VTech Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

VTech Communications Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
VTech Communications CEO Allan Wong (no image)
Allan Wong
1 Ratings
  1. "unanonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VTech Communications full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful company culture. Great employee involvement. Excellent working conditions and work/life balance.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    none

    VTech Communications2018-12-07
  2. "Not Note Worthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VTech Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance. PTO. Ummm

    Cons

    Strength of leadership. Maybe the loyalty.

    Advice to Management

    Probably care more.

    VTech Communications2019-02-10
  3. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VTech Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good culture, good job good salary

    Cons

    nothing nothing nothing nothing nothing

    VTech Communications2017-11-28
  4. "Product Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VTech Communications full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, good pay, room to grow.

    Cons

    long hours, not a ton of locations

    VTech Communications2017-11-07
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VTech Communications full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and life/work culture.

    Cons

    Not a whole lot of growth available.

    VTech Communications2017-04-12
  6. "It's a wonderful place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities and Office Services Coordinator in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VTech Communications part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really value their employees and are always looking for ways to help them grow.

    Cons

    I have really enjoyed my time working there and I can't really think of any negatives.

    VTech Communications2016-11-24
  7. "Good company and location to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VTech Communications

    Pros

    Fair pay, good benefits and perks, great people at the Beaverton office location to work with.

    Cons

    Issues can occur by being controlled from corporate HQ oversees that can affect employees in various negative ways

    VTech Communications2016-10-05
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Lack of good leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supply Chain Analyst in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at VTech Communications

    Pros

    Work/life balance. Impossible to lose your job. Good benefits and PTO. Half-day Fridays in the summer, but only if you work an extra hour Monday through Thursday.

    Cons

    Leadership is either incapable of leading or hamstrung by Hong Kong leadership. Leadership also has to tenderly massage news and market events to appear positive so that employees don't feel they are on a sinking ship. The business is shrinking and that can be demoralizing. Unable to innovate and deliver new products effectively.

    Advice to Management

    Hire good leaders, make tough decisions, and determine what VTech's greatest strengths are and play 100% to those. Be honest with employees.

    VTech Communications2016-03-07
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Nice people, but not good leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain Analyst in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VTech Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is very laid back and you feel like you could work there forever. The office culture feels very inclusive.

    Cons

    However, with declining sales for the last 5 consecutive years, we know where that story ends. The leadership team at the company are nice people, but not leaders and definitely aren't driving the business. The other con is working for a company where quality products aren't something they value, I was always a little embarrassed when telling people where I worked.

    Advice to Management

    Start making the tough calls and do what it takes to grow the business. Start looking at the talent that has left and listen to their feedback and stop rationalizing their departure. There are many good people there that you can't still keep if you take action and show them that there is accountability.

    VTech Communications2016-03-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Distribution Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VTech Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Vtech is on the cutting edge of the telephony retail and commercial application markets. Also as they realize the corded and cordless home telephone market is compressing, Vtech has implemented plans to enter and lead in the connect to home vertical. They have incredible engineering and technical capabilities, along with a first class customer support group.

    Cons

    Depending on your geography, advancement could require relocation to Beaverton , Oregon. This is a great place to live but may deter folks not open to relocation.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused

    VTech Communications2016-01-07
Found 29 reviews