VAM USA Reviews | Glassdoor

VAM USA Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great Management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QC Inspector in Youngstown, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VAM USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management understands the processes and what it takes to perform them.

    Cons

    12 Hr. Shifts, which is typical for the industry, but hard on family life.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great culture! You truly help employees want to excel and perform their best!

    VAM USA2019-07-04
  2. "QUALITY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Quality 

    I have been working at VAM USA full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work

    Cons

    Just short hours and long days

    VAM USA2019-09-05
  3. "Quality Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineering Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at VAM USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Minimal supervision and creative freedom regarding projects, small workforce company

    Cons

    IT support could use a hand

    VAM USA2019-06-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Small company benefits, large company problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at VAM USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good compensation Good work and life balance

    Cons

    Poor training and introduction for new engineers, sink or swim/learn on the fly. Top positions are reserved for native French or French speakers. Not a lot of ownership of mistakes and self-initiative in solving problems

    Advice to Management

    Create a training system for new employees and further empower quality initiatives and behavior

    VAM USA2018-12-18
  5. "Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at VAM USA

    Pros

    good benefits, positive people

    Cons

    senior management in R&D could use improving

    VAM USA2018-12-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "R&D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at VAM USA full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay Benefits are good Laid back work environment

    Cons

    Management If you're not a "yes man" you don't matter No consistency with anything No accountability Micromanaged

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of Grimm

    VAM USA2018-11-15
  7. "Do not work in R&D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at VAM USA full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits Vacation time Yearly bonus Good place to pass the time and retire Laid back They always buy food

    Cons

    If you want a promotion you best be friends with leads and managers to get ahead Lots of favoritism and nepotism especially in the prototyping dept People are leveled up and do not know how to perform the job tasks

    Advice to Management

    Hope fully Philippe crouzet will clean house one day

    VAM USA2018-10-20
  8. "VAM USA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at VAM USA full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed my time with VAM USA up until the time of the merger with Grant Prideco. I hated to leave what I enjoyed.

    Cons

    Once the merger took place, veteran VAM USA employees were put on the back burner. Opportunities for advancement ceased except for GP. HR and key management is a joke.

    Advice to Management

    Get a hearing aid or replace the batteries. Remove yourself from the clique and be unbiased.

    VAM USA2018-07-11
  9. "Strange company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at VAM USA full-time

    Pros

    The pay is good.

    Cons

    There is a huge glass ceiling between white and other minority groups. Benefits aren’t that great. No life balance. One is expected to work like a dog. Their training programs are a joke. My manager slammed the door in my face and I thought he was going to break my nose.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with respect and dignity.

    VAM USA2018-02-28
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at VAM USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company with good overall benefit

    Cons

    Don't work in Houston R&D

    Advice to Management

    Look at your R&D Managment

    VAM USA2017-08-31
Found 27 reviews