VIPKID Reviews | Glassdoor

VIPKID Reviews

Updated August 16, 2018
504 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
VIPKID Co-Founder and CEO Cindy Mi
Cindy Mi
350 Ratings

504 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (121)

    "Perfect Job For Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Major Course Teacher in Mineville, NY
    Current Employee - Major Course Teacher in Mineville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKID part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Easy to do from home. No commute, no child care, no savvy business clothes, no commuting in the snow, and the best part is every day is "bring your cat to work day!" My cat, Bootsie, loves my job as much as I do! No kidding, I've had parents post reviews on my cat! The kids love it! Payment is once a month. I don't mind that because then it its a big check. You know what to expect and money is in the account on time. I love the children I teach. It is amazing how close you get to the family from the other side of the world!

    Cons

    You'll read that there is not enough work. I don't think that is accurate. I've been with VIPKID going on six months. My first contract is at an end. My first month I made $55.00. The next month I more than doubled that, and every month after has been going higher and higher. I am now teaching about five hours a day and making very good money for wearing pajama bottoms and an orange t-shirt. My monthly is in the four figure range. The thing is you have to give the parents a reason to schedule with you. Sitting around waiting for bookings to come is not good. You won't get far teaching only trial students; although, trial students become regular students and they will remember your smiling face. The trick to getting more bookings is to take advantages of their certifications in different areas. In November I got certified to do the major courses and my schedule is now completely and totally packed. I literally have a very full schedule, teaching around eleven classes a day. You hear a lot of complaints about missing classes. When you teach, even at a school, attendance is important. As far as online schools go, VIPKID is the most liberal. I could have worked with DaDaAbc and made a lot more money. Their attendance policy is HORRENDOUS! You are locked into a schedule that will not vary, cannot travel. I have two homes and I could only teach at one. My travel was stopped. VIPKID encourages their teachers to live a life. Its great stories for the kids. When I am at my place in Brooklyn, they are pretty amazed to see NYC. My students get to see a variety of things, which VIPKID was pretty smart to encourage their teachers to live a life.

    Advice to Management

    I have never had a problem with management. They encourage teachers to have "Meet Ups" and network. I'm going to my first one on Friday. Management offers advancement opportunities and the ability to get more certifications, which equates to more money. That is a good thing. The one negative thing you always hear about is the recruitment process. They now have meet ups in the big cities where prospective teachers can do face to face meetings. My experience was not bad, it wasn't easy either, but I held steady, went through the steps and started working. However, compared to the interview process I had with DaDaAbc (and that is a fine program too), VIPKID was a cake walk! Since you are dealing with an employer thousands of miles away, do you really think it would be flawless? I've seen positive changes since I've been here. I really love the management encourages their teachers to be silly! The other schools limit interaction and NO silliness. For a great work environment, I'm very ok with a little less in pay if I am happy, can travel, and interact with the kids. I like they use real teachers to do your evaluations. It all boils down to this: there are other schools out there that pay even more. To me, it is not worth the hassle. I've yet to find a person who got rich teaching, so happiness and job satisfaction should be your guiding principle, and I'm very happy where I am now.

    VIPKID Response

    Jan 4, 2018 – Program Manager

    We are honored that you love using our platform! Thank you so much!


  2. "Fun Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKID part-time

    Pros

    It’s great you can make your own schedule.

    Cons

    The hours can be difficult.

    VIPKID Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    We are honored that you love using our platform! Thank you so much!

  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Flexibility, pay, working with the kids

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    VIPKID Response

    Aug 17, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    We’re glad you are enjoying yourself! Thanks for your comments!


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Contract renewal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Richmond, IN
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Richmond, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at VIPKID (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This is an awesome opportunity for teaching one-on-one. You build lasting relationships with your students.

