VMware Inside Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

VMware Inside Sales Representative Reviews

Updated 6 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Amazing Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance, Big on giving back to the community, Aggressive Pay, Lots of room for upward growth professionally, Amazing Culture, Fun atmosphere

    Cons

    I do not have any Cons.

    VMware2019-02-12
  2. "Great company, but shifting inside sales environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent product, culture, and employees

    Cons

    Inside sales structure is being overtaken by outside sales team. Unethical account shifting or "quota dumping" from outside sales to inside sales.

    VMware2019-03-28
  3. "Inside Sales - Latam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative - Latin America in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excelente company to work for, care about their employees You have all the tools, all the training to succeed Great environment and teamwork

    Cons

    Work long hours, but it's sales

    VMware2018-10-16
  4. "Inside Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers take my meetings Free snacks and food Fun and young culture

    Cons

    Competitive IT industry The technology we sell is very complex

    VMware2017-10-17
  5. "Inside Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team Outing Benefits Great people C level leadership is incredible Great snacks

    Cons

    Lack of Guidance and Leadership

    Continue reading
    VMware2017-08-24
  6. "Inside Sale Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training and benefits. Great company culture and great people.

    Cons

    Constantly changing managers and territories

    Continue reading
    VMware2017-03-15
  7. "Inside Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enthusiastic employees, in-demand products, free food, great money.

    Cons

    May be harder than expected to move from inside sales to the field.

    VMware2017-02-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "ISR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of enablement training and programs to get informed, certified, and grow your value. Two years in a role and 30% pay bump, stay. Use the experience and certs to leap into another company below 1000 employees, you'll see 2-3x the pay of what VMware offered.

    Cons

    Limited opportunity for advancement in your role unless you're political or a favorite. If you're good, you're supporting allot of the politically connected or favorites. Do the work anyways, and get as many trainings as you can in and know your value. If you are not hitting your number or running a special project for management, you're on the list of layoffs. Dealing with managers.... If they have not done your role at VMware, they are just giving you input on what they want you to hear, so look out for yourself.. Find a team or specialist role asap with that type of manager.

    Continue reading
    VMware2016-08-07
  9. "VMware is solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Company is built on the foundation of a great product - Good corporate culture - Great first opportunity for many people - Lots of smart people to learn from

    Cons

    - Exceedingly corporate - Beyond the flagship product not a lot of success - Constant corporate turnover to please investors

    Continue reading
    VMware2016-04-12
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Strong Past, Uncertain Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had the best work experience of my life here. I enjoyed working with sharp and motivated peers and learned a good deal that will continue to serve me well through the rest of my professional career. Culture is a strong focus and is great. Compensation and benefits are very competitive and generous. Finally, VMware is a respected name that is a nice gold star on the resume.

    Cons

    There are serious headwinds staring down VMware right now. This January 2016 layoff was substantial and should be heeded as a strong warning of what is to come. There have been constant and fervent commitments from both Dell and VMware that the acquisition will not impact VMware, that VMware would continue operate independently, and that the culture that VMware is so proud of would not be adversely effected. VMware and Dell have struggled mightily to get employees, partners, customers, and investors to believe this. This round of layoffs was not a typical January house cleaning; those that were let go were tenured and respected team members, which is very alarming. It very much feels like the first publicly visible example of the true impact Dell is having and will have on VMware's going-forward management strategy, and it seems that everyone's fears are justified.

    Continue reading
    VMware2016-01-27
Found 50 reviews