VIPKID Reviews | Glassdoor

VIPKID Reviews

Updated December 11, 2018
151 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
VIPKID Co-Founder and CEO Cindy Mi
Cindy Mi
107 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (195)

    "Perfect Job For Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Major Course Teacher in Mineville, NY
    Current Employee - Major Course Teacher in Mineville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKID part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Easy to do from home. No commute, no child care, no savvy business clothes, no commuting in the snow, and the best part is every day is "bring your cat to work day!" My cat, Bootsie, loves my job as much as I do! No kidding, I've had parents post reviews on my cat! The kids love it! Payment is once a month. I don't mind that because then it its a big check. You know what to expect and money is in the account on time. I love the children I teach. It is amazing how close you get to the family from the other side of the world!

    Cons

    You'll read that there is not enough work. I don't think that is accurate. I've been with VIPKID going on six months. My first contract is at an end. My first month I made $55.00. The next month I more than doubled that, and every month after has been going higher and higher. I am now teaching about five hours a day and making very good money for wearing pajama bottoms and an orange t-shirt. My monthly is in the four figure range. The thing is you have to give the parents a reason to schedule with you. Sitting around waiting for bookings to come is not good. You won't get far teaching only trial students; although, trial students become regular students and they will remember your smiling face. The trick to getting more bookings is to take advantages of their certifications in different areas. In November I got certified to do the major courses and my schedule is now completely and totally packed. I literally have a very full schedule, teaching around eleven classes a day. You hear a lot of complaints about missing classes. When you teach, even at a school, attendance is important. As far as online schools go, VIPKID is the most liberal. I could have worked with DaDaAbc and made a lot more money. Their attendance policy is HORRENDOUS! You are locked into a schedule that will not vary, cannot travel. I have two homes and I could only teach at one. My travel was stopped. VIPKID encourages their teachers to live a life. Its great stories for the kids. When I am at my place in Brooklyn, they are pretty amazed to see NYC. My students get to see a variety of things, which VIPKID was pretty smart to encourage their teachers to live a life.

    Advice to Management

    I have never had a problem with management. They encourage teachers to have "Meet Ups" and network. I'm going to my first one on Friday. Management offers advancement opportunities and the ability to get more certifications, which equates to more money. That is a good thing. The one negative thing you always hear about is the recruitment process. They now have meet ups in the big cities where prospective teachers can do face to face meetings. My experience was not bad, it wasn't easy either, but I held steady, went through the steps and started working. However, compared to the interview process I had with DaDaAbc (and that is a fine program too), VIPKID was a cake walk! Since you are dealing with an employer thousands of miles away, do you really think it would be flawless? I've seen positive changes since I've been here. I really love the management encourages their teachers to be silly! The other schools limit interaction and NO silliness. For a great work environment, I'm very ok with a little less in pay if I am happy, can travel, and interact with the kids. I like they use real teachers to do your evaluations. It all boils down to this: there are other schools out there that pay even more. To me, it is not worth the hassle. I've yet to find a person who got rich teaching, so happiness and job satisfaction should be your guiding principle, and I'm very happy where I am now.

    VIPKID Response

    Jan 4, 2018 – Program Manager

    We are honored that you love using our platform! Thank you so much!


  2. "ESL Online Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Online Teacher in Pensacola, FL
    Current Employee - ESL Online Teacher in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKID part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work from the comfort of your home, work the hours you want.

    Cons

    Working AM or Late at night, but it allows you to have a life out side of a job.

    Advice to Management

    AWESOME job everyone!

    VIPKID Response

    Dec 9, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    You’re pretty awesome too. Thanks!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Online English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Love, love working from home. VIPKID gives me a chance to do what I love now that I am no longer homeschooling my own kids. VIPKID offers very flexible scheduling. They promote a fun teacher environment online by offering challenges and contests. Dino is the cutest mascot ever! Meet-up opportunities to connect with other teachers help make a global company feel a bit more local. And the students are so sweet and special. I never knew that students half a world away could capture my heart so thoroughly!

    Cons

    No bookings are guaranteed for new teachers. I don't actively recruit for this reason.

    Advice to Management

    Offer a 5-10 class guarantee so that every teacher has the same opportunity to succeed with VIPKID.

    VIPKID Response

    Dec 9, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    VIPKID really appreciates your kind words. We work hard every day to offer an even better environment to the amazing teachers in our platform!


  4. "VIPKID teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKID part-time

    Pros

    Best side hustle! Work from home, don’t need to a hire a sitter for your own kids, work as much as little as you want, zero prep or stress.

    Cons

    Pay isn’t that great, in comparison to what you would make to tutor in NJ.

    VIPKID Response

    Dec 10, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    We are honored that you love using our platform! Thank you so much!


  5. "VIPKID Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - VIPKID Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - VIPKID Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at VIPKID full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, pick how much or little you want to work. Wonderful dedicated intelligent students who want to learn. Helping children build confidence. Connecting with people in a different country. Foe the most part like, the company tries to be hard and fair. They listen to feedback and offer many incentives and bonuses.

    Cons

    The popular teaching hours are brutal. You teach on Bejing time which is 13 hrs ahead. There's no insurance or benefits.

    VIPKID Response

    Dec 9, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    We are honored that you love using our platform! Thank you so much!


  6. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VIPKID part-time

    Pros

    Great company. Schedule is acceptable

    Cons

    Scheduling can be tricky if you have other things going on.

    VIPKID Response

    Dec 2, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    We are very glad that you’re having such a good time teaching with VIPKID!


  7. "Wonderful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Tutor
    Current Employee - ESL Tutor
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKID part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great work environment, responsove management team

    Cons

    Early work hours depending on time zone and slow start (initially)

    VIPKID Response

    Dec 2, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    We’re glad you are enjoying yourself! Thanks for your comments!

  8. Helpful (7)

    "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at VIPKID full-time

    Pros

    The greatest advantage to working for VIPKID is that it is very flexible and you set your own hours. Most of the kids are very sweet to teach.

    Cons

    VIPKID has shockingly culturally- inappropriate curriculum. They recently started to integrate a diversity of people into their slides, but the culture lessons still consist of the following: “Chinese people live in apartments.” “Americans live in houses.” “Chinese people eat rice.” “American people eat bread.” This is just one example of the material that is really missing an opportunity to create a cross-cultural and non-stereotyping experience for both teachers and students.

    Furthermore, the company is very strict and unfair in their policies for teachers. They rarely take the side of teachers, even when the parent is wrong and gives a poor rating. I have a 5 out of 5 star rating as a teacher and over 700 reviews, but VIPKID has never once taken my side when a parent has given me an unfair score.

    Advice to Management

    Be more culturally appropriate. Give more teacher support in a more meaningful way.

    VIPKID Response

    Nov 25, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for reaching out and communicating your experience with the VIPKID platform. We appreciate your feedback on areas for potential improvements or adjustments. Teachers on our platform are the... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Easy pay once you get past the interview hurdles.

    Cons

    Their interview selection can be subjective

    VIPKID Response

    Jul 18, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for your trust and enthusiasm. Happy Teaching!


  10. "great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    loved working here! Great staff and management!

    Cons

    none. loved everything about the company.

    Advice to Management

    none

    VIPKID Response

    Jul 22, 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    You’re pretty awesome too. Thanks!