Vancouver Island Health Authority Reviews | Glassdoor

Vancouver Island Health Authority Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Vancouver Island Health Authority CEO Kathy MacNeil
Kathy MacNeil
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexibility, good wages, good benefits(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great employees, good pay and always something to keep you busy(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to move up because it is unionized(in 3 reviews)

  • "No training provided - either formal courses or access to resources (like test environments) to expand skillsets(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Program Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vancouver Island Health Authority full-time

    Pros

    Helping others, working with physicians, decent pay for the work performed

    Cons

    Offices can get catty (mostly working with women), pay increase is not based on merit but rather strapped in my union restraints and time put in, management is not transparent

    Vancouver Island Health Authority2016-02-02
  2. "Workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at Vancouver Island Health Authority full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very supportive in ensuring you are able to work

    Cons

    Need more nursing positions made to reduce workload issues

    Vancouver Island Health Authority2019-06-06
  3. "Technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Vancouver Island Health Authority full-time

    Pros

    Great people and teams. Management sends recognition to thank the staff for hard work. Patient care experience is valued.

    Cons

    Work life balance can be hard in healthcare, but it doesn't have to be as bad as it was. As a staff member I felt like a number.

    Vancouver Island Health Authority2019-06-07
  4. "Coordinator Medical Device Reprocessing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vancouver Island Health Authority full-time

    Pros

    Interesting and challenging projects. Well supported professionally but need admin support and clinical help with document maintenance.

    Cons

    Distances to cover between hospitals

    Vancouver Island Health Authority2019-05-04
  5. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vancouver Island Health Authority full-time

    Pros

    Great people who care Passionate about improving the care of patients/clients

    Cons

    large and complicated. Can be hard to navigate

    Vancouver Island Health Authority2019-05-03
  6. "Great Place to Work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Clerk in Nanaimo, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vancouver Island Health Authority part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the most friendly and professional people work here. I loved every minute of it.

    Cons

    I couldn't have stayed longer

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Vancouver Island Health Authority2019-04-29
  7. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vancouver Island Health Authority full-time

    Pros

    People, physicians, and meaningful work,

    Cons

    Victoria centric focus, Ministry of Health interference

    Vancouver Island Health Authority2019-05-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Vancouver Island Health Authority full-time

      Pros

      This is a great place to work and learn!

      Cons

      I cant think of any!

      Vancouver Island Health Authority2019-03-26
    • "protection services officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Vancouver Island Health Authority full-time

      Pros

      Get to be part of a great team, exciting and fast-paced at times, there is always a great variety of issues to resolve.

      Cons

      some issues with organizational management, at the bottom of the food chain within the organization.

      Vancouver Island Health Authority2019-04-04
    • "Maintenance engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Vancouver Island Health Authority part-time

      Pros

      Easy work, nice people on the maintenance engineer department. Good hours and flexibility. Solid pay, less than a mill but less dangerous work as well.

      Cons

      Pay is less than that of a mill. Management doesn’t always do a great job of managing projects and the other trades.

      Advice to Management

      Flex days would be a good addition. Review the people in positions of power, some of them have no reason being there.

      Vancouver Island Health Authority2019-02-27
    Found 64 reviews