VIPKid Online English Teacher Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of VIPKid and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    It serves its purpose

    Apr 23, 2021 - Online English Teacher in Leominster, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, to an extent, because it’s livestream video

    Cons

    The flexibility has limits, which is the biggest issue.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Expanding Company with a Fun Work Culture

    Jan 12, 2021 - Online English Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Set your own work hours. There is no minimum time requirement. This job is perfect for a stay-at-home mom or working professional with a side hustle. (This is not an MLM). Two women founded the company. The work culture is different and refreshing from other places I've worked at in the past. You get on-the-job training from excellent employees with a passion for their jobs. Occasional opportunities to move from teaching to other short-term positions at the company if you're passionate about social media or lesson planning. Ability to connect with others at the company even though it's a stay-at-home position. There is a very active social media presence that is supportive. In-person meetups were also once planned before COVID-19. Now all meetups are virtual. Easily receive payment as a direct deposit to your bank account. Learning new and interesting things about Chinese culture. Working mostly with extremely dedicated students who take their studies seriously. Forming connections with families across the globe.

    Cons

    Work hours are currently not available during daytime hours from 7:00/8:00 a.m. to 6:30/7:30 CST. The hour window of difference is due to the time change in America that doesn't happen in China. However, this may change as the company expands to new places around the globe. You'll work a lot more hours than you'll be paid for due to only being paid for individual classes taught and not your time spent in workshops or writing feedback for every class. Language barrier when dealing with problems at the home office or in the classroom. No benefits or compensation for equipment need to succeed in the position since you work as an independent contractor. An occasional disrespectful or uninterested student.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Decent source of extra income

    Apr 8, 2021 - Online English Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We have the freedom to decide how much we teach each week. We can decide the hours we teach. The pay is competitive. The kids are great and the company provides the material we teach.

    Cons

    The cancellation policy is strict. The pay scale was recently changed and most teachers' salaries were lowered because the new pay scale is based on the number of classes taught each month. Only teachers who can teach close to 200 classes a week truly benefit-the rest of us lost money per class-not a lot of money, but it's the principle of the thing We cannot easily choose who we teach.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Viable Option for Teaching from Home

    Dec 17, 2020 - ESL Online English Teacher in America, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working for VIPKid has given me flexibility and doesn't require a huge amount of preparation because they provide the lessons to be taught. They even provide me with star and sticker rewards which save me time and money. Because the company has been around for a while there are many great support systems on Facebook that can enhance your lessons and teaching as a way to attract and keep your students interested and coming back. Working for VIPKid has allowed me to enjoy teaching again after I retired from brick and mortar teaching.

    Cons

    VIPKid focuses on their customers and when there is a problem with a class they will side with the parent over the teacher. Teachers are held to the highest standards, even more that what they expect from the students attending classes. Students can eat, ignore, or take you to the bathroom with them during class without repercussions. However, if a teacher yawns or drinks coffee/water during class and a parent complains then the teacher will lose. The company is not teacher friendly. It is a business and you are a contractor that they can easily replace or divert class bookings from you to other teachers. The pay was great when I first started but not so much now under the new pay plan.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    English Teacher

    Apr 18, 2021 - Online English Teacher in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love my students’ engagement and interaction. I like easy scheduling. I like precise and on time payment.

    Cons

    I do not like working and very busy weekends. Also, I found it very difficult to have one day off in a week due to the method of scheduling classes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    Apr 22, 2021 - Online English Teacher in Naperville, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent growing company who keeps moving to improve almost on a weekly basis. Great curriculum and user friendly.

    Cons

    Pay is on the low end.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Decent Independent Contractor Position

    Apr 9, 2021 - Online English Teacher in Richmond, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    choose your own schedule, very flexible so you decide when to work. the kids are fun if you enjoy working w children

    Cons

    You work on China’s schedule. You may be teaching late at night or early in the morning bc the students are actually in China

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    LOVE THIS COMPANY

    Apr 17, 2021 - Online English Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting work, precious kids, flexibility

    Cons

    late hours, seasonal changes in bookings, no insurance

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    I Have No Plans to Leave this company

    Apr 27, 2021 - Online English Teacher in Estero, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent, easy to follow lesson slides with tips to implement.

    Cons

    Low Pay with many lessons required to be taught to advance through pay tiers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Convenient in some ways, not in others

    Apr 1, 2021 - Online English Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a contractor you have total control over when you're available to work or not. The curriculum is pre-loaded so you only need 10-15 min pre-lesson to prep and 5 min after to give feedback. Many teachers do this while traveling the world. It can be a backup option as well; I heard from a teacher who didn't teach a single lesson in the 6 months and still got their contract renewed. They have social groups for teachers on the website and I had a fun zoom karaoke session with other teachers.

    Cons

    This is the first job where I haven't had someone to report to, and it is NOT an improvement. Most of my first few weeks were spent foundering around 3 or more different places trying to find answers to questions/what company acronyms meant. I only ended up teaching about 4 hours a week. Since you only teach Chinese students, if you want more you need to 1. Move to a better timezone than N. America, like Europe or Asia. 2. If you stay in N. America, change your whole lifestyle to wake up around 2AM weekdays, and teach all of the weekend including evenings. Fairly recently the company lowered the pay scale, so that most have to teach more to make the same. Put a ton of prep into your mock lesson, watch youtube videos and talk to other teachers, because that sets your base pay rate and there's no changing it afterwards. It really irks me how deeply commoditized the company is. We can bribe students with in-platform currency to learn from us and not another teacher. We have to earn that currency with insipid in-platform tasks and quizzes to be able to do so. And how does the company try to make it right? That's right, more commodities as rewards, like giving us a discount on Amazon. The contract is worth reading because it's quite strict (Arbitration, they can't tell us how to teach but they can still fire us for bad teaching etc). The biggest thing from the contract is if you miss a class, not only do you not get paid for the no-show, they TAKE AWAY PAY YOU ALREADY EARNED! I've mentioned this to several people, albeit non-experts, but their response was the same: 'how can that be legal??' Note that once you open a slot, you have next to no control over who takes it, and have to teach someone even if they cancelled on you 25 hours previous (incurring no penalty to them and no pay to you). The only exception is when someone books 4 weeks of classes at a time, and even then they're only committed for the first one and one student has flaked on half of the block. If you do try to cancel on a bad student, that becomes one of only 6 strikes/missed classes you're allowed per 6 months. Lastly, it's a pain that you really need to plan out your bookings 2-4 weeks in advance to teach the most. Several times I had plans come up on short-notice and wasn't able to join because I had one class filled in that whole evening block.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 262 Reviews

Popular Careers with VIPKid Job Seekers

Online English Teacher
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at VIPKid? Share Your Experiences

or