Vacasa Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Vacasa Interim CEO Matt Roberts (no image)
Matt Roberts
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "This company is growing but it is moving too fast to really focus on quality(in 31 reviews)

  • "The executives and upper management seem to forget that many of the staff are having to live in Portland, which is relatively expensive(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting, innovative, and welcoming"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Designer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vacasa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture is very supportive and collaborative. Not afraid to try new things but also not afraid to admit when something doesn't work and just move on. Competitive pay and benefits. Fast-paced growth, always changing, always new challenges to tackle.

    Cons

    Extreme growth can cause unintended silos and a buildup of tech-debt.

    Vacasa2020-02-20

    Vacasa Response

    February 24, 2020Team Vacasa

    Thanks so much for taking the time to review Vacasa! We appreciate your feedback and are lucky to have you on board.

  2. "Loved my job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Vacasa full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits, flexible schedule, enjoyed working with homeowners, my local team and my remote manager. Everyday was different, some days were spent behind the computer and other days I was driving around touring homes or connecting with realtors!

    Cons

    No cons. Hope the company can rebuild and come back even stronger than before Covid.

    Vacasa2020-05-22

    Vacasa Response

    May 22, 2020Team Vacasa

    Thank you very much for your review and words of encouragement for the future! We really appreciate it.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "A cool facade"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vacasa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    snacks, great coworkers, dog friendly

    Cons

    smokescreen for a struggling business

    Continue reading
    Vacasa2020-05-22

    Vacasa Response

    May 22, 2020Team Vacasa

    We appreciate you taking the time to review Vacasa. Yes, we have a lot of those wonderful things you mentioned, but we can assure you they are not an attempt to create a facade. We find that our employees value that they have food available when needed or that they can bring their pup into the office and not worry about them during the day. Sure, like every business, we have challenges and things to improve on. We are actively working on these things now and your feedback helps provide direction. Again, we appreciate it.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good but Needs Some Improvement"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Real Estate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Vacasa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commission splits are generous Nice offices Gives us tools we need

    Cons

    Favoritism with broker/sales managers Very little sales training Real leads are given to those who broker likes. Policy always changing - especially on BD bonuses Gives leads to outside Vacasa agents

    Continue reading
    Vacasa2020-05-02

    Vacasa Response

    May 19, 2020Team Vacasa

    Thanks for submitting a review! Your feedback is important to us, and we'll be sure to share this with the Vacasa Real Estate team leads as they are always open on ways to improve.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Burnout is a reality"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vacasa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The corporate Vacasa model is outstanding. The core values and company culture drew me to work for this company.

    Cons

    On the operations side where boots are on the ground, the model is highly inefficient. From top to bottom it is not unusual to hear team members falling apart due to extreme burnout. High employee turnover in all departments leads to poor quality service to owners and guests despite the team's desire to meet expectations.

    Continue reading
    Vacasa2020-05-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeping Manager 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vacasa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the coworkers were good to work with

    Cons

    Poor Management. On call 24/7. Cannot get time off approved.

    Continue reading
    Vacasa2020-05-27

    Vacasa Response

    May 27, 2020Team Vacasa

    Thanks for sharing your review. It sounds like we could learn a lot from your experience. If you'd like to further discuss, please reach out to HR@vacasa.com and we can set up a time to chat.

  7. "Excellent Company to work for, great benefits as well!"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Portfolio Analyst 

    I have been working at Vacasa full-time

    Pros

    Vacasa is a great company to work for. I love what I do, and the benefits are great: work from home/flexible work schedule, unlimited PTO, 100% paid insurance. Would highly recommend. Fast-growing company, so lots of opportunity for growth and career advancement as well.

    Cons

    Only negative I would say are the raises/increases in pay. While other companies usually have a set time of year for this (yearly, etc.), here it seems to be more sporadic.

    Vacasa2020-04-14

    Vacasa Response

    April 17, 2020Team Vacasa

    Thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback, especially as it relates to the review and salary increase process. We understand that has been a bit confusing for people, and will pass this feedback onto the leadership team.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Job satisfaction varies widely from team to team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vacasa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible PTO, nice office, ok benefits, ok salary, engineers I love working with.

    Cons

    Teams are really siloed and there is a lack of common vision which leads some people to act in self-interest and avoid vulnerability. This can be a serious hinderance to collaboration.

    Continue reading
    Vacasa2020-04-08

    Vacasa Response

    April 8, 2020Team Vacasa

    We appreciate you writing a review and agree, we're fortunate to have Matt Roberts as our interim CEO. We're glad to hear you are optimistic about the future because we do think it's going to be bright. Thanks again for your thoughts.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Fast Growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vacasa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots to learn Great managers Coffee Bar Culture Diversity was a top priority

    Cons

    Payscale was roughly .25 below market value Poor expenditure tracking

    Vacasa2020-03-31

    Vacasa Response

    April 1, 2020Team Vacasa

    Thanks for the feedback; we really appreciate it! We are always looking for ways to improve, so will forward your note on payscale to our compensation team for consideration.

  10. Helpful (11)

    "Reckless Business Practices"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vacasa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There was a lot of opportunity to learn new technologies. Collaborative Environment

    Cons

    Con #1: Nepotism. The previous CEO was a visionary in VRM industry, unfortunately he lacked the vision required to understand putting all of your family members in high ranking positions through out the company was a bad idea. Seriously, there should be a novel here in this section, but you've been warned. Let be known that the investor's 'fixed' this problem recently, however damage has been done, and there is an incredible hurdle to overcome in cleaning up their mess. Con #2: Fear of innovation: Due to Con #1 there is a culture of stagnant innovation. Unless your idea is "buy more and expand" or "start a real estate business", then any innovation to a core business service will be met with doubt and ultimately wither on the vine. Con #3: Lack of focus and leadership. This company does not know it's identity. Given that problems 1 and 2 went on so long, what Vacasa does is up in the air any given week. The recent layoffs are case and point here. Coronavirus was unplanned, but we went from everything is 'fine' to firing over half our workforce in the matter of days. I know they gotta do what they gotta do to survive, but this is right after literally receiving hundreds of millions of dollars There was no attempt save employees. Leadership freaked out, cause that's what you do when you don't have a plan and hemorrhaging cash.

    Continue reading
    Vacasa2020-03-31

    Vacasa Response

    April 1, 2020Team Vacasa

    Thank you for your review and for sharing feedback with us. It's true; the past several months have been a time of change for Vacasa, and we're excited for the path in front of us when the pandemic subsides. As I am sure you know, laying off employees was not an easy decision for Vacasa to make, but was necessary for the long term. If you have anything else you'd like to share with us, please email HR@vacasa.com.

Found 516 reviews