Urban Outfitters Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Nov 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 192 of over 4,490 reviews

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters CEO Sheila Harrington (no image)
Sheila Harrington
218 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people I worked with were great and understanding(in 381 reviews)
  • "You will meet great coworkers here & make friends that also make you want to stay(in 232 reviews)
  • "Fun work environment and coworkers(in 125 reviews)
  • "Benefits are good and dress code is good(in 87 reviews)
  • "Great team to work with and I had a manager I enjoyed who invested in my growth.(in 82 reviews)
Cons
  • "Pay is low and you feel like a second rate employee if you don't work at the philly campus(in 432 reviews)
  • "and poor management(in 337 reviews)
  • "The department managers don't ever help with floor maintenance and delegate tasks without knowledge of time(in 208 reviews)
  • "We were all on zero hours contracts.The hours were long and we were never given rewards or praise.(in 194 reviews)
  • "The cons are that your talents are unrecognized and their openness becomes a problem when favoritism is a big part of everything.(in 95 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Urban Outfitters and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Career

    Oct 3, 2021 - Men's Department Manager in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very relaxed work environment. Management was great.

    Cons

    Long hours and lack of communication with corporate.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good summer job

    Nov 16, 2021 - N/A in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great part-time job for the summer, always busy

    Cons

    Long hours, fitting rooms suck

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    A college student job

    Oct 27, 2021 - Esthetician in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discount on clothes and home decor

    Cons

    Long hours and lots of call outs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Temporary Employee, less than 1 year

    Another warehouse that just doesn't care about its workers

    Oct 30, 2021 - Warehouse Worker in Reno, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Personally liked being constantly working, time went by faster other warehouse workers were for the most part friendly tasks are pretty simple working alone for long periods of time This is a good job for a young person just needing a job for a bit

    Cons

    Wages are ok for someone who is young and doesn't have many responsibilities, but if you have to support a family the pay here is a joke. I saw some employees being abused, especially older workers have to be physically able to walk and stand for very long hours...developed blisters, and bruises on legs from walking (and even running) so much if you are a social person this job is probably not for you no creative or stimulating activities not meaningful. Pretty much just a slave for a bunch of entitled rich kids. I was harassed by a supervisor (kept asking me for my number, out on dates) I finally told him to leave me alone... A couple days later I was let go, with no warning. I wrote HR about the experience and never heard anything back.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Bootcamp

    Oct 6, 2021 - Production in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Talented and hard working team. Good learning experience

    Cons

    Long hours and low pay. Not clear direction from management. A lot of meetings and opinions

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not the Best Job

    Sep 23, 2021 - Sales Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    40% discount on all clothes, kind coworkers, simple job

    Cons

    Poor management, lack of communication among workers, long hours with limited direction

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Sales Associate Pay Rate

    Aug 16, 2021 - Sales Associate in White Plains, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, lots to learn, good first retail job experience!

    Cons

    shifts can consist of long hours especially during the days we received shipment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    ok

    Aug 29, 2021 - Assistant Buyer in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    brand recognition, discount, creative, good food, benefits good (401k)

    Cons

    long hours, work life balance is tricky

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Pretty Good

    Aug 12, 2021 - Buying Operations Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dogs and beautiful campus. i like the cafeteria and the people i work with a lot. lots of creativity! very cool place

    Cons

    long hours not a lot of growth. there is also not a ton of training offered when you first start

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    I like my job

    Aug 4, 2021 - Associate Knitter in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I like working with every brand under the URBN umbrella.

    Cons

    Long hours during peak sweater seasons. All brands have sketch reviews in same week.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 192 Reviews

Popular Careers with Urban Outfitters Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Urban Outfitters? Share Your Experiences

or