Urban Decay Cosmetics Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
38%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Urban Decay Cosmetics General Manager  Elaine Mac Neil   (no image)
Elaine Mac Neil
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and mentors fast growth gratis(in 58 reviews)

  • "Free makeup and compensation for gas(in 16 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Highly rewarding if your willing to work for it, and are able to receive constructive feedback and implement it!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing makeup, Close knit family atmosphere, Celebrates Personal Style, VERY generous with Gratis, Amazing training and cultivating growth withing company

    Cons

    Work/Life Balance, lack of support from retailers (Macy's)

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2020-02-16
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Either You're a Meangirl, or You're out."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trendy, Modern, Exciting and always something new and fresh to bring to the retail industry.

    Cons

    Micromanaging nightmare from upper management,.Promotion opportunities not based on talent/skill sets, merit, or overall business acumen, but favoritism. Upper Management creates stress themed bullying atmosphere and will bull doze anyone who stands in their way. Pays significantly less in market competition.

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2020-02-04
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Sloppy and un organized with Passive aggressive attitudes which made for a very hostile work place ."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay rate is good . Gratis program is nice . Dress code flexible .

    Cons

    Late paychecks. Corporate is never on the same page . When ever I asked about payroll or important things I was talked down to and corporate would get upset for just asking relevant questions. HR is a literal joke . They are all friends so nobody has your back . Out of date handbooks mixed with policy and procedure that were always changing , employees never knew how to do anything and because of that they got were penalized for it . Retail account manager takes her frustration out on team members and never had answers would refer us to HR who also never had answers . They you fear tactics instead of praise. Threatening to take away hours ,pay or job if sales weren’t met even though the business was doing bad all around .

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2020-02-10
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Worst job ever."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Decay Cosmetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can’t deny that the Naked Palettes are good

    Cons

    Obviously this company is tanking with layoffs and stores closing. Turns out having a tiny selection of items in a gigantic store and in multiple other stores within one mall isn’t profitable— especially when people don’t replenish naked palettes. Management at UD is very strange. It’s a stifling environment. You can’t even order paper clips without asking permission. The micromanaging is real and the vibe is very bad. Corporate is always mad about something and taking it out on the team. Promotions are also a very strange thing. You don’t apply for a higher position, you find out it was given to someone else. If you like structure you’re out of luck with UD. They don’t really have much of a “game plan” for things, from promotions, trainings and even basic sanitization. A lot of the products aren’t that great. “Pro” brushes are complete crap and get dented. Most of the products are “meh” beyond the shadows and sprays. The new launches are very teeny bopper. Customers are not very excited anymore. On the other hand the company loves to blow money on food, parties, and stuff like themed bathrooms. Upper people love to brag about how much things cost, like their chandeliers and huge plastic dogs. It’s out of touch. I have never seen waste from corporate at this level. Benefits are meh. Insurance is very expensive and the holidays are bare minimum. Compared to companies like Estée Lauder you’re getting thousands less a year in perks.

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2020-02-09
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Don’t work for them in Florida!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Coordinator in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learned a lot through my own experiences, made a lot of personal connections

    Cons

    Horrible hours, and hands down the worst management I’ve had the misfortune of dealing with. Upon getting hired, I had multiple industry friends try to talk me out of it due to their awful reputation here and I should have listened.

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2020-02-06
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Cool product, phony leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Newport Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome relationships with my peers. Car stock and ability to travel all over the country.

    Cons

    I worked under the Urban Decay Macy’s retailer and it was the most manipulative, pressured and over worked time of my life. I was paid 75% of going market salary and was one of the top executives at the time. I gave so much and received little credit, unacceptable pay and little time off work. When I spoke up regarding unprofessionalism and unacceptable behavior other leaders within the department would give me the cold shoulder and act like I was a problem. There is a lot of favoritism, greed and manipulation at the cost of the employees mental health and well being within this particular department of Urban Decay. I did not feel they welcomed an open door policy.

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2019-12-20
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Huge lay off rate/ worst company to work for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Chicago, IL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free makeup, discounted makeup, travel

    Cons

    Worked here for 4 years. Huge pressure on making goals and numbers with no recognition. The entire company is ran through favoritism. During my time I seen two huge lay offs in the company. They lay off all of their employees to afford their company parties twice a year. The worst company to work for.

    Urban Decay Cosmetics2019-12-31
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible People"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Education Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun brand, some travel, meet lots of people

    Cons

    Little pay, poor management, low morale

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2019-12-01
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Beware"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hell, MI
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gratis, relationships with team members and staff within retailers

    Cons

    Mismanagement of staffing, event planning, and 0/10 for transparency. Frivolous spending on launch parties for influencers and nothing close to these perks for freelancers, account managers, and other critical employees in the field sales team.

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2019-12-17
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Biggest Joke in Cosmetics"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Decay Cosmetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free makeup, travel, and corporate card for travel expenses.

    Cons

    Urban Decay is a company that runs on a mean girl mentality and based on favoritism. From the very beginning of working for UD it was crammed down our throats by the SVP that he was the only person in the company to know or rate our value and that sales were the root to any chance of moving up within the company or succeeding. Employees were instructed to never use verbiage like, 'great, awesome or incredible' to describe a sales day because according to higher ups you'll never achieve more than 'good.' It's like being brainwashed into never feeling any sense of self accomplishment unless corporate recognizes it. I watched team members being bullied and ostracized by upper management. Multiple employees were promised positions only to be told last minute that the positions didn't exist. The company is currently going through a restructure where they are eliminating over half of their employees and creating new positions that were supposed to be based on experience and merit. I am one of the lucky ones to have kept their job but from what I've seen, the people who have been chosen to stay with the company were picked solely on personal friendships and favoritism. Employees who had achieved much higher sales goals, earned accommodations with the company and literally gave their lives to this brand were passed over for petty friendships. I'm currently looking for another job because I don't trust what this company has in plan for the future. I've never seen a company emotionally manipulate their employees the way this one does. I'm thankful for my experience to help me get to the next step in my career but once I leave UD, I'll never look back.

    Continue reading
    Urban Decay Cosmetics2019-12-09
Found 216 reviews