VMware Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Engineer

VMware Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Apr 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Amazing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware for less than a year

    Pros

    Company Culture, Salary, Interesting Project, Great Food

    Cons

    Lack of Diversity, lack of mentorship

    VMware2020-01-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "good pay, lots of politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Nice pay, hours, interesting projects

    Cons

    Lots of politics, tribalism, appearances, fake achievements and projects, no career if you are not personally close to the managers, engineering culture is in skydive

    VMware2020-03-31
  3. "Overall it's quite positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance; Tasks are pretty interesting and meaningful.

    Cons

    Total compensation is just so so. Looking for more tech challenging work

    Continue reading
    VMware2020-03-17
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Good learning culture to start the career and grow

    Cons

    Recent layoffs in many teams

    VMware2020-02-05
  5. Helpful (62)

    "Great place to work that values quality of life and family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    VMware is a big company but in many ways had a startup vibe. That was great because the resources and infrastructure of a big company were there, but it gave most people I worked with freedom to work on many projects, influence, move around, and contribute in many ways. Plus, many things moved faster than they might at other companies of the same size. Perks were really great including bonuses, events on the campus, opportunities, etc.

    Cons

    The biggest con is the annual layoff. During most of the years I was there, we were growing like crazy, beating expectations, gaining in stock price, etc. It was always positive and upward. However, every single January, it was known that there would be a round of layoffs, even when all numbers were looking great as they almost always were. Management called it restructuring. But, over the years, some really good people were let go for no apparent reason. Then to add insult to injury, a week or two later, there would be a company quarterly meeting discussing how VMware was doing so well and is still hiring, but they had to make some changes. It always felt dishonest and the sympathy for those let go came across as disingenuous.

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-06-24
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Good worklife balance and a lot of opportunities.

    Cons

    Compensation isn't as high as other tech companies

    VMware2020-01-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall a great company to work for.

    Cons

    You need to enjoy what you do there.

    VMware2019-12-14
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Diversity among BUs in terms of the projects and technology focus with some cutting edge stuff happening * Company is really transforming, history has shown that technology companies that rest on their laurels quickly crash and burn. Based on what is happening in VMware I'm pretty sure VMware won't be one of them * Decent benefits and salary, RSU grants have really gone hill though, pretty disappointing

    Cons

    As much as VMware has been transforming technology wise, they still fail to address a lot of the toxicity in the management chain and culture It is still very much about who you know, kissing up, not rocking the boat and conforming. The hierarchy is also complex making transparency difficult , there are people who I would say can get away with socializing and not doing much work which can have a severe impact on the morale of those who do it Then there are the talkers, those who are put in lead positions which actually shouldn't be as they know very little about the projects they are leading yet they will be loud and argumentative often at times making incorrect and sometimes foolish claims but they do it in front of management who just think they are correct because the management doesn't know any better And the last point is that is now mostly Indian, I don't know what breakdown is in terms of the engineering workforce but given what I see I wouldn't be surprised if it was like 80% or something. Now I have had many Indian coworkers over the years some of them good, some of them bad. But the disproportion at VMware especially in cases where one knows somebody from their home province pulls them over and sets them up in a high level position when they are basically equivalent to a new grad just adds to the toxicity

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-12-07
  9. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    I have been working at VMware

    Pros

    /good company, workplace is awesome, nice interactive activities

    Cons

    Did not get full time conversion

    VMware2019-12-12
  10. "Awesome experience. Lot of learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - MTS1 Software Engineer 

    I worked at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Lot of learning Flexible timing Friendly employers

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons

    VMware2019-11-10
Found 172 reviews