VMware "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

VMware Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "VMware Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware for less than a year

    Pros

    Very positive work environment (coworkers/manager are encouraging, supportive and helpful), great benefits, and employees (even interns) are treated very well

    Cons

    A little overwhelming, but to be expected

    VMware2019-06-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Doing Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Executive in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace work environment. Great products!

    Cons

    Do more with a lot less. On the job training. Hi turn over.

    VMware2019-10-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great company in general with downsides of being a large company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, and work environment

    Cons

    Lots of politics as expected from any big company. I think vmware has a bit more of it.

    Advice to Management

    Top 3 levels of execs need to get back in touch with the roots of the company i.e. the engineers. Seems like with multiple layers of management, due to some bad actors the engineering teams suffer badly.

    VMware2019-09-06
  4. "Engineering work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Design Engineer 

    I have been working at VMware

    Pros

    Good Benefits. Work environment is good as well

    Cons

    Doesn't take suggestions from interns

    VMware2019-09-05
  5. "Truly a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very strong culture and values. Fantastic pay and benefits. Flexible work environment. Lots of great perks and a beautiful HQ.

    Cons

    Lack of trust among teams.

    VMware2019-07-18
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - MTS3 

    I have been working at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment and interesting projects to work on

    Cons

    Different projects merges happen frequently and sometimes causing comotion in team.

    VMware2019-07-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, work life balanace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Technical Staff, Software in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits - great work environment

    Cons

    Not reliable as layoffs happens 2 times in a year,.

    Advice to Management

    Can't think of anything.

    VMware2019-06-11
  8. "Decent Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Training, lots of it(!) - Responsive management - Decent and collaborative working environment - Decent work / life balance - Very diverse employee base - Exposure to new technologies years ahead of other companies - Benefits a pretty great

    Cons

    - Being a vendor, the landscape can change pretty rapidly - Company is very left leaning

    Advice to Management

    I love the company and our management, keep doing what you're doing.

    VMware2018-11-28
  9. "End Point User Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at VMware

    Pros

    Fast paced work environment Need to be on the go to meet your deadlines Get to learn a lot which could make a career progression

    Cons

    Better to be a full time employee than contractor

    VMware2018-11-27
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good company, long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and compensation Flexible work environment Nice campus Culture of respect across all levels Good products and new technologies to work on

    Cons

    If you are in Engineering, the majority of people you will work with are in India Hard to network Lots of conference calls outside normal work hours make work-life balance tough

    VMware2018-11-01
Found 243 reviews