    Cons

    Upon contract review, it was determined I had too many cancellations and it "poorly affected the students". How could this be possible? I provided ample documentation for each absence. I was a 5 apple teacher (I never received less than top reviews) with amazing parent feedback. When I asked for clarification as to how I poorly affected the students, the company could not provide reasoning. This was very discouraging because I had built a longstanding relationship with my students and families.

    Advice to Management

    If you are not going to renew a contract, please provide specific reasons. Blanket statements about affecting the students without examples does not clarify or give proper reasoning.

    VIPKID Response

    Aug 17, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    We emphasize that we are sorry to hear of some of the negative points that you touched upon in your post but have been very glad to receive the feedback. We would relish the opportunity to discuss... More


  5. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher
    Current Employee - Teacher
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKID part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay, make your own schedule, no minimum or maximum hours so you truly decide how often you work. Great kids, cultural learning experience.

    Cons

    No benefits due to status as a contractor

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    VIPKID Response

    Aug 17, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    We are very glad that you’re having such a good time teaching with VIPKID!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Work from Home Opportuniy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Teacher in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKID full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible hours, work when you want. The kids are great, and the community of teachers is wonderful

    Cons

    No benefits, but that's the downfall of being an independent contractor

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps consider paying your teachers more since other companies have similar pay for those without bachelor's degrees.

    VIPKID Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for your trust and enthusiasm. Happy Teaching!


  7. "ESL Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKID part-time

    Pros

    Great Company to work for. The kids are great.

    Cons

    None I can think of.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "VIPKID teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VIPKID Teacher
    Current Employee - VIPKID Teacher
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKID part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pros: 1) I get to stay at home with my kids and I get to wear my PJ pants and my work shirt on top. I really only teach in the early mornings so it doesn’t interfere with my family time. 2) This job is very rewarding and I get to teach the most adorable kids half way around the world. I have gotten to know some amazing families that I would never had met if it wasn’t for VIPKID. 3) VIPKID has been very professional and supportive when I have a question or a concern to address. 4)The extra money I make is good 💴

    🌟 There are around 60k teachers teaching for VIPKID. Everyone’s experience is different. Some do this full time, and others (like myself) do it part time. Some people started teaching the day they got hired. Others (like myself) took longer. I have been with VIPKID for 6 months and have loved every minute of it. For me, the pros outweigh the cons. 😊

    Cons

    Cons: 1) I wake up at 4/ 4:30 CST to teach... so loads of ☕️ coffee is necessary. (I typically teach 2-3 classes a day so I end around 6-6:30am) 2) I did not get an actual class until day 35. Honestly I was okay with that because I just attended workshops and tried to get acclimated with their platform. 3) They are based in China. So when you have a question for them; it typically takes them 12-24 hours to reply. 4) They do not withhold taxes. So you need to make sure you set aside the money.

    Advice to Management

    One thing I admire about VIPKID is your ability to listen to the teacher’s feedback and assess the way to handle the situation properly. Thank you for always asking for our feedback about the lessons and the platform. I feel honored to teach and serve these precious children on the other side of the globe.

    VIPKID Response

    Aug 8, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    VIPKID smiles too because you guys rock! Thanks for sticking with us through our rapid growth!


  9. Helpful (17)

    "Love this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKID part-time

    Pros

    I really enjoy the students. The pay for part-time is good. The firemen do work to help get things done in the classroom.

    Cons

    If you have IT problems you can be released. If you have emergencies come up and need to cancel class you are penalized.

    Advice to Management

    Please be more flexible with cancellations. Why can't there be a place to say that you need a sub and a substitute can pick it up. Can we have a place to message parents and ask them to reschedule?

    VIPKID Response

    Jun 12, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    We’re glad you are enjoying yourself! Thanks for your comments!


  10. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKID part-time

    Pros

    Good company! Awesome part-time job.

    Cons

    Summer low bookings, never get fully booked.

    Advice to Management

    Too many teachers

    VIPKID Response

    Aug 8, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    We are honored that you love using our platform! Thank you so much!


Showing 504 of 970 reviews
Reset Filters