VUMC Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

VUMC Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
VUMC CEO Wouter Bos
Wouter Bos
16 Ratings
  1. "research analyst II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VUMC full-time

    Pros

    People are very nice to others.

    Cons

    Tense parking space. Salary is not that high.

    VUMC2018-04-23
  2. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at VUMC full-time

    Pros

    Relax environment Nice people Easy

    Cons

    Hard to move up the ladder

    VUMC2019-04-18
  3. "claims manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VUMC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, tuition benefits,

    Cons

    low end of pay scale

    VUMC2017-11-06
  4. "VUMC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at VUMC full-time

    Pros

    great institute with amazing research departments

    Cons

    could not think of any

    VUMC2018-10-26
  5. "PostDoc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at VUMC part-time

    Pros

    Excellent work environment, great international exposure, great location at Zuid

    Cons

    International experience are required for further scientific career within VUmc

    VUMC2018-10-07
  6. "Great Research Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    PhD Candidate in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VUMC for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good location, Salary, Personal budget

    Cons

    not much Help with housing for Staff

    VUMC2018-03-16
  7. "Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at VUMC full-time

    Pros

    Well organized, friendly environment, good possibilities to collaborate across departments.

    Cons

    Very high competition, too little funding for research

    VUMC2017-08-14
  8. "Amazing scientific environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    PhD Student in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VUMC

    Pros

    friendly environment, advanced laboratories

    Cons

    I can't see any negative point at this moment.

    Advice to Management

    AS they are many international employee in the Vumc , I request the management to have an English version in their email and activities .

    VUMC2015-05-31
  9. "Horrible! Worked there for almost 10 yrs, was fired for nothing! and nasty politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at VUMC

    Pros

    Was a great place to work, until upper level management entered the picture and "took over". Dr. Frist was a great person to work for and have great workmanship standards. Overall moral was great and now horrible!

    Cons

    RN's very initimidated of others with any knowledge base, lied about and made up things; that didn't happen and got another RN fired! Well hope all of them are happy, because it's caused me great hardship!

    Advice to Management

    Learn something and ascertain new skills to apply and implement to the work environment, instead of hurting someone!

    VUMC2012-02-19
  10. "Werken als PhD Candidate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VUMC full-time

    Pros

    Goede secundaire arbeidsvoorwaarden, flexibele werktijden.

    Cons

    Niet mogelijk om te onderhandelen over salaris, vaste schalen. Daarnaast wordt als wetenschapper alleen gewerkt met tijdelijke contracten, zonder perspectief op vast contract.

    VUMC2017-04-19
Found 34 reviews
</>Embed