Valeant "r d" Reviews | Glassdoor

Valeant Employee Reviews about "r d"

Updated Jan 15, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
37%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Valeant Chairman & CEO Joseph C. Papa
Joseph C. Papa
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "The job does offer a decent monthly bonus, plus car, and good benefits(in 9 reviews)

  • "Fast-paced, exciting, work-life balance, career opportunities(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management had blinders on(in 13 reviews)

  • "The company does not invest on R&D(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "r d"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Mechanical Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Mechanical Engineer Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Valeant for less than a year

    Pros

    Workers are one big family. Extremely organized. Management knows everything that is going on within their section of the company. Incredibly intelligent people. Always work to do.

    Cons

    The company does not invest on R&D.

    Valeant2017-01-15
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Greedy corporate enterprise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Valeant full-time

    Pros

    Buying most of the competing companies and pipelines meant less competition and bigger bonuses.

    Cons

    This company only cares about turning a profit. Valeant buys companies, fires the employees, and reinvests nothing back into industry R&D. The bonuses are enticing at first, but the pain and suffering from being stifled under the management isn't worth it for most people.

    Valeant2016-02-14
  3. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Valeant full-time

    Pros

    Great comp, pay for performance attitude. Growing company.

    Cons

    Infrastructure is very thin - company does not believe in R+D

    Advice to Management

    A little investment in the right places could make this a company for the ages.

    Valeant2016-01-04
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Unsustainable Business Model - House of Cards ready to fall to the ground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    R&D in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Valeant

    Pros

    No real pros working for a sleazy company with unethical and probably illegal business practices.

    Cons

    Business model is to borrow, buy, cut costs with huge layoffs. They carry a huge debtload and are under numerous investigations for their sleazy business practices. The Philidor training manual describes this in great detail They may say that they don't "own" Philidor but their figures are included on Valeant's financial statements and Valeant employees use fictional names in emails when working at Philidor. Philidor employee paychecks are from Valeant. The stock that they give employees as a "bonus" is crashing and soon will be worthless. With each acquisition they lay off the best talent and all of the R&D people. Now Pearson says he wants to focus less on acquisitions and more on R&D. Too bad you laid all those people off. I'm just going to sit back and watch this show and thank my lucky stars I jumped their ship when they acquired my company. They layed off my entire department and expected me to do all of the work and then were completely floored when I gave my notice.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop your sleazy business practices and value your employees, especially those in R&D.

    Valeant2015-10-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Dermatology Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dermatologic Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valeant full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Top of the line earning potential in the industry. Many opportunities to grow within the company and solid products

    Cons

    Valeant is an acquisition company so R&D seems to be neglected. Can become a little stale for reps but pay is good so it is what it is

    Advice to Management

    Continue great comp and you will continue To have a strong sales force. Invest a little more in R&D

    Valeant2015-06-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Uneasy, unstable, layoffs cut too deep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Valeant full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My pay did not decrease when Valeant took over. Medical and retirment benefits are relativley competetive.

    Cons

    Since aquisition of the company I worked for, layoffs have been quarterly and to close for comfort. There is no sense of long term employment or advancement in R&D.

    Advice to Management

    Improve communications.

    Valeant2014-06-10
  7. "Disappointed by management team #2, but it's a new day with management team #3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Valeant

    Pros

    Current: on the winning side of industry consolidation, great stock performance

    Cons

    Past: driven by bets on R&D and politics

    Advice to Management

    Current team: keep up the good work, enjoy NJ Past team: next time be kinder & avoid R&D bets

    Valeant2011-08-08
Found 7 reviews