Vancity Reviews | Glassdoor

Vancity Reviews

Updated August 2, 2017
36 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Tamara Vrooman
24 Ratings

36 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Can be difficult to move up to head office positions, network at any opportunity and help out in the community it wont go unnoticed (in 6 reviews)

  • I've seen numerous great people being let go because they disagreed with management (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (6)

    "No review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vancity full-time

    Pros

    Your opinion counts and you are valued

    Cons

    uncomfortable if your views are not aligned


  2. Helpful (6)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vancity full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome profit sharing, great benefits and a living wage employer. Highly recommended.

    Amazing diversity and inclusion.

    Cons

    Call centre hours is based on seniority and you could get some pretty odd hours or overnight shifts (there is a paid premium tho).

    Advice to Management

    Call centre managers sometimes are just playing on their phones or watching sports highlights on their computers. Not very professional, however, some of the managers are great.

  3. Helpful (7)

    "Overall on benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prefer Not to Say in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Former Employee - Prefer Not to Say in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vancity full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Above average coverage . Passionate and long term staff who cares about the people they work with and communities they serve in

    Cons

    I have no idea how to compare this other than from informal conversation with friends
    I am sure our plan or coverage is the worst but it can't be too bad

    Advice to Management

    There are s lot of good people working in n the company and care about the company's growth and future. Let's not lose sight of these pros the company has

    Vancity Response

    Aug 1, 2017 – Financial Service Representative

    Thanks for sharing! We agree that Vancity is very fortunate to have such a strong passionate group of individuals in the organization.


  4. "Great People going through a challenging transition period"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vancity (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The core staff that have been around for a long time are really great people. supportive and kind willing to help each other through thick and thin

    Cons

    New management are really challenging to work with as they transition from a big bank mentality to a Credit Union cooperative.

    Advice to Management

    remembering that the value add is that you're supporting the local businesses and people. there is no loyalty in the lowest rates...

    Vancity Response

    Aug 1, 2017 – Financial Service Representative

    Thanks for your comments. I fully agree with your statement on how there is a lot of value in supporting our local businesses/people. In fact, that is a core part of our business plan, and part of... More


  5. Helpful (9)

    "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Accountant in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    A company with a conscience. I love working for a company that gives back to the community and is conscious of its impact on the environment locally and globally. The company is always evolving to meet its goals and the community's needs.

    Cons

    Vancity is a compassionate entity and decisions they make are not always the most sensible ones from a shareholder point of view.

    Advice to Management

    Balance compassion with some common sense. Listening to your heart is great but engage your reasoning brain as well.

    Vancity Response

    Jul 6, 2017 – Financial Service Representative

    Thank you for your feedback as well as your acknowledgement of how important giving back to the community is. Moreover, I agree on the need for this to be sustainable for our organization and for the... More


  6. Helpful (9)

    "Tirade"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Port Moody, BC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Port Moody, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vancity full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great care days. I just took 2 months off because of my health problems. Everyone can sit down because I have been with Vancity longer than most employees including the CEO and have gone through many system changes. This was the biggest change and made some people angry. I remember that the CEO said she was sorry to the people who was affected in the big AGM meeting adn everyone was talking about how smooth everything went

    Cons

    No more incentives for selling

    The new system was a pain but its getting better and slowing down of people yelling at the branch level

    It's hard to move up and I've seen account managers stay in their positions for 7 years until they finally got a chance of oppountiy

    This one FSr left but said how it doesnt get any better than this. He worked for other FI's before Vancity and remembers the sales and pressure with other FI's.

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at your branch staff and move them up. They feel underappreciated because managers are too busy to notice them. Some headoffice people think they are entitled but majority are nice.

    Vancity Response

    Jun 1, 2017 – Manager

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It is good to know that your experience with the new system is more positive now and particularly glad to hear you took the time you needed when you were unwell... More


  7. Helpful (7)

    "good , local , vaules based ,place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great values based local Credit Union - They do good work in the Community and provide a good work environment . Also with local H.O. , opportunity for advancement and roles outside of Branch network

    Cons

    Vancity is a smaller FI, compared to say the big banks . This has many benefits, but also with this smaller size they do not have all the scale , resources that much bigger FIs would have available .

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep the communication simpler and more constant. Can be hard to keep up with all the new things going on

    Vancity Response

    Jun 16, 2017 – Financial Service Representative

    Thanks for your comments. Glad that you're enjoying your work with Vancity! As for communication - we're working on it!

  8. Helpful (6)

    "Call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Fun place to work at the time, good manager accountability, had step up team to keep things light

    Cons

    Difficult for young people to move up the ladder in the past. Heard its different now.

    Vancity Response

    Jun 16, 2017 – Financial Service Representative

    Thanks for your thoughts. I agree, it is a fun place to work!


  9. Helpful (7)

    "Community well being"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vancity full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for.
    Opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Not sure they understand that healthy communities also means everyone contributing their fair share. ie has accepted undeclared income for mortgage and loan applications.

    Advice to Management

    What is good for the individual member is not necessarily good for the community at large.

    Vancity Response

    Jul 6, 2017 – Financial Service Representative

    Thanks for your insights. We can understand that it can be a challenge to strike the right balance between meeting the needs of individual members while also thinking about the needs of the... More


  10. Helpful (6)

    "Employee Well Being"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vancity full-time

    Pros

    pay, hours, co-workers, work/life balance

    Cons

    needs more company events and networking opportunities.
    outdated platforms and systems

    Advice to Management

    focus on training and coaching new staff


Showing 36 of 160 reviews
Reset Filters