feel free to slack or email me s@upside.com.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Culture, Smart Hard-Working People, Exciting Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Counsel in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Upside Business Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best place I've ever worked. My prior employer was famous for its culture and leadership, and it didn't have what it claimed. Upside has that culture. Everyone supports the mission and each other. They value the whole you and appreciate your thoughts and ideas. It is a true team effort. Everyone there is nice and friendly and supportive. The leadership is open about initiatives and plans to the whole team. There is access to the leadership at every level. Great place to learn and grow.

    Cons

    You need to be able to think and act quickly as it is fast-paced and agile. The whole company is expected to help where they can and give suggestions. Start-up world can mean a lot of work at times.

    Continue reading
    Upside Business Travel2019-07-19

    Upside Business Travel Response

    July 28, 2019President

    Thanks for sharing your experience so far. As I've mentioned in other responses, everyone on the team owns the culture and how it changes and improves. We do move fast but we know this is a long game. Take advantage of PTO and let the leadership you work closely with know when you're feeling overwhelmed. The next few years are going to be transformational for our company and I'm glad you and the team are along for the ride!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (8)

    "People Ops pads numbers, no growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Other 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Upside Business Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great location and a lot of really good people in individual contributor roles.

    Cons

    Employees are scared to give management feedback because of several suspicious terminations - management told employees that the people who left "went to go spend more time with their family" but this was not true. The people responsible for making promotion decisions are not experienced enough to make those decisions. Several really problematic employees were never checked. Too many people have Get Out of Jail Free cards and they make it impossible to do your job. People Ops pads numbers on hiring and they try to figure out who left what reviews or NPS comments. Employees don't feel safe.

    Continue reading
    Upside Business Travel2019-07-22

    Upside Business Travel Response

    July 30, 2019President

    Thank you for sharing your perspective. We are hyper transparent about our numbers and when we make a mistake we correct and communicate about it. As for growth opportunities, we've promoted many people in the company and we work to find paths for leveling up for everyone. To your advice, we're not a culture that fires people because people complain about them. We'd prefer to work with each person to develop the capabilities to be their best selves and find ways to be effective. That goes for me as CEO where I need to improve, the rest of the leadership team, and everyone else at the company. We're investing in our leadership team across the board as the company moves to the next level. Our goal is to support our people - those that are learning the ropes as leaders as well as the individual contributors developing new skills.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "People Problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Upside Business Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was surrounded by smart people working together to solve complex problems in creative ways.

    Cons

    Upside has a problem retaining talent and has seen a mass exodus of employees in the past 6 months, particularly women and persons of color. I can't see this changing until they get serious about having an actual full-time, in-house People Ops department. It is difficult to believe they care about their people when they don't have anyone in the local office concerned with benefits, staff development, retention, etc and even the CPO is part-time and remote.

    Continue reading
    Upside Business Travel2019-06-25

    Upside Business Travel Response

    July 28, 2019President

    People leaving the team is always a bummer - especially since we have such great people. Each of the individual people that have moved on to new challenges over the last 6 months have a unique story that makes sense for each one of them. That said, we continue to make diversity and inclusion a major priority at the company and while we've made some progress, we have a lot of work left to do. As for People Ops, they are available 24/7 and provide a myriad of fast responses daily - in the office, on slack and live calls. As we expand the People Ops team, we'll keep your feedback in mind about more support. Finally, we are working to provide our leaders new tools so they are better equipped to provide support for their teams. As always, I'm interested in any additional info you are willing to share - just email me at s@upside.com.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Hands down the best place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Upside Business Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dynamic and exciting environment where you work alongside an incredibly talented group of individuals. There are no unnecessary processes or politics to hold you back. Management is super supportive and encourages you to take chances and be resilient to failure. Everyone at the company is as equally nice as they are talented and driven. I love coming to work each day.

    Cons

    This isn’t a con, but be sure you are ready for the roller coaster of a start-up. Things change quickly and there will be challenging days. Maintaining a ruthless prioritization of your own time and communicating it to your teammates is key.

    Continue reading
    Upside Business Travel2019-01-29

    Upside Business Travel Response

    February 7, 2019President

    Thanks for the awesome feedback! We're so glad you are happy here. Things DO change quickly here, if you have ideas on how we can better support you and the team as things change, I am all ears. Culture is a team sport - thank you for all your efforts making Upside an excellent place to work! - Scott

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Not a positive position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Upside Business Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of except poor management

    Cons

    Very bad management and a lot of nepotism exists here.

    Upside Business Travel2019-02-22

    Upside Business Travel Response

    February 28, 2019President

    I'd be incredibly grateful if you would share more, either here or privately (scott@upside.com), so that we can learn and improve. I'm really disappointed that your experience was so negative. As you know, I believe deeply in our cultural values as the key to our success. - Scott

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "ARC Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Upside Business Travel full-time

    Pros

    Leadership gave me courage to perform my job. To me, good pay and unlimited PTO were not the best reasons to work there. It's the freedom I got from the company.

    Cons

    Not so easy to fit in the startup environment when came from the traditional office environment.

    Continue reading
    Upside Business Travel2018-12-19

    Upside Business Travel Response

    December 20, 2018President

    Thank you for the feedback on your time at Upside. It's great to hear you felt you had the freedom and support you needed to do your best work. Thank you for your contributions. We wish you the best of luck in your new adventure! - Scott

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 60 reviews