Ustream Reviews | Glassdoor

Ustream Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Ustream Founder & CEO       Brad Hunstable (no image)
Brad Hunstable
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Big ideas" come exclusively from the upper management(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "I would work for Ustream again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ustream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ustream is in a very exciting industry (video), there are a lot of interesting colleagues and partners that you can learn a lot from and most of them are quite fun too. The products and technology are exceptional and the office location is superb too (right next to the Caltrain terminal). The company has quite reasonable benefits and if you go to work there with the right mindset you can learn a lot and advance your career.

    Cons

    While I got a lot out of my tenure there I always felt that my salary was lacking behind my improved skills, let alone the inflating Bay Area standards. Eventually they offered me an OK raise but by that time I was ready to take a much more lucrative offer. Ustream was more fun but hey I got a rent to pay.

    Continue reading
    Ustream2015-08-13
  2. "Sales Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ustream full-time

    Pros

    Easy hiring process, attainable quotas, relaxed work environment, no helicopter management styles, other

    Cons

    Dishonesty from management, not fully transparent with details about things, other

    Ustream2018-09-13
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Ustream was fun before IBM takeover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Quality Assurance Agent in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ustream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team! Fun job! Got to learn about streaming, IBM, and Watson with more!

    Cons

    No clear goals. No clear promotion system. Hours can be rough.

    Ustream2018-05-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Forward-Thinking Start-Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ustream full-time

    Pros

    * Trust in employees * Freedom to try new ideas and approaches to securing business * Fearlessly pushed boundaries of technology

    Cons

    * The only cons then were the lack of resources to really take livestreaming to the next level. Livestreaming as it is today owes a lot to the pioneering work that Ustream did.

    Ustream2017-09-25
  6. "CSM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ustream full-time

    Pros

    Very interesting and cutting edge industry Flexible schedule, able to telecommute

    Cons

    Large wage inequality No opportunity for training or education

    Ustream2016-01-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to start a career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Professional in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ustream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The environment is very friendly and the teams are highly talented. Snack bar and liquor bar make this place awesome. Catered lunches and funny Marketing team made my stay worth while.

    Cons

    Too many mistakes in transitional decisions. Not challenging. Vision isn't emphasized. ALL employees should be rewarded occasionally. Many employees overlooked for their efforts in this company!

    Continue reading
    Ustream2015-10-06
  8. Helpful (2)

    "great people, cool technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ustream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - people in the office are really great - our processes and the leads are getting much better - the new products are easier to sale - great support from the HU engineering team

    Cons

    - office is not ideal for people using bart - achieving our quotas can be sometimes challenging - turnover in the sales team

    Continue reading
    Ustream2015-08-13
  9. Helpful (10)

    "I liked the community at Ustream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Success in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ustream

    Pros

    The new products were really great. The CS team had good feedback from the customers, our performance improved a lot. Communication with the HU teams became quite smoothly. Regular town halls, update from the different teams, the company vision is communicated by the management.

    Cons

    No real cons. Fast pace, quick moving. Sometimes too fast. You have to be very flexible. I had to answer a lot of customer support ticket requests.

    Continue reading
    Ustream2015-07-16
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Quite OK overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Success Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ustream for more than a year

    Pros

    Company has gotten more engaged with its customers and markets, there have been less ad hoc product direction or sudden strategy shifts than before. Resources are being spent more wisely and some recent changes in management had a positive result on my team. The platform works great for the most part and customers are pretty pleased.

    Cons

    Office is right next to Caltrain, great if you do Caltrain but sucks if you ride BART like I do. Pay raises are hard to earn, you need to really stand out and lobby hard to get one.

    Continue reading
    Ustream2015-07-16
  11. Helpful (8)

    "Marketing team rocks <3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ustream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the new products. We created a pretty great marketing team. We improved a lot in making data driven decisions. The office is really awesome.

    Cons

    Sometimes too fast, there are many challenges. Pay raises are hard to earn. Sometimes the dogs in the office can be distracting.

    Continue reading
    Ustream2015-07-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 66 reviews