VSP Vision Care Reviews

Updated May 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
VSP Vision Care President Kate Renwick-Espinosa
Kate Renwick-Espinosa
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "As much as a company can care about its staff, I believe VSP has shown to care about our health and wellbeing(in 23 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and competitive compensation(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "I do not have any bad thing to say about VSP(in 22 reviews)

  • "My small team is treated like we are in a call center and aren’t adults(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Weathering the COVID Storm"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VSP Vision Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Prior to the SIP orders, my experience in GTS (Global Technology Services) for the Vision Care LOB had been very positive. The staff I work with is very diverse (age, gender, race), much more so than I had been used to with my previous employer. I was also impressed with how much movement many of the long term staff had made throughout the companies. This tells me that VSP is a company invested in career growth of its staff. On the whole, everyone I've worked with so far has been friendly and helpful. In March, when COVID really began to break out, my leadership made every effort to help us transition to F/T remote work. Something that I understand was very new to this company. The communication from leadership has been transparent and timely. Leadership has been very flexible, understanding and they have made many efforts to help us stay efficient during this unprecedented time. As much as a company can care about its staff, I believe VSP has shown to care about our health and wellbeing. However, VSP did let go of a significant amount of staff during this time, but this is universal and something VSP has never done in the past.

    Cons

    Benefits aren't great. Medical is strictly high-deductible HSA plans. Pay seems a little below average for the area but they do try to make up for it in other ways. I believe I am fairly compensated for my position Remote work was generally frowned on in my area but things may be changing in that respect.

    VSP Vision Care2020-05-08
  2. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VSP Vision Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and pay. Great company

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    VSP Vision Care2020-04-28
  3. "Be wary"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance in Vista, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at VSP Vision Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company appears to have a strong benefit package.

    Cons

    Turnover in this company is unprecedented. My department I was senior at three years and then let go for company reduction in forces while they maintained three newly hired employees.

    Continue reading
    VSP Vision Care2020-05-02
  4. "It's okay if you like repetition"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VSP Vision Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have GREAT benefits, medical/dental is unmatched.

    Cons

    Depending on the supervisor you won't get feedback until you are closed to fired and they want to give you another chance.

    Continue reading
    VSP Vision Care2020-02-07
  5. "High volume"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Broker Representative in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VSP Vision Care full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Innovative teams Job security Moral boosters Promote within

    Cons

    High volume Too much change all at once Bias attitudes More quantity less quality

    Continue reading
    VSP Vision Care2020-01-06
  6. "Great Company with many ways to move up"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at VSP Vision Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, they are always hiring within the company so many options to move around within the company. Opportunity to work from home

    Cons

    working in the call center the most important thing to us reps is having a system that works, a lot of the times its slow, crashes, and always submitting tickets, it can cause calls to be a little more difficult.

    VSP Vision Care2019-11-19
  7. "Thought it was a good place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VSP Vision Care

    Pros

    Large company with lots of perks like Sees candy and cake day

    Cons

    Management Bullying, disrespectful management, no support. Supervisors abuse policy

    Continue reading
    VSP Vision Care2019-11-07
  8. "Exceeds expectations!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VSP Vision Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Room for growth Everyone is kind and willing to help The company doesn’t just promote growth from within they give you every tool available to see that through. The benefits are beyond amazing! Culture is so happy and fun 2 cafes that are affordable

    Cons

    I can’t get everyone I knw a job here lol

    VSP Vision Care2019-09-28
  9. "A dream company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VSP Vision Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything Growth to benefits They have cafes that are affordable Culture is great You don’t hear a bad thing about the company from past or present employees

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    VSP Vision Care2019-09-28
  10. "It is a call center to get your foot in the door"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Csr1 in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at VSP Vision Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive Culture, some benefits, fair bonuses based on productivity

    Cons

    >25% turnover rate, stringent timekeeping,

    VSP Vision Care2019-10-10
Found 191 reviews