Valencia College Reviews | Glassdoor

Valencia College Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 203 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Sandy Shugart
82 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Great if you're full time though(in 25 reviews)

  • "I was only part time and my position ended(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Educator 

    I worked at Valencia College full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great facilities, plenty of communication

    Cons

    Job growth opportunities are limited

    Valencia College2019-07-17
  2. "You should work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Professor 

    I worked at Valencia College part-time

    Pros

    I found Valencia to be a wonderful community - a positive and supportive environment that cared about uplifting its students and providing them opportunities for advancement. The only reason I left was due to moving out of state. Otherwise, I'd hope to still be there!

    Cons

    Very few. The pay could stand to be raised for adjuncts, but that is true in most colleges...

    Valencia College2019-06-19
  3. "Staff Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valencia College part-time

    Pros

    Great school and office I enjoyed my time here

    Cons

    I was only part time and my position ended

    Valencia College2019-06-12
  4. "Coordinator Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator 

    I have been working at Valencia College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, time off, employee development, and work life balance.

    Cons

    Lack of Standard Operating Procedures across all campuses.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to all employees and streamline SOP's to all campuses.

    Valencia College2019-06-21
  5. "Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Advisor in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valencia College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn and engage with the community

    Cons

    compensation to workload is imbalanced

    Advice to Management

    Focus on providing incentives for staff to stay as the institution continues to grow.

    Valencia College2019-06-18
  6. "Comfortable place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Advisor in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Valencia College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Room for growth within the company. Flexible scheduling. Personal and professional development opportunities available.

    Cons

    Pay is could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Valencia College2019-06-07
  7. "Valient Vivacious Valencia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Valencia College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Student Body very receptive and willing. Math department very helpful from admin to other professors. Felt very included immediately. I would love to extend my service to full time.

    Cons

    On boarding process with starting class with online work was challenging. I would love to extend my service to full time.

    Advice to Management

    As an adjunct I would love to have 1-2 pre plan days to sit with a mentor or information services to make sure i am familiar with all the electronic components such as Canvas, Pearsons My Math Lab, the equipment in the room I was assigned. Thankfully I had two amazing faculty help me get oriented all of their own time: Courtney Gegenheimer and Courtney Watson took me under their wing all on their time and made my time...

    Show More
    Valencia College2019-05-21
  8. "Great community to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Lab Aide II in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Valencia College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Working Schedule to suit any personal needs.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Valencia College2019-05-21
  9. "Great for homework"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Work Study Student in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valencia College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great for utilizing homework time. Flexible scheduling. Cool people.

    Cons

    The only downside of the work study program is the maximum of 20 hours of work per week.

    Valencia College2019-05-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Admissions Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valencia College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Alot of days off and great benefits

    Cons

    Can be hard to move up if you don’t know anybody

    Valencia College2019-05-09
Found 203 reviews