Usability Sciences Corp Reviews | Glassdoor

Usability Sciences Corp Reviews

Updated Sep 8, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Usability Sciences Corp President Jeff Schueler (no image)
Jeff Schueler
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible training grounds, best in class for evaluative research methods"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Usability Sciences Corp full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You'll be hard pressed to find another company that affords it's researchers the opportunity to gain massive amounts of experience in a very short amount of time. On average, researchers at Usability Sciences complete 15-20 studies a year, which is dramatically higher than that of competitors or client-side companies. This makes the company a fantastic place to start your career in UX Research. You'll get exposure to a broad variety of industries, working with Fortune 500 clients on a regular basis. The majority of the projects are evaluative tests of websites, though clients occasionally commission the company to do some generative/discovery work. You will primarily be testing desktop sites, but mobile and field research are also in the mix. Usability Sciences has a rock solid project process that has been delivering top quality results to customers for decades and once you master this process, you will find your skills are VERY transferable and in high demand. Lastly, the environment is extremely friendly and you'll feel like part of a family. The owners are great people that genuinely care for their employees. Work life balance is excellent and enjoyed by all.

    Cons

    Your experience will be very focused on evaluative methods; also, you'll have limited visibility into the complex challenges that clients deal with, both from a design and business perspective. To broaden your skills, you will need client-side experience. Salaries are lower than you'll find at large companies, but the volume and quality of research experience gained will really serve you well in your career. Some complain that management is set in their ways, however, I found that they open to good ideas -- individuals that present creative and clearly outlined ideas will find support. Over the years, numerous researchers have complained that it is difficult to progress in the company, but again, if you are sharp and driven, you will advance in your career and can even craft your own role once you start to outgrow the standard titles. You will have to push for this.

    Usability Sciences Corp2017-09-09
  2. "Great company that cares about its people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Usability Sciences Corp full-time

    Pros

    Does everything possible to help employees.

    Cons

    Does not always make the best business decisions. Listened to a single voice that was not helping to innovate and

    Continue reading
    Usability Sciences Corp2017-04-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Usability Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior User Experience Analyst & Consultant in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Usability Sciences Corp for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Focused, masterful, process oriented, customer satisfaction

    Cons

    It's difficult to think of any cons

    Continue reading
    Usability Sciences Corp2016-09-27
  4. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Contract in Irving, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Usability Sciences Corp

    Pros

    I have really enjoyed working for Usability Sciences Corp. The training I received helped me get up and running quickly. The people are amazing and it is very family oriented feeling.

    Cons

    I didn't take the recruiting position when it became available. I would have loved to have stayed on but was not ready for a full time position.

    Usability Sciences Corp2016-03-22
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Usability Sciences Corp full-time

    Pros

    The owners care and the environment was professional. It was a very corporate feel for a small/medium company. I enjoyed working here. I have nothing but respect for the CEO Jeff Schueler.

    Cons

    Your availability for advancement is limited unless you have a bachelors or masters degree.

    Usability Sciences Corp2015-11-02
  6. "Sales Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Usability Sciences Corp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, good work/life balance

    Cons

    No opportunity to grow, mom and pop outlook, very little proprietary, changing market

    Continue reading
    Usability Sciences Corp2015-06-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to get started!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Usability Sciences Corp

    Pros

    Flexibility in hours, friendly & laid back environment, high integrity in their dealings.

    Cons

    A bit slow to adopt technology best practices, lower salaries than usual for certain skill sets.

    Continue reading
    Usability Sciences Corp2015-03-05
  8. "Great people and great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Usability Sciences Corp

    Pros

    Small enough to build great relationships, a great company.

    Cons

    Lack of robust training during the on-boarding process.

    Usability Sciences Corp2014-10-29
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Usability Sciences Corp full-time

    Pros

    Professional laid back corporate environment. Worked here for several years. I have the highest respect for the owner.

    Cons

    I didn't have any. Would work here again.

    Usability Sciences Corp2014-03-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic place to gain experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Usability Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Usability Sciences Corp full-time

    Pros

    The company takes care of their employees. Sodas, coffee, and snacks are all provided. Fantastic group of people to work with.

    Cons

    Below average pay. Very demanding workload.

    Continue reading
    Usability Sciences Corp2013-12-07
Found 16 reviews