Cover image for VA Health
Logo
Is this your company?

VA Health

Add a Review

VA Health Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Nov 30, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 596 of over 599 reviews
3.9
71% Recommend to a Friend
VA Health Secretary of Veterans Affairs Eric K. Shinseki
67% Approve of CEO

Found 69 of over 599 reviews

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
VA Health Secretary of Veterans Affairs Eric K. Shinseki
Eric K. Shinseki
133 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "It's federal government so there are great benefits and it's more stable than many private organizations.(in 90 reviews)
  • "Pay was good and that was all(in 30 reviews)
  • "stable job security(in 17 reviews)
  • "I was able to go to my appointments without havimg to reauest time off or leave.(in 14 reviews)
  • "The staff is great, the most compassionate crew I ever had the pleasure to work with.(in 13 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of VA Health and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Job Security has it downside, too

    Feb 27, 2010 - Facilities Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are great and the mid-level managers were exceptional at taking time to learn about their employees unique situations.

    Cons

    The job security within the system is a drawback in my opinion. It breeds complacency when an employee can do sub-par work and just be transferred to a different department instead of being fired for not producing adequate results

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Health Science Specialist

    Nov 14, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pension and great benefits. Industry recognized research and superior academic affiliations.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy and limited opportunities for non PhD/MD to lead research.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the VA Health team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Biomedical Engineer

    Aug 19, 2015 - Biomedical Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This place was great to start out at because I have never been over managed or gotten conflicting direction. As long as I get the work done, I am largely left alone. Steady work Great health benefits Great retirement options Relaxed work atmosphere Easy to take vacation time Friendly co-workers

    Cons

    Constant staffing issues Beurocracy Not a lot of advancement potential without having to move Very vague job description means you could be doing anything from purchasing paperwork to battery replacements.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Ok for government work

    Aug 18, 2015 -  in Roseburg, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's federal government so there are great benefits and it's more stable than many private organizations.

    Cons

    Hard to make influential changes in the organization. Red tape everywhere you turn, and its chronically understaffed because of the higher turnover rate.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Great experience

    Sep 27, 2020 - Student Physical Therapist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ample resources for patients Great benefits for workers

    Cons

    Little diversity within patient population

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Benefits

    Sep 9, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Benefits are great. Retirement, Holiday Pay.

    Cons

    Lower wages than private sector

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work!

    Aug 23, 2022 - Food Service Worker III in Leavenworth, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay very well for the work you are doing. The benefits are great for full time employees. The workload is very manageable. Yet I was never bored. Great PTO and retirement programs. Paid sick time. All time accrued is use it or lose it. So you have to take off work and get paid. Or you will just lose the hours. So you get plenty of vacation time. I wish I never had to leave. My truck broke down around the time I moved 20 miles away. I was not able to hold on to my employment unfortunately.

    Cons

    When someone gets a full time position they are usually there for life. So not many opportunities to move up. Benefits are expensive for part time employees. Some of the workers try to get out of work and make you do their jobs. That being said I think these same cons apply to every almost kitchen in America. So i can’t hold it against the company or system as a whole.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great benefits, but pay could be better

    Jun 6, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and feeling that what you do matters a lot

    Cons

    Pay should be better and vacation time for everyone in direct patient care should be the same what nurses get

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Managers at Veterans Administration

    Jul 20, 2014 - Dialysis in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, personal growth, and work life balance. The VA has many opportunities for their employees. As a manager, I did not have to work from home which increased my work/life balance. The benefits of the Veterans Administration are great. Some of the best for Healthcare.

    Cons

    Managers do not have flexibility in their schedule although they are salaried.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    VHA

    Mar 15, 2021 - Social Worker in Battle Creek, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are great. Federal holidays are given.

    Cons

    Very specified roles. Not much flexibility.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 69 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with VA Health Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at VA Health? Share Your Experiences

VA Health logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

VA Health Photos

+ Add Photo
VA Health photo of: The Department of Veterans Affairs is located at Vermont Avenue and I Street, NW, in downtown Washington, DC  (Photo thanks to Flickr user StreetsofWashington, available under by-nc v2.0)
VA Health photo of: VA
VA Health photo of: Front of the VA Palo Alto
VA Health photo of: Veterans Affairs  (Photo thanks to Flickr user Danny McL, available under by-nc-nd v2.0)
VA Health photo of: Lafayette Building. It's now used by the Department of Veteran Affairs and is a National Historic Landmark. (Photo thanks to Flickr user NCinDC, available under by-nd v2.0

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

VA Health Job Seekers Also Viewed

US Department of Veterans Affairs Logo
US Department of Veterans Affairs

3.7

8,385 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 599 VA Health reviews submitted anonymously by VA Health employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if VA Health is right for you.