Utah Department of Technology Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Utah Department of Technology Services Reviews

Updated Apr 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Utah Department of Technology Services CIO and Executive Director Michael Hussey
Michael Hussey
4 Ratings
  1. "Department of Technology Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Analyst II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Utah Department of Technology Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable job position, paid leave and sick, health insurance. Employees are very nice to work with. The department does what it can to ensure job satisfaction. Work life balance is a huge factor to work here.

    Cons

    The only downside that know of and the reason that I and others have left is that the paid tends to be lower than the private sector and advances are difficult to get.

    Continue reading
    Utah Department of Technology Services2018-10-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "OMG DTS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Drone in Salt Lake City, UT
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Utah Department of Technology Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's a paycheck!

    Cons

    DTS is a middle manager bloated burden on the taxpayers. If you want 4 managers that don't know what you do or how you do it, then work for DTS. And you can be let go if someone doesn't like what you said about them. DTS is "at will" jobs. Basically zero job security. Everyday your goal is to stay under the radar and secretly do the work that actually needs done, and keep the work to yourself as much as possible or it will never be deployed to production. Pay is a bit low.

    Continue reading
    Utah Department of Technology Services2019-04-19
  3. "DTS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Utah Department of Technology Services

    Pros

    Friendly work environment. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Typical waste in government work. Low pay for qualifications.

    Continue reading
    Utah Department of Technology Services2018-06-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Low compensation and inexperienced CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Utah Department of Technology Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Time off. Location. Employees hired before 2014 have great retirement.

    Cons

    CEO is very inexperienced and personal friend of Governor Herbert.

    Continue reading
    Utah Department of Technology Services2018-01-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Technical Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Utah Department of Technology Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Benefits -Time off -12 Government holidays/year -Relatively stress-free -Almost impossible to be let go -Very few supervisors will micro-manage

    Cons

    -Pay -Promotions have certain thresholds you will either get 5% increases or up to the minimum for the title range -No raises -You will see lots of incompetent workers getting paid more because they have been around for 10's of years -Management opportunities are based upon the following order even though they will never admit to it. All upper management will fit this criteria. Age Seniority Knowledge/Skill - In most cases this is really not a consideration -Almost impossible to be let go (I added this in pros and cons since obviously if you are one of the few that do lots of work getting anyone that doesn't do their job in trouble is impossible unless you can prove gross negligence.)

    Continue reading
    Utah Department of Technology Services2017-11-06
  6. "IT Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Utah Department of Technology Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great stability with good support.

    Cons

    Too many projects expected to managed at any given time.

    Continue reading
    Utah Department of Technology Services2017-07-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Utah Department of Technology Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working 4 x 10 was awesome. The office was quiet, great view of the capitol, work was decently interesting. Benefits were acceptable. Some of the people were nice.

    Cons

    The sheer amount of waste that occurs here is nauseating. The first form of waste is in the form of talent. There are enormously talented folks working here who have been lulled into a false sense of security. There was one guy in particular who I asked, "Why do you stay here when you could get paid near triple in the private sector?" His response was that during the recession, no one in the office lost their jobs, so he's willing to accept the loss in pay in exchange for security. An extension of that waste is in keeping people around who are astoundingly terrible, both as employees and people. I had a supervisor who would assign projects, then entirely redo the projects when we submitted them. I was consistently told the work I did was acceptable, only to find my supervisor had gone through and overhauled the entire project independent of anyone else. That's an enormous waste of resources and brings into question why they hired me to begin with if she was competent enough to do the work herself. She was a severely passive aggressive communicator, someone who had been in the same piddly role for several years with no intention of leaving; she was resting on her laurels. When I asked questions about assignments, I was told, "Figure it out." You don't want to work around those types. This type of energy drain is bad for an office, but the state wont reconcile that. The other problem was the actual director of this 15-person shop never being around. Constantly in meetings, traveling, etc. So I had no one to really mentor me as an entry-level employee. I was never offered any performance feedback. In the end, it never felt like there was any direction for this office. There was no vision. The people working there had no ambition, no goals. The department itself has no ambition, no goals. It was refreshing to move to a private organization that not only paid more, but had energy, vision, aspirations, and invested in its employees.

    Utah Department of Technology Services2016-12-08
  8. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Analyst III in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Utah Department of Technology Services

    Pros

    The benefits are great. I have a lot of flexibility as well. Lots of opportunity for promotion for those who want it.

    Cons

    There are not enough employees to be able to accomplish what needs to be done. Lower wages

    Continue reading
    Utah Department of Technology Services2016-06-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Utah Department of Technology Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They let their employees work 4 days a week for 10 hours each day. I really liked having that flexibility, and longer weekends. Benefits were really good. One of the few that still offer a pension (though it has been reduced fairly consistently over the last few years for new employees).

    Cons

    Management was mediocre. Would often assign projects that never got reviewed and gave the impression that no work was important. Change is almost impossible because no one is ever willing to admit that they may have been wrong or that there could be improvements to existing systems. A lot of the emplolyees are Schedule B making it more difficult to fire employees which caused lower performance. No one felt any need to do their job well because they knew they wouldn't get fired for doing poorly.

    Continue reading
    Utah Department of Technology Services2016-05-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Aspire to be outdated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Analyst II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Utah Department of Technology Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pension (after 25 years of soul crushing drama). It's a perfect gig for anyone who doesn't like to deal with those pesky updates to technology more than once every 10 years. It's also great for those with little discernible talent, vision, or unique experience which might otherwise get in the way of doing whatever they are told to do by those with distinctively less ability but considerably more ambition. A prospective employee can expect to: * Engage in high school level gossip * Realize that they never have to try again * Search for their own clique with whom they will spend 8 hours a day gossiping about the clique four cubicles away * Realize they had never truly understood the word "bureaucracy" before * Complain about and demean their boss when said boss is in a meeting * Praise their boss when said boss is speaking to them directly * Imagine what it would have been like to travel the world instead of settling for a state job * Engage in endless, lively meetings about minutiae * Gloss over many important aspects of a project in meetings * Eat pale hotdogs at every office potluck * Code sometimes * Look over their shoulder to make sure no one sees what they are really doing on the internet * Blame someone else for their own incompetence * Fret over the poor restroom ventilation * Learn to sleep upright * Engage in what can only be called technological archaeology * And so much more

    Cons

    * Occasionally one is expected to meet a deadline * The outside world changes so fast * Bedsores from office chairs * Having to keep up with the latest pseudo-philosophical pseudo-management techniques

    Continue reading
    Utah Department of Technology Services2016-03-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 21 reviews