VanderHouwen Reviews | Glassdoor

VanderHouwen Reviews

Updated March 4, 2017
31 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.1
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Kathy VanderHouwen
15 Ratings

31 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Staffing Agency with a Human Touch"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Graphic Designer in Wilsonville, OR
    Former Employee - Senior Graphic Designer in Wilsonville, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    VanderHouwen & Associates (VHA) represented me for a contract position for the last two years with Xerox. VHA is a local Portland company that does the very best at making their contractors feel as if they are part of the VHA team. VHA is not just interested in "winning the contract", all the representatives at VHA were very interested in my career goals and checked-in with me often. They didn't forget about me in the field, as many other placement firms do. Many of the other contractors at Xerox often told me how they wished VHA represented them.

    Benefits and pay are competitive.

    Cons

    VHA specializes in more technical/engineering placement and for me being a creative marketing professional they don't have a lot of other opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    VanderHouwen Response

    Sep 23, 2016 – HR Administrator

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you had a good experience as a VHA contractor. If there is ever anything we can do for you, please let us know. Good luck to ... More


  2. "Contracted Project Manager at Bonneville Power Administration."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager II in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Project Manager II in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at VanderHouwen full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great staff and support by the team that I worked with. They had great transparency with the hiring process, helped advocate a raise, and were always looking for ways to improve.

    Cons

    Challenges are not really with VanderHouwen, but with the contracting experience with Bonneville Power Administration. The organization one is hired into can't manage work or provide direct feedback to employee (like annual performance review). This makes things challenging.

    VanderHouwen Response

    May 4, 2017 – Quality & Training Director

    Thank you so much for your feedback! If there's anything further we can help you with we'd love to hear about it!


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Best employer I've ever worked for!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at VanderHouwen full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great co-workers, great work/life, generous and caring management, free to work in the manner that works best for you.

    Cons

    Well, you still have to come to work.

    Advice to Management

    Know that you have done an amazing job growing a company where people care about each other and about our customers and keep on keepin.

    VanderHouwen Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you!!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VanderHouwen (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Family-owned business with the best recruiters and account managers in the industry. The support staff is also top notch. It's a work hard, play hard environment with a true family vibe where people genuinely care for one another.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    VanderHouwen Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write this!


  6. "Growing Family Business"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administration in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Administration in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VanderHouwen full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Relationship based recruiting firm that takes pride in matching talent to the perfect opportunity.
    Women owned and Green certified.
    Great room for advancement internally.
    Good internal culture.
    Matching 401k after 1 year of employment for all employees.
    Paid holidays and great vacation for internal employees.

    Cons

    Family owned business that grew quickly - internal processes are slowly catching up.
    Upper management stuck in old ways; change is difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Embrace change, it is the nature of a growing business. Adaptability and organized planning are key. Trust in your employees to grow the company and, themselves, with the company.

    VanderHouwen Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the feedback!


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Current Contractor - Loyal to VHA"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Beaverton, OR
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VanderHouwen full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This was the first agency and recruiter I worked with that actually cared about my personal career, offered resume advice, and truly showed an investment in me as an individual. She mentioned her goal is to place me with VanderHouwen's clients, however also assisted with leads to direct contact to clients they didn't have.
    I felt appreciated and will be a loyal VanderHouwen employee for life.

    Cons

    I can't think of any negative experience, presently working at Nike and the entire team and process made me feel valued.

    VanderHouwen Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your review and feedback. I’m glad that you are happy in your placement. Our goal is to establish long-lasting relationships with our both clients and our contractors. If there’s ... More


  8. Helpful (2)

    "Dishearented by the recent reviews."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VanderHouwen full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Family owned organization where they work hard and believe in team success. Our goal is to help people find good jobs and impact our community by providing professional candidates.

    Cons

    Fast growing company, takes time to adjust behaviors to having an instant large family.
    Continue to harvest team work and infusing the purpose of what we do, help people find their career.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to care and embrace the team we have to grow and love what we do.

    VanderHouwen Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the feedback!


  9. Helpful (3)

    "I've found my Work Family"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at VanderHouwen full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work hard, play hard. I love the people that are here. I've worked at previous staffing agencies where you're worked like a dog with little or no reward. VanderHouwen allows me to be directly responsible for my workload and I'm rewarded accordingly. We celebrate positive experiences and strive to do the best for our candidates and clients.

    Cons

    Honestly, the Cons are the same with any agency. I don't have enough bandwidth to place EVERY SINGLE qualified candidate. Getting feedback from Clients is a challenge. It's the same for any recruiter in any agency.

    VanderHouwen Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your comments!


  10. "Just another sub contractor for Nike"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Cloud Performance Engineer in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Senior Cloud Performance Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VanderHouwen (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay and friendly but not a long-term job.

    Cons

    High cost medical and 401k after 1 year


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Not whar it used to be"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good back office and recruiting team. Have MSA's with several key accounts. Decent Como package

    Cons

    Management lacks a clear vision and waffles on commitments. Current leadership took over family business from father who was instrumental in growth. Poor support for markets outside their core (Portland)

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to your DNA and your father's vision. When you invest in a relationship and make commitments honor them.


Showing 31 of 39 reviews
Reset Filters