KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Valet Living

Engaged Employer

Valet Living

Add a Review

Valet Living Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 of over 542 reviews

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Valet Living President and CEO Shawn Handrahan
Shawn Handrahan
287 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Real Estate professionals

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Valet Living and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    District Manager

    Sep 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can make your own schedule during the day.

    Cons

    Too many to just list here. Probably the worst HR department you will ever deal with. Hope you dont mind waiting 2 weeks to hear back if you even get a response. Upper management treats district managers like they are disposable which with the turnover rate you are. The only promotions you ever hear of are for office positions that are never posted or unqualified management who can’t even explain their own job duties but have the right friends.

    3 people found this review helpful

    Valet Living Response

    VP, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. I'm sorry to hear that you haven't had a positive experience. I'm troubled to hear your comments regarding our HR function as we pride ourselves on being accessible and responsive. There are several outlets and options to contact any associate in HR (email, phone, IM, Workplace, Workchat, etc). We are also very proud of the fact that we promote consistently from within the organization and have filled more than 50% of our District Manager positions from within the company alone this year. All of our positions are posted internally for all associates to access and apply. If you would like to take me up on the offer, I am interested in speaking with you to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. My email is antonio.fiorentino@valetliving.com - please feel free to send me an email and we can coordinate time to talk further.

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great so far

    Aug 17, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been with Valet Waste now for a little over six months and so far it's been great. My co-workers are very friendly and helpful. The upper management is friendly as well and makes time to say hi and ask how you're doing. Great work atmosphere.

    Cons

    I have not found any cons worth writing about. I'm sure some little things will pop up but they are not worth a con rating.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Look elsewhere if looking for employment

    Apr 9, 2013 - Field Operations in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1) Not confined to office 2) Get to get out and meet with other people on a regular basis 3) Some good people in the company (who are being ruined by Valet Waste) 4) I actually think the CEO is a good guy trying to do some good things.

    Cons

    1) Low pay for District Managers. In fact, according to online sources, the pay runs well below the average for comparable positions in all major markets where Valet Waste has a presence. 2) Long hours in the field. Referring to a split shift as 'flexible schedule' is a travesty. Split shifts mean very long hours. Our customers are not all located 2 minutes apart. And when you factor in that, utilizing the GPS devices in all the trucks, time on property is being scrutinized, it all adds up very quickly. 3) Upper management too focused on results and no acknowledgment of who provides the results. Nothing wrong with having goals and achieving those goals, but a little appreciation for who helps achieve those goals goes a long way. 4) Company values? Words on a SharePoint site. People and values don't matter. Just $30M in EBITDA is all that matters. People are instruments to help management team achieve the ego-driven promise they made to company owners. 5) No leadership or direction in the field from upper management. As a result, unqualified RDO's who attained their positions by seniority or through acquisition are doing (or not doing) whatever they please. They are setting their own rules and policies and enforcing them however they want. 6) Company has a tendency to implement changes before putting together a plan to manage those changes. They jump out of the plane then try to put on the parachute.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    District Manager

    Oct 29, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Other District Managers are very nice

    Cons

    You are not a District manager but a full time trash collector. Upper management does not care if you are out till 6 am picking up trash. They don't support you, they micromanage yet you don't ever see them out and helping you in your area. they pay the people who are suppose to collect trash so little that they don't show up for work so you have to collect a minimum of 15 apartment complexes alone. You work 6 days a week. You will never eat a family meal or attend a childs school event because you are working each night. Then management if you don't have to by some miracle work make it mandatory for you to work someone else district and 'help' them.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Valet Living Response

    VP, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We value our associates and their feedback and I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience working with us as a District Manager. Our District Managers have an opportunity to work a flexible split schedule that includes am and pm hours with our standards for service completion ending by 11:00pm. Your comments regarding structure of the position is in alignment with how a District Manager should be running their district - daytime reports, engagement with property managers, etc and time spent in the evening with their associates. I'd like to discuss how your experience differed from this. Please email me at antonio.fiorentino@valetliving.com so we can schedule time to discuss in more detail.

  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Shady Company

    Jun 8, 2022 - Service Valet in Knoxville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only pro is working alone with little supervision.

    Cons

    So many cons. They pay over the budget when they are short staffed and then when they gain staff they cut pay. My pay was cut over 50%. The app never works and then they blame it on you. They never let you contact upper management when you have an issue with a manager. They allow residents to do whatever they want. They offer incentives for employees to leave 5 star reviews online so that they look better. They have a “facebook” type thing where all the office workers just talk about how great the company is. My spouse has been with them for over 7 years and has helped them when they were short management, and they cut his pay over 400 dollars a month. Beware!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Valet Living Response

    VP, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry to hear that you are not having a positive experience. In regards to your comment on pay, we encourage our associates to have a conversation with their direct manager to understand the budget allocation for each property and how pay is structured. I have to disagree with your comment on not having access to upper management. Our organization is built on servant leadership and any associate can contact and speak with a member of the leadership team. We also leverage our internal communication platform as another vehicle to allow our associates voices to be hear and connect with others in the company. If there's additional specific feedback you would like to share, please reach out to me at antonio.fiorentino@valetliving.com . We appreciate all that you do.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    On the Up and Up

    Dec 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work for! No other company has the growth that this company is currently going through. From the top down, and down up, everyone looks for input and insight and your opinion is valued. The company and managers allow me to do my job without feeling micro-managed. The company strives to have an excellent culture and work/life balance. Excited to see what the future holds!

    Cons

    Processes can tend to be put through too quickly by upper management without thought of repercussions. I do believe this is a growing pain that the company as a whole will get through together.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Valet Living Response

    VP, Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your time in posting this review. You point out so many great things - growth, culture, work/life balance and support. Glad your are part of the team and we are all excited for our future here. If you'd like to share any further feedback, please email me directly at antonio.fiorentino@valetliving.com

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent Career starter

    Nov 24, 2017 - District Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule Home Office Truck Good benefits

    Cons

    Upper management always fining ways to hurt the little guy

    1 person found this review helpful

    Valet Living Response

    VP, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. I'd like the opportunity to discuss your concerns and how you feel we can improve. Please contact me at antonio.fiorentino@valetliving.com to schedule some time to talk.

  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Poor Place To Work

    May 19, 2022 - District Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Set your own hours as long as your monthly requirements are met

    Cons

    Upper management lacks integrity towards the part time employees

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Valet Living Response

    VP, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you aren't having a positive experience as a District Manager. We take great pride in our culture and the value we show to all of our associates, so your comment regarding lack of integrity is concerning. If you would like to share any additional feedback or ideas on how we can improve, please reach out to me at antonio.fiorentino@valetliving.com so we can schedule some time to discuss further.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    District manager

    Jun 10, 2018 - District Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of work life balance as long as your area is well staffed. Lots of help and guidance from co-dm and upper management

    Cons

    Hard to find service valets.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful