Uptown Consulting Reviews | Glassdoor

Uptown Consulting Reviews

Updated May 8, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
66%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Uptown Consulting President Shaun Hogan (no image)
Shaun Hogan
17 Ratings
  1. "Wonderful Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Uptown Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Very fast paced environment but great.

    Uptown Consulting2018-05-09
  2. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Trainer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uptown Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership, management and sales training prepared me for my career. Without this training I wouldn't have qualified for my current dream job. I built lasting friendships here along with gaining a meaningful mentor in the CEO, Mr. Hogan.

    Cons

    Lots of hours, lots of travel and not a lot of upward mobility

    Advice to Management

    Find a national partner to provide the corporate structure and public support needed in today's market place.

    Uptown Consulting2017-11-16
  3. "just not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant Leader in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Uptown Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people and good times. I leanerd excellent sales techniques that are applicable anywhere and an excellent tool to have.

    Cons

    Door to door sales is tough. and not for everyone. The hours are grueling and tough to manage with a family. Job is not for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. Tough environment to succeed in but the success is there. Just have to grind it out. like you guys do.

    Uptown Consulting2016-05-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptown Consulting

    Pros

    It's nice working for a place where I control my work day. I'm outside, interacting with people and having fun while making money. Who wouldn't love that? Promotions into management are based off each person's performance so again, I'm in control of my future.

    Cons

    It's rapid growth into management. So of course I put in more hours than the 8-5 which is fine knowing it's working hard now to only play harder later.

    Advice to Management

    Keep giving coaching advice that pushes people to hit success they only ever dreamed of achieving.

    Uptown Consulting2015-07-09
  5. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Uptown Consulting

    Pros

    There are no pros to this comapny

    Cons

    Don't waste your time with them

    Uptown Consulting2015-05-19
  6. "Terrible company. It is a scam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uptown Consulting full-time

    Pros

    I really don't have anything good to say other than Saun is a good manager. The place overall is really bad.

    Cons

    You are 100% commissioned. It is a door to door sales job where you sell people At&t u-verse. You are required to dress business professional, no matter what. You are not compensated for anything that you do, and you have to use your car. Overall, the place is a big scam and you should stay away from there.

    Advice to Management

    Shaun is a good manager and I hope he someday leaves that place to do something big with his life.

    Uptown Consulting2015-05-14
  7. "Terrible! !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptown Consulting

    Pros

    It is a scam from day one. Why would i dress business professional to sell TV?

    Cons

    There is nothing good unless you make a sale.

    Advice to Management

    Quit using the word management when you are not really managing anything. What? Your customers? That is not true leadership because as an employee you are supposed to lead them to buy your product. Its a scam.

    Uptown Consulting2015-03-28
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uptown Consulting

    Pros

    Nice work environment, friendly employees

    Cons

    Scheduling is poor, have to work for dayd off

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you're doing

    Uptown Consulting2015-02-18
  9. "Uptown Consulting is a great management training program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptown Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My experience with Uptown Consulting thus far has been phenomenal. I came into the company straight out of college with no real world experience. Since I have been here I have learned a ton.

    Cons

    Due to this being an entry level position we tend to put in a few extra hours learning all the skills to move up. I sort of expected this coming out of college.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Shaun is great. He is very present with our team and really wants us to succeed.

    Uptown Consulting2015-01-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible Company --- Dupes employees to create "positive reviews" 100% Commision Door-to-door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    "manager In Training" in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Uptown Consulting

    Pros

    nothing. No pros at all. Unless you count basically giving your money to them. The "team" is every man/woman for themselves. "team outings" are on your dollar, so you better hope you make money that day.

    Cons

    no compensation to speak of. It is 100% commission. YOU pay for your gas, you use YOUR car, ARE NOT compensated for mileage. Nothing good. A couple of times I was in excruciating pain but was still required to come in and go DOOR-TO-DOOR for 8+ hours. Only later did I realize there was nothing motivating me to come in to work. What were they gonna do? Fire me? that wouldn't have affected my bank account at all because the money that was in there was due to me working my butt off.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a heart, put your money where your mouth is and actually start giving your employees a base pay, benefits, actual incentives to stay at your company. You need to stop treating people like a Pez Dispenser. Ridiculous.

    Uptown Consulting2015-01-12
Found 26 reviews