Valley Medical Center Reviews

Updated Feb 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Valley Medical Center CEO Rich Roodman (no image)
Rich Roodman
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great leadership, great benefits, great management(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great relationship with coworkers, flexible schedule and good benefits(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management was quite hard to reach if you don't work days(in 5 reviews)

  • "While it's a good problem to have the volumes are growing at a rate that no one could imagine(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I love my hospital!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SPD Tech I in Renton, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valley Medical Center part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people- has a small town feel with everyone knowing everyone. I have been here for 6 years and the people are my favorite part about VMC. Great location where you can reasonably afford to live in the area. Great health benefits too!

    Cons

    I really don't have anything negative to say.

    Valley Medical Center2020-02-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Administrator in Renton, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and co workers.

    Cons

    Management does not try to connect with employees. Employee concerns are often over looked.

    Continue reading
    Valley Medical Center2020-02-01
  3. "Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Valley Medical Center part-time

    Pros

    The pay is one of the best in the area. Staff are supportive of one another, benefits are also very good.

    Cons

    Lab can be very particular about labels. Pharmacy doesn't always have the meds delivered to the units on time.

    Valley Medical Center2019-12-11
  4. "Politics exist like all other employers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Renton, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Listen to opinions; willing to explore process improvement; feedback welcome

    Cons

    office politics; favoritism; too many yes men in leadership

    Valley Medical Center2019-10-29

    Valley Medical Center Response

    November 11, 2019HR Manager, Recruiting and Onboarding

    We appreciate your feedback and want to continue to grow as an Employer of Choice. If you would be willing to talk to an HR employee we would love to have more detail on how we can improve.

  5. Helpful (4)

    "Mumbo Jumbo"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Renton, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is higher than most and benefits are good

    Cons

    Privacy about employees is extinct now a days to management. Micromanaging, nepotism, little training, leadership is a big clique. Management Takes no accountability. Upper management and HR does nothing to fix issues.

    Continue reading
    Valley Medical Center2019-10-27

    Valley Medical Center Response

    November 11, 2019HR Manager, Recruiting and Onboarding

    We appreciate your feedback and want to continue to grow as an Employer of Choice. If you would be willing to talk to an HR employee we would love to have more detail on how we can improve.

  6. "Great place to work but always understaffed"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Surgical Services Tech 

    I have been working at Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Union helps to keep the job Great benefits Tuition assistance after a year of working there A LOT of overtime opportunities

    Cons

    Always understaffed Always exhausted Hours worked is very controlled under FTE must meet requirements

    Valley Medical Center2019-10-15
  7. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Coder in Renton, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great leadership, great benefits, great management

    Cons

    Minimal vacation/sick time accurals

    Continue reading
    Valley Medical Center2019-10-01
  8. "Huc"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HUC 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great management and co workers

    Cons

    There are no cons honestly

    Valley Medical Center2019-09-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Follow Up in Renton, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and pay is above average

    Cons

    Micro managed, hours not flexible

    Valley Medical Center2019-08-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "PSR"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Patient Service Representative 

    I have been working at Valley Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    The healthcare benefits are great

    Cons

    Hard to get in the door from the beginning without healthcare experience

    Valley Medical Center2019-08-07
Found 102 reviews