Utah Valley University Reviews | Glassdoor

Utah Valley University Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 233 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Utah Valley University CEO Astrid S. Tuminez
Astrid S. Tuminez
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Super nice to work on campus with lots of great people(in 14 reviews)

  • "Extremely flexible hours (I worked as a math tutor)(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Stuck in a part-time position despite holding a PhD and applying for several full time positions(in 12 reviews)

  • "we can only be part time employees it it the biggest issue(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very pleased with my experience here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Office Assistant in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Utah Valley University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours Friendly employees and managers Fun activities throughout the semester Easy workload Time to complete homework and study

    Cons

    There have been no cons working in my position as an office assistant

    Utah Valley University2019-04-22
  2. "Terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director in Orem, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Utah Valley University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Generous paid vacation and sick leave

    Cons

    Management is not supportive and doesn't listen to the individuals that report to them. Not a progressive work environment. Poor onboarding. Pay is lower than industry standards. Employees are expected to "do more with less," but aren't appreciated or recognized for their efforts.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees about what works. Find more appropriate people for your management teams

    Utah Valley University2019-04-19
  3. "Director of design -Athletics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Utah Valley University

      Pros

      Great staff, fun people, flexible hours

      Cons

      Not enough money to support full time positions

      Advice to Management

      Invest in people.

      Utah Valley University2019-04-15
    • "UVU Company Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Finance Technician 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Utah Valley University full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Team oriented atmosphere amongst departments

      Cons

      Slow season during middle of semester.

      Utah Valley University2019-03-11
    • "Great Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Auditor 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Utah Valley University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The people you get to work with are great. They work with your school schedule.

      Cons

      Honestly it is a great place to work.

      Utah Valley University2019-03-11
    • "Fantastic job, Fantastic people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - TypeWell Transcriber 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Utah Valley University part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Flexible - work with your schedule Always interesting Good pay Great coworkers

      Cons

      Mentally taxing Can be extremely stressful at times

      Utah Valley University2019-02-22
    • "UVU"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT

        I have been working at Utah Valley University full-time

        Pros

        Excellent benefits package and tuition coverage

        Cons

        More diversity would be welcomed.

        Advice to Management

        Make your emp;oyees feel valued.

        Utah Valley University2019-03-06
      • "Great atmosphere"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Utah Valley University

          Pros

          Stable employment, good benefits, convenient

          Cons

          Pay is low, little room For growth

          Advice to Management

          Get rid of good ole boys clubs

          Utah Valley University2019-02-27
        • "Great benefits"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Coordinator in Orem, UT

            I have been working at Utah Valley University full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            I had a great boss and great benefits.

            Cons

            Pay raises were small

            Utah Valley University2019-02-20
          • "Not a bad place to work"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Physics Research Assistant in Orem, UT
            Recommends
            Neutral Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I have been working at Utah Valley University part-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            The atmosphere is fairly laid back. There are a lot of opportunities to do research for student here.

            Cons

            The pay is not amazing, if you get any money at all. Physics department seems to not get a ton of attention by upper management.

            Utah Valley University2019-02-14
          Found 233 reviews