KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

VCE

Engaged Employer

VCE

Add a Review

VCE Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Apr 16, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 of over 369 reviews

3.2
44%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
VCE CEO Praveen Akkiraju
Praveen Akkiraju
170 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

470

64 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good people and teams together(in 37 reviews)
  • "Benefits are good and the people are the BEST!(in 30 reviews)
  • "Good pay, was big 'start up' in the beginning (2010) owned by EMC/VMware & Cisco now moving fast into the EMC organization.(in 12 reviews)
  • "Pay good salaries for the right people.(in 11 reviews)
  • "Great technology with right differentiation(in 10 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Asking to be destroyed by the competition

    Aug 27, 2015 - Senior Product Manager in Chandler, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay and benefits and work from home sometimes

    Cons

    Zero work life balance and unless you specifically came from EMC you are never getting promoted. My manager actually told me to GFY when I said I needed a few more vacation days.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Mixed bag, could be better

    Oct 13, 2015 - Solutions Architect in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great for learning across different technologies (on the job) Intelligent peers Lots of travel Flexible working

    Cons

    Resource management is non-existent No overtime Work/life balance problems

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Once a great place to work

    May 12, 2016 -  in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some good folks there. They like to pretend they're a startup which means that they do get things done faster than some other similar-sized companies. It was easier to pretend when there were only 600 of us. Can work remotely

    Cons

    Their benefits used to be world class. Then with EMC, they got a bit worse. Now with Dell Tech, they'll likely be worse still. Long hours are typical. Work/life balance is not great. Structure is pretty management heavy now. It is pretty political.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Flexible schedule

    Oct 5, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can be flexible within reason for work/life balance. Working from home is very common.

    Cons

    None so far. I will always welcome more money.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Toxic workplace with little time left for personal life

    Dec 11, 2014 - Associate VArchitect in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exposure to the cutting edge technology and trends, good training. Good money if you're in sales or Sr. positions.

    Cons

    Egocentric middle management with little respect for others, as well as anything but their personal career benefit. Absolutely destructive work/life balance - you get very little of the latter and little appreciation for the former.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    VCE has been to me and my career

    Apr 12, 2012 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work/life balance is good

    Cons

    Pay is light compared to similar positions in the industry

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Pleasant, but no growth unless at HQ. This is NOT a start-up company.

    Jul 15, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leading-edge Converged Infrastructure technology and vision.

    Cons

    Terrible work/life balance (expect 80-hour work weeks). Extremely limited job growth unless in Richardson (HQ). Bound by parent companies (primarily EMC). Proceed with caution before signing on.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0